We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tilden Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tilden Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Tilden Hotel
 Click to rate
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 1 week (3/15/17-3/22/17). ROOM LOCATION/SOUND: Room was 4th floor (407) facing down to the exhaust systems for the hotel that are squared in by the building. It was quiet and I could not hear the loud music from the Tilden's bar. However, even after having put "Do Not Disturb" on the door and staying for several more days, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony87ooo00
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Absolutely loved our stay here! We were staying on the 9th floor our room was huge and spacious with two seperate rooms - a lounge room with tv and ample closet space, then a huge bedroom and bathroom also with tv. The bed was very comfortable and clean as well as extra luxurious as it was a queen size. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilli H
Bandon, Oregon
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a very comfortable room. It is located in the Tenderloin, which has lots of homeless, drug-dealing, and urine smells. A fellow tried to sell me crystal meth a couple blocks from the hotel. I would not recommend walking around the area after dark. It is extremely difficult to park on the street near the hotel. However there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 75StephenS
Kunal K, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Stephen, You are correct about the parking situation and we highly recommend our guests to either opt for our valet service or one of the parking garages in the area. I'm sorry to hear about your experience on the streets but I can assure you that we are in a very touristy neighborhood around several of the big hotels...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent customer service and very friendly staff! Great location close to everything and very comfortable beds! Joseph was a great help to myself and my partner. Beautiful old San Francisco building. Would recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conor m
Kunal K, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Conor, Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to hear about the service and comfort that you enjoyed at the Tilden Hotel. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future. Until then, happy travels!

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

THE GOOD ... Tilden aims to be a boutique hotel and nails it. Small property and quirky wall decorations. Clean rooms are nice sized for an older San Francisco property. THE MEH ... No a/c (not often necessary in SF). Peeling paint in hallways (c'mon; that's an easy fix). THE BAD ... Very slow elevator; prepare to sit and wait...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg B
Kunal K, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Greg, We appreciate you sharing your feedback and will be addressing some of those concerns on high priority. We hope you enjoyed your time here and we wish you safe travels. Thank you, Kunal Khandwala Front Office Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I repeat : NO CENTRAL AIR !!!!! The best part of this low value motel is the website ! The site will show pictures in colors and size that does not exist . This is not a real hotel but more like a hostel with a" fancy " lobby. A weak , cheap fan placed on the ceiling to circulate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 254ella1234
Kunal K, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about the experience you had at the Tilden. We do our best in providing the best possible comfort and convenience for our guests but at times, we cannot live up to certain expectations. We hope you enjoyed your time in the city and wish you safe travels. Thank you, Kunal Khandwala Front Office Manager

Vancouver
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights visiting friends and walking the streets of SFO. We were welcomed by Jerry upon our arrival. He was so helpful, storing our tandem bike in the office during our stay. When departing Manni was especially vigilant as we packed the car and attached the bike again. Such personal service was very much appreciated. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol1997
Kunal K, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Carol for sharing your delightful experience at the Tilden. We are so happy to know about the various things you enjoyed during your stay and we do hope that you visit us again and continue to experience San Francisco at its finest. Sincerely, Kunal Khandwala Front Office Manager

Moraga, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I worked through Hotwire to secure a 4 star hotel for my daughter's birthday. When we got there, it was definitely not a 4 star hotel but more like a 1 to 2 star hotel. I have travelled a lot over the years, and this was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I had 4 star expecations but the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bewthbaldwinbie
Kunal K, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience here wasn't as expected and while we stand by our commitment to providing excellent value, we request you to please contact Hotwire for further escalation as you have chosen to book through them. Sincerely, Kunal Khandwala Front Office Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we had a lovely stay at the tilden hotel! Jimmy & Tesha (sorry if i spelled wrong) at the front desk were fantastic! the gentleman (sorry didn't get your name) who brought in our luggage & was valet was so nice & pleasant. checking out Manny helped us & got us a coupon for breakfast at Cafe Mason (also great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Kunal K, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Karen! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed all our amenities and even got to watch Hamilton live! We would love to see you again in the near future. Thank you, Kunal Khandwala Front Office Manager

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel, wonderful staff and nicely decorated rooms with fun snacks and amenities. Staff friendly and cafe downstairs served excellent food. Will definitely return and recommend. No AC, windows open had a quiet room on the 4th floor away from the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlissfulTraveler86
Kunal K, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for your kind feedback and appreciation of all our services. We look forward to your next trip.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Serrano Hotel
#99 of 227 in San Francisco
2,265 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#61 of 227 in San Francisco
851 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#113 of 227 in San Francisco
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 227 in San Francisco
1,567 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 227 in San Francisco
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated 4 star boutique hotel in San Francisco located steps from Union Square, 8 blocks to Moscone Center, walking distance to BART, cable cars, and the Theatre District ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tilden Hotel

Address: 345 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Mark Twain)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $217 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Tilden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Hotel
Mark Twain San Francisco
Hotel Mark Twain
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tilden Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Tilden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3rd floor up to avoid bar music. 407 faced down to vent units squared by hotel rooms. Still got ambient light & airflow.”
 of 5 bubbles tony87ooo00, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing courtyard to avoid street noise. You'll be sleeping with windows open.”
 of 5 bubbles gregbA2255PR, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No such a thing in this motel”
 of 5 bubbles 254ella1234, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles Carol1997, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“don't stay there”
 of 5 bubbles bewthbaldwinbie, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5