We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Post Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Post Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Post Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Southam, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner booked in advance to receive the best rate. I spent a lot of time looking at hotels and hostels in San Francisco and although this is not the cheapest in my mind it was great value for money. Location is central, the rooms reasonably sized and the bathrooms spotless! There is some noise from the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soholoy
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Soholoy, Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We are delighted by your compliments, rating and review of our high housekeeping and hospitality standards. our five star review means a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Yes this is not the Ritz, but for the price you pay for here I would give it a five star rating. Just returned from a tour of the west coast staying in a range of different hotels/motels/air bnbs with different star ratings - the Post hotel definitely ranks near the top! We were slightly worried about it reading reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cuthill92
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cuthill92, Thank you for leaving your five star rating of our hotel. Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition and that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We only wish to give nothing but the best...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Terrible service by Post Hotel. During checkout, Colombian person at front desk mentioned that our reservation could not be cancelled even though we had contacted Expedia previously. Expedia then contacted the front desk and this front desk employee was supposed to contact his manager. Upon reaching the front desk to do the checkout he mentioned that we were going to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eduardo H
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eduardo H, Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. We hope you can consider us...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Elegant meal with all the trimmings available. Very attentive and knowledgable waiter. Amazing wine list. Very creative menu, using local ingredients as well as game. Salads were bursting with flavor and get you ready for the superb mains. My wife had the roasted Rabbit with polenta, and I had the Veal with fresh made pasta. Both were wonderful. Deserts looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill J
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bill J, Thank you for leaving your five star rating of our hotel. Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition. We look forward to serving you again!

Tromso, Norway
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We booked this hotel since the reviews said it was OK standard, paid around 260 USD for three days - which is a good price in San Francisco. Well, at first I thought it was really shabby because the hallways were dirty and absolutley needed a Upgrade - and it was very much noise from the street, so had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sunnysun20015
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sunnysun20015, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience at a reasonable cost. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to...

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Location is excellent for a touristic centric vacation. The staff was very helpful, they received some packages for me and helped when we had questions. We shared the bathroom, but it was clean and the price was right for the amount of days we were in. The only downside is the noise, that I understand since is middle of town...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fernando C
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fernando C, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to impress you with our hospitality, cleanliness and convenience have been successful. We also appreciate your feedback regarding windows as this will help us to continue to improve upon the guest...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

"Sleepless in San Francisco ⭐️⭐️⭐️" Old hotel with gated elevator...no extra amenities here, shared shower on floors, my room had shower, very clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was sufficient, loud, as my room 422 was facing Post St., 2 of 3 nights I smelled cig smoke coming throughout the walls, which woke me up! Front desk not much help as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bowser1716
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bowser1716, Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter to...

Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 30 June 2016

My room (deluxe queen) was recently renovated with new furniture and flat screen TV, good bed and the bathroom was cleaned and towels changed daily. It was a little bit noisy at night. The service was good, they received some packages from Amazon before I arrived and gave to me when I made the checkin with no extra cost. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eduz07
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eduz07, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review you have of our hotel. We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us and that you find great value in staying with us. We always aim to give you the best value for your money and we are so happy to know that...

auckland
Reviewed 22 June 2016

While I too received the email to downgrade our room, this was quickly resolved by an email back to hotel - requesting my original booking be honoured - and it was. The rooms have all been renovated to a very high standard, and were spotless, with excellent amenities, very comfortable good sized bed, friendly service -and so well located. While...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AucklandSarah
Post H, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AucklandSarah, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recognize our staff for their exemplary work in providing clean and comfortable experience for our valued guests. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and to provide our customers the best we can offer in a reasonable price. I am glad that we were able to...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

I booked through Expedia in February. I only chose this place because it was cheap and close to Union Square. I hadn't looked at reviews until I received the notification that the other reviewers received. I had initially booked 'Deluxe Double Room, 2 Double Beds' which was to come with my own bathroom and toilet. It got changed to a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank roisin171

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
375 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#176 of 227 in San Francisco
506 reviews
Music City Hotel
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
1,263 reviews
The Dakota Hotel
#186 of 227 in San Francisco
178 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighbourhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Post Hotel

Address: 589 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1292
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: $138 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Post Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Post Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Post Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Post Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles nicko_jess, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“217 good shower”
 of 5 bubbles PJK129, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try and get and inward facing room. SF is noisy 24/7”
 of 5 bubbles jona557, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room with front to Post St is a little noise at night”
 of 5 bubbles Eduz07, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room, round the back of the hotel to avoid the noise outside.”
 of 5 bubbles X9919ZDkarenh, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5