We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at the Opera

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (165)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#76 of 234 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style boutique hotel. This newly renovated in 2022 hotel is located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. For your convenience, parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $35 (plus tax), per 24 hour period.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

333 Fulton St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4423
Inn at the Opera
878Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 414
  • 297
  • 102
  • 37
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
jeaninewiater wrote a review Apr 5
San Francisco, California4 contributions
+1
We won a 2 night stay via BARTable.com at this lovely little hotel which is right behind San Francisco's Opera and Symphony Halls. We had such a great time. The lobby and our room were both perfectly appointed. Everything was immaculate. The staff at the front desk were all upbeat and efficient. This is an excellent location. We went to dinner at the Matterhorn (Van Ness and Vallejo) for a lovely fondue dinner and just had to hop a bus for about 10 minutes. I would recommend this hotel for both Bay Area folks looking for a fun stay-cation spot or to out of towners. The Inn is adjacent to Hayes Valley which has lots of great dining options and other fun things to do.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Inn at the Opera
Responded 1 week ago
Wow, just wow! Your glowing 5-star review has left us all beaming with joy! We're absolutely thrilled that your recent stay with us left you feeling extremely satisfied. Your kind words truly warm our hearts. We're so grateful to have been a part of creating such a wonderful experience for you. We can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GEORGE K wrote a review Jan 2024
6 contributions1 helpful vote
The perfect place to stay if you are going to the Opera, the Ballet, the Symphony, SF Jazz... reasonably priced for San Francisco, and adjacent to a TON to good restaurants in Hayes Valley. European-style hotel, minimal lobby, no gym, no restaurant. Just nice rooms and a great bed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Free coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day, other than that you are on your own!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Inn at the Opera
Responded Jan 30, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review your 4-star stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable overall experience and will share your feedback with our resort management team on areas we can improve. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CaliDom1967 wrote a review Dec 2023
San Diego, California67 contributions10 helpful votes
The staff definitely stood out in this place. They were super helpful and accommodating. The building is really beautiful inside and out. Each floor has a door out to the emergency stairs, so it’s kind of like a balcony. Friday night happy hout was nice but I kind of wish they had a few more events for timeshare guests to mingle. The lounge is really nice for quiet morning work but could be used for so much more. What a great game room it could make—maybe a tiny bar? The rooms weren’t huge but doable even for two big guys and some strong sleeping pills. All day coffee and tea was much appreciated. Overall very happy with the stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Inn at the Opera
Responded Jan 2, 2024
Thank you for brightening our day with your wonderful 5-star review of your recent visit. We're delighted to know that your experience was exceptional and that you found something truly special during your stay. Your feedback helps us continue to create outstanding experiences for our guests. We can't wait to welcome you back for more unforgettable moments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
daniellezb wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
The room was clean but small, and the resort staff were very nice and accommodating. However, the walls are paper thin, so if your are a light sleeper (like me), bring earplugs or consider another location. One night I did complain about a loud phone call next door that was going on past midnight, and the front desk called that guest and had them quiet down.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Inn at the Opera
Responded Jan 2, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We're happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience overall. However, we strive to exceed expectations. We will ensure your concerns regarding the visit are passed along to resort management so that we may continue to improve in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ccwang62 wrote a review Nov 2023
Naperville, Illinois1 contribution
hotel is at the center of city. Room is a little bit small. No breakfast is a disappointment. Very good location for downtown business. staffs are very nice and welcoming. Nice and clean and happy coming back again in the future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Inn at the Opera
Responded Nov 15, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your 4-star stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable overall experience and will share your feedback with our resort management team on areas we can improve. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for a better stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
franc0f0ntana wrote a review Aug 2023
Rome, Italy1 contribution
nice position but small really small room and sleeping bed and no kitchen only small fridge and a microwave, the bathroom bigger than the room. No market close the hotel, reception good and kind. free fresh water in common area
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Inn at the Opera
Responded Aug 21, 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable during their stay, and we are disappointed to hear this was not the case. Can you please call our Shell Vacations Club Owner Care team at 1-877-743-5510, so we can learn more about your vacation?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pi330lot wrote a review Jul 2023
Shady Valley, Tennessee12 contributions5 helpful votes
This is a nice place in a good central location. The stay was convenient and accommodation were nice and comfortable. Location was great with restaurants and places to visit near by. I would recommend this to others.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Inn at the Opera
Responded Aug 4, 2023
Wow! Thank you for the amazing review. We're thrilled that you had a luxurious and unforgettable stay at our resort. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BeeTee wrote a review Jul 2023
Los Angeles, California23 contributions53 helpful votes
The room was smallish but serviceable, with a few drawbacks: the elevator was broken, so I had to walk up several flights of stairs. The room was generally clean, though there was a faint stain atop the white bedspread. Some of the room layout was poorly designed: if you close the bathroom door, you face a full length mirror while sitting on the toilet (!). The location lives up to it's name: the opera house is just across the street. The staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel offers coffee and hot water in the lobby; if there is any breakfast, fruit, or other food available on the premises I did not see it (the room has a small fridge and microwave, useful if you bring food in). Parking at an indoor lot around the corner is conveniently arranged via the hotel front desk. Notwithstanding the minor concerns above, it was a great base of operations for me in SF and I will likely visit Inn at the Opera again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Inn at the Opera
Responded Jul 7, 2023
Thank you for your review and for choosing our resort for your stay. We're delighted that you had a good experience, and we appreciate your valuable feedback. We will continue to work on areas of improvement to provide an even better experience for our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chillsteele wrote a review May 2023
Columbus, OH (O-H I-O)10 contributions5 helpful votes
Facilities need to be modernized to makeup for the small rooms. Customer service is excellent and the location was good. However, parking is somewhat of a pain and expensive (but this is San Francisco period, not the fault of the hotel). Also, the facilities are cute in a nostolgic kinda way, but, it really needs to be modernized.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Inn at the Opera
Responded May 24, 2023
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will ensure your concerns regarding the visit are passed along to resort management so that we may continue to improve in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sara T wrote a review Apr 2023
10 contributions
My husband and I spent a week at the Inn at the Opera and loved it! It is a sweet, small hotel in a great location. I was a little nervous reading some of the reviews and hearing recent news stories about San Francisco but this location was fine. It's near Hayes Valley with lots of great restaurants within walking distance. We walked to many restaurants and to the Hop on / Hop off bus stop on McAllister. We saw a few homeless but were not approached. We didn't hear road noise or noise from our neighbors. Our room had a mini fridge and microwave plus plenty of room to sit in the bay window and enjoy coffee / snacks while in the room. We didn't spend a ton of time in the room though because we were out and about. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wyndham Destinations, Owner at Inn at the Opera
Responded May 1, 2023
Thank you for sharing your review. We are so happy to hear you had a great stay with us! We love when our guests have a great time on vacation, and we hope to see you on the next one.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Francisco area.
PRICE RANGE
C$187 - C$348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at the opera hotel san francisco, hotel at the opera, at the opera hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoCivic Center / Fillmore District / Theater District / Intermission
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Inn at the Opera - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at the Opera
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at the Opera?
Nearby attractions include San Francisco City Hall (0.3 km), San Francisco Opera (0.1 km), and San Francisco Symphony (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at the Opera?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a business centre, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at the Opera?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Inn at the Opera?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at the Opera?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rich Table, Absinthe Brasserie & Bar, and Blue Bottle Cafe.
Is Inn at the Opera located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of San Francisco.
Are pets allowed at Inn at the Opera?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Inn at the Opera?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn at the Opera?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Golden Gate Bridge (6.7 km), Alcatraz Island (5.3 km), and Fort Point National Historic Site (5.9 km).
Is Inn at the Opera accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.