We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Save
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“common room”(30 reviews)
“pb j”(6 reviews)
“quiet hours”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Laundry Service
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
369
60
17
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
369
60
17
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roompb jquiet hoursflights of stairsbunk bedsmeet other travellersother gueststhe financial districtawesome staydorm roomlaundry servicefourth floorno elevatorhome away from homeamazing locationbart stationpublic transport
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

my flight was delayed; i called the hostel and Chad kindly waited for me a bit past closing time. thanks! he also helped me up the stairs with my bag. excellent atmosphere and even though I only spent a few hours there it's definitely a...More

Thank tkeenan2018
Reviewed 6 days ago

This was my first stay at a hostel and I very much enjoyed it. There is a good mix of daily activities and interesting conversations in the common area. Things are setup well so it's fun and easy to get involved or do your own...More

Thank Jodie B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Pacific Tradewinds was my first stop when arrived to SF and...what a great welcome! The staff are so cool, laid back, kind and nice! From the very first moment I felt so integrated! They help you a lot! They treat you like the same,...More

Thank rayMoon88
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is awesome, has everything you need for a great stay, clean and comfortable. Staff were really friendly and helped to make sure you were comfortable. A light was on in the room next door my first night which made sleeping hard. But it was...More

1  Thank Cara D
Reviewed 1 week ago

The interaction went perfect, smooth to the point and efficient. The place is the cleanest hostel i have been too, next from Tribu in Holbox. The freebies just perfect (peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and instant ramen). Quite after midnight and comfortablisima beds! sock cleaning...More

Thank Fer V
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Details
Price range
US$36 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$36 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Financial District
The Financial District lies just east of Chinatown but
can seem a world apart given it’s San Francisco’s
version of Wall Street. The rush of business people
make up a hectic weekday and add to a frenetic pace of
life, but visitors who spend a few hours walking the
narrow streets will be rewarded with fine examples of
historic and contemporary architecture, including the
iconic Transamerica Pyramid. After business hours,
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
buddha474
24 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Unfortunately, because we are in an old historic building is has been deemed technically infeasible and financially prohibitive to install an elevator. For guests unable to navigate our stairs we will arrange equivalent... More
0
Votes
PragatiSingh
4 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Hi Pragati, I recognize your name so I know we have already answered this question for you personally, however I will answer it again here for the benefit of other readers. As a small hostel, it's necessary that all our... More
1
Vote
Lauren S
25 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Courtney L | Property representative |
Hey Lauren. As we are right in downtown San Francisco, we do not offer parking. There are parking garages 1 block away for $28/24 hours. Alternatively, we know of some first come, first served free street parking across the... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"You can choose from quiet or 'social' dorms. Social dorms are on the same level as kitchen/common..."
Read review
"The quiet floor is preferable, since it does not have the communal lounge right outside."
Read review
"You just get a bed, definitely pick the bottom bunk."
Read review
"Rooms on the 3rd floor are quieter."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing