We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surf Motel

Hotels.comUS$110*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Surf Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Surf Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

stayed here for 2 nights. hotel room was worn out. front door looked liked it had been kicked. bathroom wasnt great and bed was average, its ok for the price and would do if stuck for one night. its location was handy and guy at front desk was very helpful. decent breakfast for free. overall it was safe and quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fergus K
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We appreciate our guests comments especially if there are needs or issues to deal with as you are so important to us! Our priority is providing clean and comfortable rooms for our guests. Our location is amazing offering so many venues for our guests enjoyment as well....

Shirley, New York
Reviewed 20 January 2014

we just needed a motel for 2 days so we picked this one.the bed is like sleeping on springs and they give you one flat pillow. there is mold in the shower ..I couldn't even force myself to take a shower there. there is no refrigerator or coffee maker. at least there was an alarm clock.. I guess so they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Surf motel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems encountered during your stay. I have forwarded your comments to the GM and owner. Clean and comfortable rooms are a priority for us, so for you to have mold in the shower, missing a coffee maker and fridge during your stay with us is...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Filthy room, broken lock, crappy bed, shoddy bathroom with poor lighting. Sadly, it's the typical low-rent San Francisco dive that people aren't aware of until they visit this city, looking for affordable lodging. There are few alternatives in the whole city if you don't have $300 plus per night to spend. But one alternative is La Luna Inn, down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iso T
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Surf Motel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any problems encountered during your stay. I have forwarded your comments to the GM and owner for immediate corrective action. Clean and comfortable rooms are a priority for us, so for you to have any issues during your stay with us is unacceptable. We greatly...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I'm here right now and I'm pretty sure there are prostitutes having a coke party next door. That's something management should be looking out for if they'd like to continue having patrons. It's cute from the outside but the rooms are dirty and there's lots of mildew and mold in the bathroom and around the baseboards. Parking is tight but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iLikeTrips2013
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at Surf motel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the guests next door created for you. It is always our intention that our guests receive clean and comfortable rooms. Your comments on cleanliness will be forwarded to our GM and owner for immediate corrective action. Again, thank you for letting us know...

Reviewed 16 November 2013

This place was pretty cheap when I stayed here. It's not a bad place if you won't be in the room much. Its in the Marina area and there are a lot of bars and restaurants around. The room was a borderline subpar in terms of cleanliness and general quality. I have seen it at higher prices and wouldn't of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jawkurt
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We offer a good rate for our location as we are very close to venues and the ocean. Always including in the room rate is free parking which makes a difference when you are looking for a parking spot and cant find one or have to pay for one....

Minnesota
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The motel does have a good location but it is on a noisy, busy, 6 lane street. And it is cheap by SF standards. The kindest word to describe it would be Spartan and it does have parking. For a quick overnight, it might work for you but a longer stay is probably not a good idea. My room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaberwockey
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We pride ourselves on offering clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate. With our free parking it really is a bonus not having to look for parking when wanting to go see the ocean. Our location is one of the best so that it is...

Reviewed 5 November 2013

we stayed here during the hardly strictly bluegrass festival. it was not really bad or anything. but seemed really overpriced for the accommodations. our room was musty smelling. the location was good for the wharf, but not the park- i would stay here again if i had to, but only if there was no other option.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bulldawg62
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We are generally very well located for the venues in our area, the ocean being one of them. We are sorry we were not as well located by the park for the festival. We offer clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate and are extremely sorry that you...

Yuba City, California
Reviewed 30 October 2013

There receptionist yelled at me. They did not have the room we booked. There idea of an upgrade from a king sized bed was two full sized beds. They have an expired elevator permit. The room had flies everywhere and smelled bad. And to top it off, they charged us twice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Parlockhart
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We provide clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate, however if there is an issue we can fix it when we are told about it. Our guest relations counter person should always treat our guests with respect and we are very sorry to hear that is not the...

Carcassonne, France
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I just spend a few nights in this hotel which is very well located. But my room had bad smell, wifi not working correctly, ridiculous breakfast and extremely noisy ! I paid over 1200 $ for 6 nights !! Just get away from there unless you pay 75 $ or less a night !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bregfa
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Surf motel. As you stated we are extremely well located to be able to enjoy all the venues around us and still be close when it is time to relax in your room. We certainly apologize about the "odor" you had in your room. When we have...

Porterville, California
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Took a chance with this hotel, looking at the comments..some good and some bad, couldnt beat the price and the location was great. actually walked to the wharf and it wasn't to bad of walk. plenty of places to grab a bite to eat within a block. the room was cute and clean to my surprise and i would st

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottsize
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at our Surf motel. We do strive to offer clean and comfortable rooms with a great customer service and we appreciate you noticing. Location is so important when choosing a motel especially when traveling with your family and you pointed out that is is an easy walk to the Wharf. We...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#158 of 227 in San Francisco
567 reviews
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#173 of 227 in San Francisco
219 reviews
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#168 of 227 in San Francisco
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#154 of 227 in San Francisco
634 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#181 of 227 in San Francisco
319 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2265 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $155 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surf Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Surf Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the back are quieter. book a room with fridge. Rooms are small”
Helenand, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“210 was quiet (it was at the back in the middle)”
A5481TUjamesh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Non smoking rooms”
BMatthews2013, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“get a floor on 2nd level and avoid 49er home game weekends.”
498mackc, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
jimd406, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$110* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$110
Booking.comUS$110
Hotwire.comUS$110
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates