We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
See the most recent reviews
Showing 756: English reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Very good Hotel, rooms clean and lovely, Staff very friendly. Breakfast poor, there is nothing to eat for vegans. Gutes Hotel, sauber und sehr freundlich. Das Frühstück leider mager - es gab nicht mal Margerine statt Butter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadjalein
HolidayInn_SFCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review

Thank you for your four star rating! We always strive to put our best foot forward in service and cleanliness so it is validating to have guests recognize our efforts. We appreciate your feedback regarding vegan dishes and are excited about our new menu coming soon to our in-house restaurant, 50onEight. We would be honored to welcome you back as...

MCKINLEYVILLE
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I would never have picked this hotel because of it's bad SoFran neighborhood. It's filled with homeless and poor who come out at night to raid trash for recycleable cans/bottles to turn in for cash. In fact, you could hear the noise of breaking glass for hours between 5PM-2AM because there was a recycling truck parked near the hotel where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
HolidayInn_SFCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review

We appreciate your comments. It is always delightful to hear when guests are impressed by our beautiful lobby and in-house restaurant, 50onEight. We know how important it is to get a good night’s rest so we’re glad we could provide a comfortable bed and immediately notified housekeeping regarding the tub. Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your...

Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed for 4 nights for a long weekend. Approx 30m from the hotel you have tram and bus stops and also main subway station. Rooms are large with double beds extremely comfy. Cleaning is excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. This was centrally located and within walking distance of main shopping area. Also for visiting Castro there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rayenpalma
HolidayInn_SFCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review

Thank you very much for rating our hotel five stars! We are delighted you found our location ideal and that various means of public transportation was conveniently close. It is our pleasure to provide clean guest rooms with comfortable accommodations in your home away from home. You have many choices while staying in San Francisco, and we appreciate your choosing...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night. I am from the East coast and thus I am not familiar with this area. If I know how bad the neighborhood is I wouldn't stay at this hotel. They charge parking and the hotel is old. To me safety is the most important when you travel. Stay away from this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank campertwins
HolidayInn_SFCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Safety is a top priority for our hotel and for all travelers coming to San Francsico. Our central urban environment is undergoing exciting changes with a dynamic mix of new high-rise housing, shopping, cultural institutions, museums and theatres offering unique places to explore with easy access to all parts of the City....

Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband came for a mini vacation to visit the city and decided to stay here at the Holiday Inn for two nights for only $328.00 .can't beat a deal like that...right...but then upon arrival the lady told me at the from desk that there would be a charge for parking...I thought ok maybe 10, 15,20 dollars....wrong.... it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barajas M
HolidayInn_SFCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of your experience. Our parking rates is a good value compared to other downtown San Francisco secured, indoor garages with 24-hour in-and-out privileges. The $100 deposit is required only if guests would like to charge incidentals to their room without a credit card and is fully refundable upon departure if not used. Your comments are...

san diego,California
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Hotel operator as rude as can be, obnoxious to the point i hung up on him in mid sentence. Mold in the bathrooms, no fridge in cupboard meant to have a bridge. They want to nickle and dime you for to have a fridge which is supposed to be there in the first place. Housekeeping is a disgrace. Outrageous fee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jondavi
HolidayInn_SFCC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you took advantage of our location close to Moscone Center. It is of great concern that you were not satisfied with the service and accommodations you received as customer service and cleanliness are of an utmost priority for our hotel. Our parking pricing is comparable in the downtown area with indoor, secured,...

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

I am not a big fan of giving bad reviews to places I have been to, but at the same time I am not big fan of lies either. When it is stated that this hotel has complimentary High Speed Internet, I believe that they are saying the truth. No, they're not. Internet is absolutely useless. You will be quicker...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raul F
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review

Dear Raul F, Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I am pleased you appreciate the location of our property. We apologize for falling short of your expectations with the internet connection and room accommodation. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I were in the city celebrating our wedding anniversary and it was getting pretty late. So we decided to get a room in the city, it's a little after midnight we are driving around looking for a place to rest our heads. After looking for almost an hour we stopped in at the guy at the front...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jasleenm
Utah
Reviewed 9 January 2013

stayed there New Years Eve. they were very expensive for that night, area isn't the best part of town, but I was Ok with it. we had an event close by, but if I was going just to sight see I'd stay elsewhere

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Irishrovers1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review

Dear Irishrovers1, Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and...

long beach, california
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Hotel was nice and staff was nice. It was quiet. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I would stay here again if I needed to stay around that area. Parking however is expensive, $40+ per night. Close to diners and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rasjve

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (80)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Standard Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 227 in San Francisco
2,888 reviews
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#133 of 227 in San Francisco
991 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#142 of 227 in San Francisco
286 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#100 of 227 in San Francisco
478 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#163 of 227 in San Francisco
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: $224 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Nagpur, India
Vancouver, Washington
over a year ago
1 month ago

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive rooms are spacious and modern”
Skinnyminnie65, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an IHG or business floor.”
sophiat907, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a higher floor room with an east-facing view”
ConcoursRider, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Would ask for upper floor rooms”
194janer, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floors have better views.”
rlreis, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5