We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

USA Hostels San Francisco

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
USA Hostels San Francisco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

947 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for USA Hostels San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Showing 661: English reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2015

My best friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and had never stayed in a hostel before. We were pleasantly surprised by how clean they kept everything and they even offer a cleaning service if you request it. They have a complimentary breakfast with bagels, muffins, cereal and a make your own pancake station - this was ideal to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Stacks of washing machines, computers, pool tables, sofas and sitting areas, large kitchen, decent rooms with a great little half wall thing to keep your bed dark, plenty of charging ports. Sounds great right? Well it is if your un-sociable. For me Hostels are all about getting involved. People are brought together through struggles, helping each other out etc. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJXF123
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 27 August 2015

It was my first time traveling solo. I only needed a bed and I wanted to meet other people so staying in a hostel would be a good idea. This place is near to a BART station so it's very accessible. It's close to bus and cable car stops so that's a plus. It's also within a short walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hellojewel
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Without a doubt some of the best service and facilities I have seen for a Hostel, you really get what you pay for her with friendly and outgoing staff, lots of events and comfortable rooms. The entire Hostel is easy to move around and encourages a hospitable atmosphere. Use the Hostel for all its resources including a good pub crawl,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarrod L
New Preston, Connecticut
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed two nights, the first in an economy double and the second in a basic double. It wasn't clear to me that the $5 difference was due to noise level until we got here (not that there was a choice, those were the only rooms left - it's a busy place). Any how the first night was SO loud...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kadct
Reviewed 21 August 2015

This is by far the worst hostel I ever stayed in and I slept in many around the globe. This one is not only the worst but teh most expsnsive one. Im staying in 4 bed mix dorm. Upon arrival, been charge additinal 4 usd for a card payment - this was not mentioned at the times of booking. Then,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magda b
USAH, General Manager at USA Hostels San Francisco, responded to this review

We regret that you had such a terrible impression of our hostel and have written you separately to be sure you reviewed the correct hostel as we are not in the habit of getting 1 star ratings on Trip Advisor. We wish to understand all that went wrong for you during your stay. As this is a public forum we...

Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I liked very much this hostel because it is in a great location just three blocks Union Square, near restaurants, groceries, etc, friendly staff, price worth, good breakfast, facilities to booking shuttle to airport. We are in private room, it is ok. In hall common area there are some tips about public transport (bus, cable car, streetcars) to reach main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in total. It's a very clean hostel. The staff are really helpful and friendly. There are great activities you can do for free every day. There are a lot of spaces to chill out and the kitchen facilities are great. I really enjoyed my time here and would definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley1007
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

This is more than just a hostel. It is a lifestyle. Wonderful staff, and really clean! A few blocks away from Union Square. Best place to meet new people from all over the world. Worth the money? A definite yes!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fa'iz T
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Staff are very polite and very helpful. Rooms are incredibly clean and good amount of privacy. This hostel is moe like a hotel... Excellent service and facilities,,,, not a normal hostel experience that's for sure. The activities organised were great fun... Pub crawls, walking tours... They've got all you need to explore the city and meet new people. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
2,211 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4,909 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,518 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 3 blocks from Union Square and close to tourist attractions, this award-winning hostel offers value-priced dorms and privates. Rates include a daily breakfast of fresh fruit, baked goods, all-you-can-make pancakes and oatmeal daily along with fruit juice, coffee and tea. The hostel hosts daily free activities offering solo travelers and other many chances to make new friends and take home great memories. Most guests are young, international travelers and this is not the appropriate property for families with young children as the hostel has some late night events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Francisco

Address: 711 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6105
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $66 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your USA Hostels San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from USA Hostels San Francisco staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Tampa, Florida
Austin, Texas
4 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from USA Hostels San Francisco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I made the mistake of purchasing a lock for the lockers in the dorm room across the road, they sell these plus alarm clocks at the front desk. Apart from that though can't really fault them.”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“depends on you numbers of people and needs”
 of 5 bubbles 320henryc, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a bottom bunk”
 of 5 bubbles Z2931IHdavidc, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Dorm of 4 beds”
 of 5 bubbles sandrau291, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There is only one hook in the bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles mzhou5, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay