We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

W San Francisco

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (966)
Room & Suite (651)
Dining (94)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Earn points toward free nights.
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#88 of 232 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Take in the cutting-edge technology scene, avant-garde spirit, and W San Francisco cosmopolitan ethos. Embodying San Francisco, California's unique energy and style, our hotel places guests near downtown must-sees like SFMOMA, Chinatown, and Oracle Park. Settle into spacious hotel rooms and suites with sweeping downtown San Francisco views, pillowtop mattresses, and fully-stocked mini-bars. Maintain your workout routine at our on-site restaurant. Refuel anytime at TRACE, our signature farm-to-table restaurant, or stop by the Living Room Bar for handcrafted cocktails in a vibrant setting.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bowling offsite
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Tennis court offsite
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.
2504Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,018
  • 839
  • 379
  • 161
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Michael S wrote a review Feb 16
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location near the convention center. Check in process was smooth and staff very attentive. Rooms / furniture dated. Verve restaurant was convenient and served a great breakfast. Overall for stars - no major flaws and met expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W San Francisco
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Michael S, Thank you for your review of W San Francisco. It is a pleasure to know you had a seamless check-in experience and that you found our location with proximity to the Moscone Convention Center to be perfect for your needs. We will share your generous remarks with our Talent. Having said that, we regret that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. We will use your comments in our plans for future developments, and we appreciate your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area. All the best, Francis Gorman Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ekarika05 wrote a review Feb 5
9 contributions8 helpful votes
Everyone at the hotel is enthusiastic and helpful! From Taré helping in Valet, Lupe checked us in at the front desk, and Alvin in the restaurant was wonderful. Everyone made our trip lovely. Hotel is very clean and beautifully decorated. We attended the drag show event and it was so much fun! Will definitely be back at this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W San Francisco
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Valued Guest, Thank you for your excellent feedback about W San Francisco. We were delighted to read your comments about the great service you received and how we exceeded your expectations. Our Talent has a dedicated and authentic passion to go above and beyond for our guests, and we appreciate you mentioning Taré, Lupe, and Alvin. We will enjoy passing along your compliments! It is also a pleasure to read you enjoyed the event and our well-maintained property. We look forward to your return. Please reach out to us at w.sfowh.insider@whotels.com so we can tailor your next visit and make it even more exceptional. All the best, Francis Gorman Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
josef_travels wrote a review Jan 2024
Seattle, Washington357 contributions112 helpful votes
The staff made this stay excellent. They go the extra distance to make you see welcome. The room was amazing, the location, perfect. Have stayed in a few hotels in SF and this is definitely top of our list. If you book far enough in advance, the prices are usually excellent value.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W San Francisco
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hello josef_travels, We are pleased you enjoyed our design-forward accommodations as well as our fantastic location, and we thank you for mentioning what an excellent value we offer to our guests. It is refreshing to know your stay with us was memorable and that our devoted Talent showed you what the W is all about in regard to service. We are glad you chose W San Francisco, and we hope to welcome you back whenever your travel brings you to the area. Please reach out to us at w.sfowh.insider@whotels.com so that we can tailor your next visit and make it even more inspiring. All the best, Francis Gorman Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael M wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Worst Stay of My Life As a Bonvoy Platinum for Life member, I have been to a number of Bonvoy properties over the years. I can unequivocally state that this was the worst stay of my life. I will NEVER return. First, because it was for a special event, I was required to pay in advance months before for the room and it was non-refundable. The rate for my room without tax was over $2,200 per night!! For a W. Fine, it is what it is. I held up my end of the bargain and paid for the stay in entirety when I booked. Upon arrival, which was more than an hour after the promised check in time if 3:00, I was told the room was not ready and would not be for some time. I asked why the hotel couldn't live up to its end of the bargain. They took my money (and a lot of it) months before and I arrived well after the hotel's designated check-in time, not before. I was basically told to be quiet and be patient. I said it was unacceptable that I would now likely miss a 5:00 meeting because a room promised to me at 3:00, which I had paid for months before, was not ready for me. This is when they brought out a guy named Oscar, who purported to be some sort of manager but based on his unwillingness to help or even discuss the situation, he clearly was not any sort of manager. When I asked him if he thought the hotel was in the wrong here he told me he would cancel my reservation in full and give me a full refund. Thanks for the creative solution Oscar! The fact that your dump of a hotel was able to charge $2200/ night to begin with meant that there were no other vacancies in San Francisco. Finally, a woman named Gabi came out. She stated that she was also a manger but, unlike Oscar, she actually acted like one and had managerial authority. Miraculously, another room had become available and she put me in that one. Apparently Oscar was unable to locate this room or offer it to me only a minute before. Great manager. The hotel is the definition of amateur hour. Other than Gabi, the staff were across the board unprofessional and knowledgeable. They would be better suited to work at a Red Roof Inn. Good luck
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W San Francisco
Responded Jan 13, 2024
Hello Michael M, Thank you for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite member and for your loyalty to our brand. Having said that, we apologize that your room was not ready for you when you arrived and for the lack of satisfactory assistance from one of our Talent members. We have taken action with the appropriate individuals and will your feedback to help us better our guest services. On a positive note, we are happy to know you were satisfied with the hospitality of Gabi, and we will convey your compliments to her. We are grateful for your patience and hope you will give us another chance to make a favorable impression. All the best, Francis Gorman Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nbhartist84 wrote a review Dec 2023
San Ramon, California13 contributions10 helpful votes
This hotel, is just fabulous! We celebrated our 30th anniversary, here, for 2 nights, of total luxury! Joshua checked us in, and offered us an upgrade, to a gorgeous suite, after hearing that we were celebrating our 30th anniversary! We have never stayed in such a fabulous room, a corner suite, on the 26th floor, with stunning views of the city, and bay area, 2 huge bathrooms, a beautiful living room, and an immense bedroom. We hated to leave, but will be returning soon! Jay, helped with our luggage, and took us to this gorgeous room. He told us this was his favorite room, in the entire hotel! We could not agree more! Perfect location, very professional and kind, staff. Top notch experience in every way. Almost forgot to mention, a perfect location, for everything, next door to SFMOMA, great shopping and dining, all with in walking distance! Book the W, for your next SF visit!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Five stars in everything! Actually, I would have used ten stars!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W San Francisco
Responded Dec 14, 2023
Hello nbhartist84, We love knowing we helped make your celebratory visit perfect and that our amazing Talent and never-boring location added to your stay. We are always eager to go the distance for our guests, and we appreciate you mentioning Joshua's and Jay's efforts. Thank you for choosing W San Francisco for your anniversary, and we look forward to your next visit. All the best, Francis Gorman Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JKWD wrote a review Nov 2023
Hong Kong, China485 contributions542 helpful votes
The hotel is conveniently located in the SOMA, right next to MOMA, and across from the Moscone Centre. It is just around 15 minutes from SFO by car. The hotel design is modern and trendy. While the lobby is a bit dark, the room is well lit and the room on gigh floor command good views over the Bay or the Yubena Park. The service is also good. The breakfast at the Trace fine and cook to order but unfortunately, the restaurant is closed in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W San Francisco
Responded Nov 13, 2023
Hello JKWD, We love knowing we could make you feel so welcome, and that our modern accommodation and inspiring location helped to make your visit even more memorable. It is also great to learn that you were able to enjoy the stunning views and delectable breakfast at Trace restaurant. Thank you for mentioning our efforts and choosing W San Francisco; we hope to welcome you back soon. All the best, Francis Gorman Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael P wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
We had a fantastic experience at this modern hotel. The music was upbeat, and the location offered a spectacular view. However, the most critical aspect was the friendly staff. Our family drove a long way from Los Angeles, and this hotel was close to everything. From the moment we arrived, the staff greeted us with warm smiles and opened the door for us. The front desk clerk was very helpful and addressed all our concerns, even calling to clarify the valet situation. They also noticed from my Marriott profile that I prefer high floors, and they assigned us a beautiful floor with an incredible view. The housekeeping staff kept our room clean and gave us new towels, as well as extra Nespresso coffee cups. At the end of our stay, I had to tell the front desk clerk to adjust my bill due to internet and valet charges. All in all, we appreciate the staff's hospitality and are incredibly happy with our stay. We will visit again! Thank you so much. Mahalo, Mike
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W San Francisco
Responded Nov 10, 2023
Hello H5504BVmichaelp, It was our pleasure to welcome you to W San Francisco. We are delighted to know you had an excellent stay and that our Talent left such a warm impression. They emphasize giving every guest the best experience possible, down to the smallest detail, is something that makes us very proud. We look forward to sharing your kind comments with them. Our vibrant city retreat offers travelers beautiful views combined with outstanding service in a fantastic location. We appreciate the wonderful recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. We would be glad if you could contact us at w.sfowh.insider@whotels.com to help plan and inspire your next tailored experience at W San Francisco All the best, Francis Gorman Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adam and Gabrie... G wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Go elsewhere. They charged me for the mini bar that wasn’t even used and I still haven’t been refunded and it’s been weeks. I paid for Valet as well (80$) and picked my car up from the street and it was unlocked. Ordered room service for breakfast and it took an hour and fifteen minutes, cold, and no communication about the food being that late. Horrible experience. Many hotels nearby. Go elsewhere!!!!!! Hotel management hasn’t even reached out to discuss.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W San Francisco
Responded Oct 21, 2023
Hello adamandgabriellag, Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry for the delay you experienced with our in-room dining and for the instance you mentioned with your car. We can also understand your frustration due to the billing-related issue you encountered with regard to mini bar charges. We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. We are grateful for your thoughts on these matters and also for your patience. We will share your message appropriately, and you have our assurance that we will review all of your comments accordingly. All the best, Francis Gorman Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Scott W wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
Reserves the Fantastic suite at the W Hotel in San Francisco which we've done many times. Arrived at 3 pm when check-in is supposed to occur. Our suite was not ready, forced to wait in a crowded lobby for 3 hours, hearing excuse after excuse why they couldn't get the suite cleanen and turned around. Had we not reserves a large suite and instead had a Standard room, no problem Apparently the more more money you spend at the W, the more horrendous the service. Skip the W, they just don't know how to treat guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W San Francisco
Responded Sep 25, 2023
Hello scottwA1479IB, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. First and foremost, we appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and for selecting us again. While we are pleased you have enjoyed your previous visits, we are sorry for the inconvenience you had during this stay. We apologize for the wait time you experienced upon check-in and that we could not provide you with the room of your choice. We will share this with each of the appropriate Talent members. Thank you again for leaving a review, and we look forward to another opportunity to host you. All the best, Francis Gorman Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kathyhK9551WZ wrote a review Sep 2023
Henderson, Nevada1090 contributions347 helpful votes
Yes things happen when we least expect it. We were traveling San Diego to San Francisco when a member of our party had COVID suddenly. All plans were cancelled. After 6 pm the night before our travel. I called the hotel and Lotus gave me piece of mind with her kind voice. My one night was canceled no problem. I will be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Easy with the BART
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W San Francisco
Responded Sep 22, 2023
Hello kathyhK9551WZ, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at W San Francisco, and for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your kind remarks about Lotus, and will be sure to share your compliments with her. It is great to know that you will return soon; we look forward to it. All the best, Francis Gorman Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Francisco area.
PRICE RANGE
C$305 - C$587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
w san francisco hotel san francisco, w hotels san francisco, w hotel san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / SoMa / South Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
411
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

W San Francisco - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (CA) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about W San Francisco
Which popular attractions are close to W San Francisco?
Nearby attractions include San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) (0.08 km), Yerba Buena Gardens (0.2 km), and St. Patrick Catholic Church (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at W San Francisco?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at W San Francisco?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at W San Francisco?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at W San Francisco?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to W San Francisco?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo de Chão Brazilian Steakhouse, Mourad, and The Grove - Yerba Buena.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W San Francisco?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at W San Francisco?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at W San Francisco?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does W San Francisco offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.