We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Do not book this place! Easily the worst hotel ever. We stayed for all of 50 minutes, couldn't wait to get out of there! Filthy isn't the word. We booked 3 rooms for our party, 1 was downstairs, right off Lombard Street, felt less than secure! Other two upstairs, rickety old stair case and landing which hadn't been cleaned/swept in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sab703
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your visit here was not what you expected, however we cannot respond to name calling and the inaccuracies you listed. We are happy that you found a hotel more suitable for you. Thank you for the feedback.

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Well, we booked this hotel online for 4 nights as we wanted to really experience San Francisco during Pride Weekend and a couple days after...the very first 10 minutes we walked in (btw, no elevators!!) we knew this was a mistake. First off, parking is limited, and first come, first served...and, good luck if you have a larger vehicle in...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Leasa1
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Your review has been forwarded to the appropriate management. Thank you for the feedback.

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked and paid for a room but when we arrived the desk manager told us the room had been rented to someone else. He said he had only two rooms left but would need to split our party of four up and charge us more than double the price we had already paid for each of the two rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MyZeroGeography
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you felt that way about us. However when you use a third party to book, it limits what we can do, as our hand can also be tied. The rate you were quoted was the fair market value for that day in that season, I am sure this does not help and we are very...

Everett, Washington
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This place should be closed and totally remodeled. The carpet was pulled up in several locations the front of the gas fire was just leaning against the front of the fireplace. The unit had a whirlpool tub and all the jets were covered in some brown crusted scum .The jets did not function the stopper to fill the tub did...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert C
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We absolutely understand that everyone has a level of comfort and we are glad that you found a hotel that is suited for you, We are by no means a Sheraton, we are a limited service budget hotel and we are upgrading things and your list will be taken under consideration. Thanks for the feedback.

San Francisco
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brendan H
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Gresham, Oregon
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We checked in at 3:00. At 3:05 I told the desk we would be checking out the next am. Bath room light was out. Had 2 remotes to make TV work. It didn't ! Had to carry luggage up a flight of stairs thru last years leaves. Room was filthy. When u look out the window you can see the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denis S
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We have made some changed in this hotel and we are looking at ALL of our reviews and finding out what our travelers want and need. So thank you for the info.

Secaucus, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep S
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

San Francisco
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I selected the hotel for its location good experience with Howard Johnson in the past.However the room was not very clean, had stains every where and plumbing was poor.Toilet almost over flowed and TV had a big burn mark at the center of the screen. It was obvious that the place is not well maintained and badly needs renovation. Poor...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Khalid S
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

We have the pricing according to the fair market value at the time it was a holiday weekend the prices are higher, however we do understand that for you it was not acceptable. We are very sorry and we have rectified many things at this hotel and are making upgrades. Thank you.

Alberta
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I booked this hotel last minute via a discounted site at an excellent rate. I was looking for something within walking distance to attractions that included parking and this was by far the best deal. We often stay at hostels in private rooms and found this room at an even better rate. I arrived late and the parking lot was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Juneflo
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

Thank you for the fair and honest info. regarding our hotel. We are a limited service budget hotel, however customer service can always be improved. We are making changes and trying to make this a better hotel and yes we have a great locations. Thanks again for your patronage!

Hialeah, Florida
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#158 of 227 in San Francisco
567 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
550 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#130 of 227 in San Francisco
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#106 of 227 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#144 of 227 in San Francisco
541 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#154 of 227 in San Francisco
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

Address: 1940 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-2807 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Francisco/By the Bay)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $205 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Ramada San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Southbury, Connecticut
Santa Monica, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the rooms in the far end of the building - Away from Lombard St.”
hbhansen, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Trust me.”
  • booger on the wall above light switch. Very visible. Two second wipe with a rag....
  • splattered walls (this is just one) one splatter looked like blood
  • other side of toilet footing. pubic hairs and what looks like urine...
  • moldy and splattered bathroom window that serves as an exhaust fan.
  • two balls that go to someone's body jewelry in one corner of bathroom. (more found throughout ro
  • moldy bathroom ceiling (some bleach and a wet rag would make this a 2 minute clean up)
  • a pubic hair hanging out with the mold on the ceiling
  • dirty gross light fixture in bathroom that looks like it has been on fire
NanetteS, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“try another hotel :o”
tcarmo, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like stairs, get a room on the 1st floor.”
triciachatter, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“avoid this hotel and go someplace else. Cramped tiny rooms”
jondavi, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5