We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beaufort House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Beaufort House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

833 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 832: English reviews
Start your review of Beaufort House Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited here with my sister and our two teenage daughters to celebrate a birthday.. We stayed in the Sarah Davidson Suite. Our stay was so above our expectations! We had the whole third floor! The rooms were beautiful! The beds were so comfortable! The owners were not there this weekend but the staff was beyond wonderful! The breakfast on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlueheavenTennessee
Simmie1, Owner at Beaufort House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us! We are sorry we missed your Asheville visit due to a family emergency in MD.....we are very happy that you selected our property for a mother/daughter birthday celebration! As a mom, I love getting those special times with my daughters as well.....Asheville has much to offer and...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful exterior and exterior. Our room was a little small but clean and well appointed.Bathroom was fantastic. Breakfast was disappointing. I do not like goat cheese, and it was in the quiche. The owners were gracious and helpful, and I would go back but just not have breakfast..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 64EgO
Simmie1, Owner at Beaufort House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about our Inn and your stay with us. We do take pride in our guest room appointments and our staff work diligently every day to achieve your highest comfort. We did not know you were not a goat cheese fan...we would have gladly accommodated you with a breakfast option that morning. We have many...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a little R&R away from "real life" This was the perfect spot! Walking distance to most of what we wanted to do. The breakfast was fantastic!! We loved making new friends over wine on the first "porch night" of 2017. Lovely place! Just lovely!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christy B
Simmie1, Owner at Beaufort House Inn, responded to this review

We loved hosting you both for your R&R getaway....Asheville is a perfect destination for that any time of the year. The front porch and gazebo at our Beaufort House Inn is a very special spot for our guests to make new friends or get reacquainted with each other! Thank you for selecting us for your Asheville weekend....we hope to see...

Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

My wife and I were looking to get away for a little R and R and to celebrate her Birthday. We found the perfect place in Asheville; the Beaufort House Inn. Chris and Jim could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Their Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located to downtown, shopping, restaurants and the Biltmore. The breakfasts were fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19Keydet74
Simmie1, Owner at Beaufort House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for noticing many details that are special to our Beaufort House Inn....we all enjoy creating fun and healthy breakfast menus...happy to start your day off that way! Of course, your guest room amenities are of the very highest priority as well for our team and we appreciate that you had a wonderful stay with us....many thanks for your comments!...

Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 February 2017

My wife and I like to stay at B&B's when we travel. The Beaufort House Inn is everything we expect from the historic charm to the warm welcome from the Hosts. The place is well cared for and is beautifully detailed. breakfast was visually appealing and delicious. Rooms were comfortable and clean. I would stay again and recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
Simmie1, Owner at Beaufort House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us! We appreciate your attention to detail....we do too :)) and love that your experience at our inn was memorable. Please do think of us again on your next trip to Asheville....in the meantime...Happy Spring! Christina & Jim

Lexington, Virginia
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Our stay at Beaufort House Inn was all we had hoped for . . . A spacious, sumptuous room (bathroom was to die for!), hot and flavorful breakfast, caring and knowledgeable hosts . . . Just what the doctor ordered! Beautifully maintained historic property with lovely grounds in a walking-friendly neighborhood! Thanks Jim, Chris and Stephanie!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bonjour2u
Harlan, Kentucky
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The owners and manager, Ericka, were excellent!! The room, food, atmosphere was the best... This was our 2nd trip and plan to return many more times... The gourmet breakfast each morning was out of this world! If you are looking for a place to go that has paid special attention to historical details, Beaufort House Inn is the place for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _waltersphillip254
Simmie1, Owner at Beaufort House Inn, responded to this review

We so appreciate your comments about your stay with us....always a treat for us to welcome return guests :) Thank you for the recognition of our staff as well...they are a key extension for us in providing good care of our guests during their stay. Have a wonderful 2017 and we do hope to see you both again soon -...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Chris and Jim Muth and their entire staff are the BEST, most hospitable inn keepers one could imagine! As a guest, I felt instantly welcome and "at home". All the little touches such as fresh, colorful flowers everywhere, candles glowing, candy and mints, wine in the afternoon, fresh baked chocolate chip cookies and shiny red apples available all day make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polly T T
Charlottesville
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We had a quiet, relaxing stay at the historic Beaufort House Inn. Our room and the entire house were beautiful and clean. Jim and Chris Muth and staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were picture perfect and nicely served. We walked to the town square and shops. The wine and cheese time with the other guests was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom_T763
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 January 2017

My husband and I stayed in the Savannah Cottage at Beaufort House, and absolutely loved it. This was our first stay at a B&B, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. We loved the close proximity to the city, as well as easy access to Biltmore and Blue Ridge Parkway for some great hikes. The house and cottage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alissa T
Simmie1, Owner at Beaufort House Inn, responded to this review

Alissa! Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your experience at our Beaufort House Inn. Our Savannah Cottage is a guest favorite and we are so pleased you enjoyed the privacy and yet found the cottage cozy and inviting! Our staff are a very important asset to our business as we know that our guests will...

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
694 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
5,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
175 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#17 of 38 in Asheville
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Address: 61 N Liberty St, Asheville, NC 28801-1829
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: $186 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beaufort House Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Williamsburg, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Beaufort House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Theodore Davidson Room is well-lit and has a beautiful fireplace”
 of 5 bubbles bonjour2u, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“stayed in Sara Davidson suite, was perfect for privacy....”
 of 5 bubbles _waltersphillip254, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We liked the main floor location with private entrance of the Arbor Room”
 of 5 bubbles Tom_T763, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cottages are perfect for more privacy, but still allow for a great B&B experience!”
 of 5 bubbles 399alissat, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is a room on the main floor for people who cannot do stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles S675FUseanm, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5