We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mountaineer Inn

Expedia.comUS$62*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$65*
US$62*
US$65*
US$65*
US$62*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mountaineer Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Mountaineer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is family owned and run. So don't expect to have some the chain normalities. Old fashioned keys are used instead of electronic. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the rooms are clean but dated. If you're in the upper portion there is an included washer dryer, no quarters needed! It is kind of a pain to drive down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison B
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very nice review. I am so glad you enjoyed your bed and the pool! I am glad you appreciated the character of the place. I hope you will always stay with us whenever you are in town.

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We were touring the area on a Harley.We are from from Cornwall, England,we stayed here on the 14th and 15th of September. We were made very welcome by Mr Moutos and his staff. The room was a bit dated but in keeping with the surroundings. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable which is why we booked a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jub0
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello to our British friends! I am glad you were happy with our little spot here in the mountains. I am glad you got to meet Chris and hear some of his stories. I hope you will stay with us again if ever back this way!

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We chose this because of its proximity to downtown, which is awesome. It's cheaper than one of the fancier hotels in downtown, and the drive is incredibly short (just on the other end of the tunnel), while parking is pretty cheap too (find street parking downtown!) We chose a non-smoking room (even though we're smokers) just so our room wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kaytimack
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a detailed review. I do apologize for the issues you had , especially the "smoking rooms" near by. The fact is that those folks you may have witnessed smoking next door, were not actually in smoking rooms. They were simply being rude to us and you. All of our...

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

The rooms are tired and worn but I felt it was clean. The carpet is gross and the rooms need a coat of paint. It's a family owned business and the 93 year old owner can be seen on property. I wouldn't choose to stay here again but if push came to shove I would. The tile in the bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MaryJoHarrisSmith
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, I appreciate your nice words about our staff. I am sorry you found the rooms to be less than satisfactory. We are a very old property and we try to bank on our character! We will probably never be modern and shiny and that is the way we would like it. We are steadily making improvements...

Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Girlfriend and I drove from Big Stone Gap, Virginia for a nice get away and we could've stayed anywhere but we chose here. The atmosphere was like being at the beach. Beautiful flowers everywhere, the pool was very clean and had a really nice gazebo to relax in. The room was clean and cozy. The staff was so nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KristieWebb
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Wow and thank you!! Guests like you make it all worth while. Our owner absolutely loves his guests and feeding them if possible! He has spent 40 years planting herbs, flowers, trees and bushes to enhance the property. Some of the plants are actually from his home country of Greece. We made many improvements to the pool area this year...

Columbia, SC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

My wife and I decided to stay at this very budget friendly hotel to save money for going out to eat and other fun stuff. We saved money but at a cost. The room was very retro to say the least, but not a cool retro. The matresses were vintage 1960s, well used and well stained. I laughed most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nosaj01
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed to see such blatant slander posted here, and I assume by former disgruntled employees. The absolute fact of the matter is that any old furnishings that may have been on this property have all been disposed of this past Feb and March. We totally refurnished all of our rooms, and most specifically with all new mattresses and...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We booked here because frankly the rest of the city was charging exorbitant rates for Labor Day weekend. We wound up loving the retro feel and were impressed by the friendly staff. The water pressure is awesome and the beds were clean and comfortable. A couple of suggestions, although the rooms have AC, it's controlled by the front desk so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DavidWeaver
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your warm and favorable review. We do admit that the central ac is difficult to make perfect for every one, but we can usually come up with a happy middle ground. We do have fans and heaters available for whichever way you need to feel comfortable.I am so happy that you enjoyed the character of the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I visited Asheville to be in North Carolina and as an Elvis fan to follow where he performed, downtown at the local Civic Centre. Unfortunately i had not enough time, having to travel by public transportation to see it as I was leaving early on Monday morning and only there for the weekend. Downtown is buzzy and the best bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank capricornia52
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

We enjoyed meeting you and are glad you had a nice visit to Asheville. Thank you for giving us a favorable review. Please stay with us again if you return to the mountains.

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 27 August 2016

I stayed here for 5days in July though the rooms are old Tv and frig not new the location price and hospitality were excellent. Having stayed at many newer much higher priced hotels in asheville what this one may lack in peoples expectations it is a fine family friendly place to stay. While it might not be what people expect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doehen
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thanks to a guest you "gets it". This place is ancient by comparison, having the original building constructed in 1939! We are definitely trying to upgrade a bit, but we don't want to destroy the vintage integrity. We do care about our guests, and we certainly hope you will return.

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Great people ...great breakfast ... We were in the rear building which was a little scary ... The place is tricky to get in and out of . BathRoom and furniture needs repair ...good location though close to wherever we wanted to be

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle H
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, We appreciate your fair assessment of our property. We are glad you enjoyed the staff and the breakfast. We are sorry you felt the back building was "scary", but just as reassurance, we want all future visitors to know that we have an on site security guard watching things 24-7 and a security cameras in multiple...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.4 km away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 63 in Asheville
1,070 reviews
0.7 km away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 63 in Asheville
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Asheville
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#41 of 63 in Asheville
357 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "old fashioned" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mountaineer Inn

Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: $90 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mountaineer Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Mountaineer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you'd like to avoid climbing stairs, request a room on the ground floor.”
C1706RTpatricks, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the New Section if you want my modern / or stay in the Old Section as it is just cool to see the passage of time!”
gckhd55, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I suggest staying in the one-story part, near the office; I think it's the quietest area.”
Skylark414, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay on upper level to the right of the office to be away from traffic in/out from main road.”
buffalogail, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“either at the front or at the back in the annexe, all good”
capricornia52, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$62* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$65
TripAdvisorUS$62
Hotels.comUS$62
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates