We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mountaineer Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mountaineer Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountaineer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Trois-Rivières
Reviewed 14 June 2015

I was really disapointed by this motel that I rented through Booking. I can't believe that I paid $99 for my room (weekend rates). The room was in shoudy condition (see photos). There was even a 1 inch space under the door. My room was non smoking while the room besides was smoking! Mine simply had a post-it on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMarois
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello traveler, We are sorry you were disappointed in your accomodations here. We are a roof, a bed and a meal, and for Asheville, $99.00 on the weekends is still half of most other motels/hotels. We are not perfect by any means. We are a family owned business struggling to keep pace with the competition. We are constantly doing our...

Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

Wouldn't ya know late check-in means higher rates. Only hotel left without reservations. On-line ad listed price at xx$ . Those rooms are full. Now the rate is xxxx$. The bed sheets had stains. (I pulled the cover back over so my Dad wouldn't see.) The carpet had pet urine and poop stains. The breakfast was OJ, coffee and doughnuts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PattiStandridge
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry you were unhappy with your experience here. We are engaged in an intensive rehab to our facility, with regular carpet cleanings and new beds and linens. We are a family owned motel and we have had some set backs recently but we are continuing to make all efforts in improving our rooms in every regard.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 25 May 2015

What a shame that this iconic (the neon sign) old motel, in my opinion, is filthy and poorly maintained. There is not much excuse to have dirty carpet, an HVAC that is visibly clogged with dust and a commode that hardly functions. The people in the office are personable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 897Dave
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello recent guest, I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay. It is a bit unfair of you to classify our establishment as filthy . We have a great team of housekeepers who do their best . Yes, it is true, that we have a few stains on some of our carpets. We do have some old AC...

Reviewed 4 April 2015

I don't even know where to begin. I literally gagged at the state of our room. I am surprised a Loch Ness sized roach did not devour us during our sleep. We wanted to stay cheap. I have spent much less on much nicer hotels. Let's start with the basics. Disgustingly unclean room. Dirt and dust in every corner. Remote...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tootsiemae1
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry for your experience with us, and am sorry you felt you needed to elaborate to such an extent. Truly, it sounds like a simple case of you being checked into a dirty room. Believe it or not, even some of the fanciest hotels' rooms are disgusting before the housekeepers can take care of them. We...

Reviewed 18 January 2015

First off, my friend got a rash on his face from sleeping on the floor. Second, there were cigarette burns on the towels and sheets. Also, one of my friends thought the bathroom smelled like his grandma(not a good thing). Let's put it this way, one of my friends didn't even shower because he didn't know if he would be...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Durdyburd
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry that you felt our rooms were not up to sanitation standards. We actually have a satisfactory rating from the Health department . I , however, would never recommend sleeping on a floor, especially a motel room floor. We have a small but dedicated team of housekeepers, and I can assure you, they do a good...

Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Close to downtown and cheap. On a busy road but it's in the city so.... Clean enough. Freindly enough. I would recommend it. We had a great time in Asheville and the price left us with a little extra spending money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Domenick O
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, We appreciate your kind and concise review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and enjoyed the financial savings by staying with a vintage, local establishment rather than a chain! Please return!

Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

The Mountaineer Inn was just an overnight stay for us on the way home from Knoxville. It was quiet and clean. The television only had one channel but since we were tired it didn't matter. The office staff was friendly and helpful. It is close to several eating establishments and the mall.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacy P
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, We thank you for you nice words about our property. I am so glad you found us to be satisfactory, and the staff pleasant. I apologize for the tv issue, we actually have multiple channels. We are very convenient to shopping and dining. Please return!

Reviewed 29 December 2014 via mobile

Don't ever stay in this hotel unless you want to ruin your trip. It is extremely bad hotel.it is the worst hotel we have stayed in our lives...horrible hotel with everything outdated and the service is also hoorible.broken mirrors.lamps and it looks like a dump. .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heloisa A
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello unhappy guest, I just want to apologize for your dissatisfaction with our facility. We are a "vintage" property, and do have our share of issues, but we always are willing to try to accommodate our guests anyway we can. Next time you are in an situation that makes you unhappy, please speak with the front office, and see if...

North Oxford, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Room very outdated and old; I didn't want to touch the furniture because it looked so dirty and old. TV was ancient and looked like it was from my parents' childhood. Wifi had a low signal and was slow. There was a lot of noise outside and I didn't feel very safe at night. Bright light comes in the window...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DoctorKnow85
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, I am reaching out to apologize and address your concerns. It is a fact that we are a very old property, but we do maintain a high degree of cleanliness in our rooms. I am sorry about the tub dripping. I am also sorry about the noise and light from outside. We are generally a very quiet...

Norfolk, Virginie
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Well i was extremely surprised and disappointed. First, there was holes in the sheets. Then the cover are so old, you can see through them (literally). Third, the towels were so used that it did not wipe any water off me and my wife. In addition, there were only a poor little soap and a dinosaur TV. The curtains did...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank avis1966
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, I am sorry for your less than happy stay with us back in the fall. Yes, we are a very old property, but YES, we do maintain excellent standards of cleanliness. Sometimes, the old décor, and linens detract from that fact. I am sorry about the drapes, and will use this info to work on installing black...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.4 km away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 63 in Asheville
1,023 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 63 in Asheville
224 reviews
0.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Asheville
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#44 of 63 in Asheville
333 reviews
2.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with leftover blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "old fashioned" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Inn

Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: $72 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountaineer Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mountaineer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the New Section if you want my modern / or stay in the Old Section as it is just cool to see the passage of time!”
 of 5 bubbles gckhd55, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I suggest staying in the one-story part, near the office; I think it's the quietest area.”
 of 5 bubbles Skylark414, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay on upper level to the right of the office to be away from traffic in/out from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles buffalogail, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“either at the front or at the back in the annexe, all good”
 of 5 bubbles capricornia52, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in front are easily accessible if you have a lot of luggage.”
  • Queen bed and bonus recliner.
 of 5 bubbles B2306OTkateg, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay