We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Atwood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Atwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Atwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 15 November 2016

On the surface it looked pretty good then I got to the room. Not enough outlets in the room to charge your phone and computer at the same time. Almost a 2" gap under the entry door requiring stuffing a towel under the door so creatures couldn't enter. Also, a leak under the sink that would puddle up every 30...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike P
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We replaced all of the windows while you were staying with us with new double pane windows. The work is done now and I am sorry that it caused you problems during your stay. Nahum GM

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We have stayed at this hotel for years, it was a Travelogde when we first stayed here, now its an Attwood. I was so surprised to see the new name and complete renovation. WOW this place is so much nicer than before, no complaints at all. Really enjoyed the pool area improvements and the rooms are so much nicer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IMHUEY
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Nahum Jimenez GM

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Key card lock: We got two rooms and when we inserted the key card to the first room, it wouldn't open. We tried multiple times and it still wouldn't open. Not even a red or green light for indication. We tried the second room and it worked. Finally tried the first room again and it finally worked. Light switches: The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rithyvanna S
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the door locks. We are replacing many of them this week. We listen to our guests and use there feedback to improve. Thank you again.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel was closed down and renovated. We stayed when they first opened. It was still a work in progress. But we like it. This time things were more complete. The store is open. Or and they say the restaurant will open in a week. I did notice that they are currently putting new windows in. I have to give...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark e
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming back. We hope to continue to be your home away from home. Truly, Nahum Jimenez GM

Guam, Mariana Islands
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Spent three days here and had troubles with my room key from the get go. As a frequent traveler i know the difference with faulty doors or weak batteries. Well room 103 had to be the bottom of the barrel as this room had so many issues. 1. Room key never worked properly 2. Air conditioning wasn't working properly. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrFukuda
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are working hard and your feedback is always appreciated. We hope to see you again. Nahum Jimenez GM

Spring Valley, California
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Get ready to be nickled and dimed. They charge $22.54 in pet fees per night. They don't tell you about these fees just tell you to sign here and you have to read about the fees. They watch every move you make and call you about everything during your stay, so get ready to be stalked. Watch your bank account...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boltsfan75
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Boltsfan, I think its fair to point out that we knew you were going to write a bad review because you told us that you wanted to extend your stay for 3 more days and you wanted a discounted rate on the already low rate you were paying and we told you that was not possible. We also clearly state...

Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewed 14 October 2016

If you are traveling to San Diego in a budget that's a good place to stay. Located on the hotel circle, close to exit any expressway. Room is large and spotless clean. The continental breakfast is really poor. It's a good place to stay in a budget.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ekuk54
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! We hope to see you again.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We had a great holiday in San Diego and we stayed at the Atwood for 4 nights. Pro's - Big pool and Jacuzzi with a lot of sunshine to relax, when fed up of the sunshine, you can lay in the pool cabins or under an umbrella. - Great value for money - Free parking - Location a 5-10 minute...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hellokitty84
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your business. Nahum Jimenez GM

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We will never stay here again. Booked our stay through Hotels.com and were charged $54 more for a Friday night than my parents who booked the same stay directly with hotel. I asked the general manager, Naom?, to adjust my bill and charge the same amount and he refused. Said he would only knock $18 off. We have stayed here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gbunch702
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Your parents booked there room directly with us. We can offer the best rates if you book directly. The hotel has to pay the site you booked on a large commission for your reservation. This is why we cannot match the rate. However, I still gave you a discount. As explained while you were here. Booking direct is the...

Saskatoon
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The hotel room was good, but there was a $1.50 per day surcharge for the room safe, my room did not have a safe, therefore I had to request the charge to be dropped. There were no vending machines on the property for snacks, rinks, etc., so one had to leave the property to get any type of snack or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wallysaskatoon
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for staying with us. I am glad you will return in the future. As far as the safes, they are hidden in each room under the night stand. We are always glad to remove the charge if you didn't use it. We do not have vending machines on the property because we are in the final...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
0:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,852 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#139 of 278 in San Diego
1,389 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#210 of 278 in San Diego
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#168 of 278 in San Diego
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Atwood Hotel

Address: 1201 Hotel Cir S, Mission Valley, San Diego, CA 92108-3407 (Formerly Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range: $83 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Atwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Atwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Atwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for ground floor room if you don't want to carry luggage upstairs to a higher floor. There is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles rjf950, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“no elevators so request first floor rooms if you have too much baggage”
 of 5 bubbles RahulAgrawal, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor corner if available, that is the one I stayed but the others are very nice, I just happen to like corner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles pic02013, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for top floor - ground floor is too scary”
 of 5 bubbles terrid152, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Tip - make sure ALL construction of property is complete before booking. I personally would never go back.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeP873, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay