We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gaslamp Plaza Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 484: English reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We were given a double and both sides of the bed were right along the walls of the room. We had to sit at the foot of the bed and scoot or crawl up to the rest of the bed to get on and then to get off of the bed. The width of the room was very narrow. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry you didn't have an enjoyable stay with us. As far as I can determine from your description of the room you stayed in, you were in one of our "small studios" which is a smaller economical room, not a suite. We do have 7 of these small studios and one of these units do...

St Thomas, USVI
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Located dead center of the Gaslamp district this beautifully historic hotel was better than I hoped. These people are all about the details. From the amazing staff who worked hard to find us the perfect place to dine with an old friend, to the marble hallways, very clean room and fabulous view, this hotel has everything. Breakfast on the rooftop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank az93
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I can just extend my heartfelt thank YOU for your kind review of your stay with us. We always strive to make our guests stay as pleasant and memorable as we can. Thank you again and Welcome Back!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We enjoyed our brief stay. The room was large, comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. We had a good time exploring the lively Gas lamp district in the evening and it was great to be able to walk to all the action. The only negative was the continental breakfast which was quite minimal. But overall the hotel is a very good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maryls57
Riverside
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Just spent an amazingly awesome, relaxing weekend here with my fiancé!! The suite we stayed in at Gaslamp Plaza Suites was very clean, spacious and just the perfect spot to kick off our shoes and catch some zzzzzzz 😴😴😴... We absolutely LOVE it here every time we've stayed here!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ranierb2016
Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The Plaza is the first skyscraper built in 1913 in San Diego. There are 11 floors and a rooftop terrace with free continental breakfast from 7 to 10 am. It is on the edge of the historic Gaslamp district (lots of bars and restaurants). If you have a car it is $32.00 a day for unlimited in/out valet parking. If...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mjoatie
Claremont, California
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We reserved a room for a couple nights and we loved the location. We got a free upgrade so that was very nice! Seaport Village, the Embarcadero, the Padres stadium: everything is within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They would always print out directions for us without us asking for it, that was nice. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank egnarez
Paris, France
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We reserved a room for the night to be in the center of Gaslamp neighborhood in San Diego : everything was wrong and horrible in this hotel that doesn't worth a 4 stars AT ALL. The room was small. We asked for a baby cot and actually couldn't even install it without being constrained to move the furnitures. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie M
madeleine k, General Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear Julie, I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here. After reviewing our records, it seems you had reserved one of our smaller economical rooms. We do have a limited amount of these rooms and they are smaller in size. We always try to make every effort to accommodate our guests need. I am sorry if we fell...

Hightstown, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I stayed there for a week. The bedroom was HUGE with a living room and kitchenette. I was with my daughter and to my surprise...there were 2 decent size bathrooms and lots of closet space. The beds are comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the roof top which was included in the price of the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Guyanesegirl2013
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

This was our 4th visit over a number of years. San Diego has changed a lot but Gaslamp Plaza Suites remains a great resort. We stayed for 2 weeks. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast bagels on the roof every morning a plus. The beds are really comfortable. We stayed on the 5th floor and the noise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue53_11
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Paid up for a room for 2 nights during Comic Con. Room is OK, a bit run down, but its an old building which used to be an office building. Staff was friendly. Unfortunately, we were only on the second floor, and the noise level from the street, and what seems to be a club below, was crazy. Even at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MBanalyst
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here. Comic Con is very busy and the noise from the outside can sometimes be loud. We do have rooms facing the back of the building, without view, as well as rooms on a higher floor, which both can be better if you are sensitive to noise....

409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (205)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Other (132)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#82 of 283 in San Diego
1,269 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 283 in San Diego
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Horton Grand Hotel
#52 of 283 in San Diego
720 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#117 of 283 in San Diego
193 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Address: 520 E St., San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $137 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gaslamp Plaza Suites staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Lexington, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Arizona
over a year ago
2 months ago
California

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Gaslamp Plaza Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front facing rooms offer best views but you can also access the rooftop.”
 of 5 bubbles X4290MDpatm, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Corner suites are brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles colindjones, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask how wide your room is going to be.”
 of 5 bubbles barbaracP6574AX, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the highest floor possible for the best views!”
 of 5 bubbles az93, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a high floor to avoid street noise”
 of 5 bubbles Maryls57, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay