We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gaslamp Plaza Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 484: English reviews
Reno, NV
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Be careful when making your reservation that you don't end up in a studio. It's a tiny room with just enough space for a full bed, bedside table, straight-backed chair, and chest of drawers. There is not space for luggage or a second person. The other types of rooms might merit a better review. The room is a bizarre combination... More 

Helpful?
Thank DripHoney
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry you didn't enjoy the unit you reserved. It is correct that the studio is a small unit. This is a good alternative for the price conscientious traveler. Please reserve our mini suite or one bedroom suite and you will receive a large room with bedroom area and sitting room area in the mini suite and... More 

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have stayed here many times..some better than others... but not because the staff did not do their best for us. I had a great room this time... inside/back.. away from the noise of 5th & E. Although, since Croce's moved, the area seems much quiter. Housekeeping does a remarkable job..including providing washable bed covers... instead of those awful hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank KarenD333
Glasgow
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

First things first. On arrival, this hotel is stunning. The entrance is great and the rooms are amazing. Check in was good, all down to the very professional Merry. She is very scripted. Loved the city feel to the rooms, and the views were spectacular. I loved the way we could be upstairs on the terrace with a bottle of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ElCartoharvetta
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read your review of your recent stay here and wanted to take the opportunity to respond. Upon reserving the room you were informed about the rate for Saturday night which was well in comparison with the rest of the hotels in downtown San Diego and we also quoted you the rate for the following... More 

San Jacinto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We recently booked a weekend here again, because about a year or so we enjoyed our stay at their one-bedroom suite. But, instead of booking the one-bedroom, we went for the "studio"...and what a terrible mistake. Yes, it is cheaper but the "suite" is TINY. I've stayed in small rooms across Europe, and I do not mind small spaces, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank VRaygoza
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your most recent visit to us .As you stated you had stayed with us before in a one bedroom suite, and at that time given us a full 5 rating. This last time you reserved the smallest unit for your stay and you were not satisfied with this unit.... More 

Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Looking for a week in San Diego and this came up on rci. Great location, close to shopping food and entertainment. Did not have a car so proximity to transportation important. Hotel is well kept and odour free. Does not have a pool or gym but that was fine. Roof top continental breakfast every morning with bagels on Wednesday and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I booked Gaslamp Plaza as the 2nd night of a get away for my wife and I. After parking truck with valot we were checked in by a delightful woman who started a great get away. We checked into room an found it to be on the average but delightful size. We were on the tenth floor and had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank gottcoke
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We found the place online and it met our two major criteria inexpensive and good reviews, so we booked it. It really was a great little find. The hotel was charming, for the price of a room in most places we got a suite which was newly renovated while maintaining some of the buildings original character. Speaking of charm, Merry... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnMuthaphukinMoses
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We found this hotel by chance, we had booked in to a different hotel and it was terrible, so we took to the streets and found this gem of a hotel. The room was great, very clean and comfy. The location is spot on, the views from the roof terrace are amazing. Would recommend for couples. Great hotel wound definitely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites twice now in the last six months as we visited San Diego for Navy related events for our son. We enjoyed it so much the first time, we knew exactly where we would stay on our second trip. It is so much fun to be right in the middle... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank k r
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review

Dear guest, We do love our repeat guests. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We do value any and all input our guests might have. We hope to see you back soon again. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and i found the desk staff to be a mine of information about s.d., the breakfast was ok, and plentiful, but limited, the views from the rooftop restaurant over s.d. were great, got a real handle on the place before setting out each day. The biggest let down about this hotel, for me, was the room we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank colintheshaker

409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (205)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Other (132)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#82 of 283 in San Diego
1,269 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 283 in San Diego
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Horton Grand Hotel
#53 of 283 in San Diego
720 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#116 of 283 in San Diego
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Address: 520 E St., San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $137 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gaslamp Plaza Suites staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Lexington, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Arizona
over a year ago
2 months ago
California

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Gaslamp Plaza Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front facing rooms offer best views but you can also access the rooftop.”
 of 5 bubbles X4290MDpatm, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Corner suites are brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles colindjones, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask how wide your room is going to be.”
 of 5 bubbles barbaracP6574AX, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the highest floor possible for the best views!”
 of 5 bubbles az93, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a high floor to avoid street noise”
 of 5 bubbles Maryls57, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay