We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Beach Haven Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Beach Haven Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beach Haven Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great service! Great location near beach. Room had fully equipped kitchen (pots pans utensils glasses even a corkscrew!). Outside they have a pool, a BBQ, and free parking. I would highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon783
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. With our location only one block from the beach is one of the Beach Haven’s many fine features. The fully equipped kitchens are one of our many popular guest amenities. Plus as you mentioned there is a BBQ grill in the inner courtyard near the swimming pool and...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I booked a beautiful (according to the pictures) one bedroom suite for 6 nights online. Unfortunately, the suite they had for me was at the end corner of the building, which means right by the sidewalk, a few feet away from the busy/noisy Mission blvd. You open the door to your suite and you step right on the sidewalk... So...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pmga2070
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the Beach Haven Inn. The majority of our suites have been remodeled. The initial suite we reserved for you was located on Mission Blvd. It is a major street and I can appreciate you wanting to relocate further away from the street. The 2nd suite you occupied has...

Buckeye, Arizona
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We recently stayed at the Beach Haven Inn. The room was very clean but in serious need of renovation. The weather was particularly cold in San Diego a few weeks ago while we were there which was a problem, the room didn't have any heat. The hotel provided a small space heater but it didn't work well enough to warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. Thank you for the generous comments about the housekeeping staff, they work extremely diligently to make sure all guests have a clean and comfortable room upon check-in and throughout their stay. I do apologize for the primary heater not working in the room. The renovation process is an...

Calexico, California
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I had 2 rooms over the weekend for my daughter's birthday. Rooms were nice for our large group and included a kitchen which helped keep eating out to a minimum. Holly at the front desk was very helpful on the phone and ever better in person. Was there at our checkin and checkout and she was the only pleasent encounter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra f
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Beach Haven. As you mentioned in your review, Holly is truly an asset to the Beach Haven family. The rooms you reserved with 2 queen beds and a kitchen in each room can accommodate 4 adults comfortably. It is unfortunate you considered the manager rude...

Washington
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Beach Haven Inn so much that I wanted to tell Trip Advisor. My son, grandson and I stayed for one night. We did a quick online search and then made a quick phone call. The phone was answered by a very nice and helpful gal that gave us the rates and what was available and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clhop77
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

“A Thursday Evening at Beach Haven Inn” Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. We appreciate your comments regarding the helpful guest service agent that provided the information regarding the property. Two of the most popular amenities are the outdoor heated swimming pool and the hot tub. The outdoor BBQ is also frequently used by...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed there for five nights in early Jan. 2013 . I arrived late New Years Eve night and there were no issues, the staff had left a key for me. I stayed in a one bedroom with a kitchen. It was a lot larger then I thought. The Inn is extremely close to the surf at Pacific Beach along...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahoney15
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the Beach Haven Inn. The one bedroom suites are good sized and having a kitchen is a nice feature. The swimming pool and spa ~ heated year round ~ are really nice amenities and provide some relaxation after a day spent sightseeing or enjoying the beach just a block away. There are many...

Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Just spent a week there..older but updated and had a great deal for $92 a night..a 1 bedroom with a comfy 4 poster bed and kitchen with dining area The pool was warm and hot tub nice. Place was well located. Clean and spotless. The staff were great, and we will stay there again and again. it may be older...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherry O
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our property and the nice experience you had. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you come back. Our housekeeping staff pride themselves on maintaining a high level of cleanliness for our guests. All the Staff at Beach Haven Inn...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed 3 nights, our suite had a basic kitchen with stove, refrig, microwave, table, and a few basic pots and pans and utensils. A nice sitting area with a comfortable couch and a separate bedroom and bath. This is clearly an older establishment that has been updated recently. Easy access to the beach, to all the shops, restaurants, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLK1957
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Beach Haven Inn. The one bedroom suites are popular and having three rooms which comprises of a separate bedroom, living room and kitchen make it comfortable for a family. We hope to see you again in the near future. Bill Nelson General Manager

Missoula, Montana
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed 3 nights, off-season, and was impressed with all aspects of this hotel. Meticulously cleaned, quiet, helpful staff, free parking, convenient location. The kitchen was well-equipped, and the dining area made it feel much more like an apartment than a hotel room. Our family enjoyed breakfast each morning (saving a lot of money and time). My kids swam in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth K
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the nice comments you made about the property. A kitchen is a nice feature that is appreciated by many of our guests who like to make their own meals or should they prefer, there are many places to dine within walking distance. The Beach Haven prides itself on being a family friendly property only a...

Surprise, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Our family has stayed here on several occasions and have loved it! It is a small hotel with a pool and hot tub that we usually have all to ourselves!! NIce newly remodeled rooms and suites are so cozy and clean! A short walk to SO many shops, restaurants, bars and of course the BEACH! Parking on premises makes for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your return to San Diego. The pool and spa are amenities offered here at the Beach Haven Inn. Other Benefits are the location to the beach, nearby restaurants and fully equipped family suites. Thank you for Choosing Beach Haven Inn and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely,...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#234 of 278 in San Diego
167 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#149 of 278 in San Diego
305 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#222 of 278 in San Diego
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 278 in San Diego
978 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#104 of 278 in San Diego
615 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific View Inn
Pacific View Inn
#177 of 278 in San Diego
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Haven Inn is located in Pacific Beach just 1 block from the breathtaking Pacific Ocean. It is an ideal location for those who want to center their stay around the sun, surf, and water sports that surround our Pacific Beach hotel.We offer affordable double queen and studio rooms, plus one bedroom suites. The studios and suites in our hotel in Pacific Beach have fully equipped kitchens and are perfect for families. Our pool and spa are conveniently located in our center courtyard and our barbecue area offers an outdoor charcoal grill. Take advantage of our free high speed internet in our lobby while you enjoy the comforts of beach living. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beach Haven Inn

Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2598
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Price Range: $126 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beach Haven Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Beach Haven Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book upstairs unless you sleep really well.”
 of 5 bubbles BoulderArtmom, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No elevator for upstairs rooms but probably best if you don't want to hear above you.”
 of 5 bubbles dannechad, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The suite had a little kitchen, not sure about the other rooms. The suite is right next to the office.”
 of 5 bubbles jenns809, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“107 has walk in shower, close to HC parking, and is away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles cindydavid4, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Suite with dining area and pull out couch is the way to go.”
 of 5 bubbles lynsier2015, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay