We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The matress was not up to good standard. It felt like sleeping in a big trench on one side. The breakfast had no variety. Only rolls and cerial. No fruit or waffles. Not even toast

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 856annetts
howardjohnsonsdsu, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Sorry that your visit with us left so much to be desired. Thank you for your feedback on breakfast. Please know that we are soon introducing a new menu for breakfast which will include fresh fruits, juices, various types of coffee and milk and some bakery items as well. We hope you on your next visit to the area, you'll...

Orange County, California
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trainmeister
NITIN M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Surprise, Arizona
Reviewed 26 May 2016

They were having problems with their computer and I was charged twice for the booking. This left me with no money for my vacation. I didn't get my money back until 3 days after I was home. My vacation was ruined.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TKM5362
howardjohnsonsdsu, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

We truly understand and apologize for your inconvenience. We were having an issue with our system which led to this. Please know that we have already reached out to our technical support and we have also coached our front desk team to ensure this does not happen again. Once again, please accept our apologies, we sincerely hope you will give...

Arnold
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
NITIN M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Rio de Janeiro-Brazil
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Very close to San Diego State University, with restaurants nearby and a good level of comfort for the price. I had a long layover between flights and it was worth renting a car to drive 13 miles to this Hotel, where I could rest, have a meal and later enjoy some of the San Diego attractions, like Zoo (10mi), Balboa...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank puhma
NITIN M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

We're happy your stay with us was pleasant from location to amenities. Our convenient location puts guests right in the area they want to be, and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed that benefit! We're looking forward to your next stay with us!

San Diego
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

The check in process was a complete nightmare ... I had booked my hotel on expedia.com which was fabulous in the whole process this isn't about Expedia this is about the front desk and management and I called them the night before I was arriving to hotel and spoke to the front desk agent stating I wanted to confirm my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
NITIN M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Anthony, thank you for your review and sharing your concerns here. We're disappointed to hear that your stay with us wasn't great because of miscommunication and confusion from our end. This does not happen usually, and we will follow up with our team to make changes to ensure this does not happen again. We aim to provide quality, top notch...

Ventura, California
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Disappointed because of glowing previous reviews. We stayed for one night using three rooms. Had to switch one room because unfinished repairs in the bathroom and cleaning supplies were left behind. In another room, the bathroom sink water faucet wasn't working correctly. Biggest complaint is we were told deposit was not $100.00 but $150.00! after having booked on line and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccowpau
NITIN M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry about the confusion about the deposit. We will look into this further to ensure there is clarity about deposit. Once again, please accept our apologies for the confusion, we hope this won't dissuade you from being our guest in the future. We'd love to have you stay with us again.

mexico city
Reviewed 26 April 2016

good stay for 5 days. everything you'd want from a hotel. I hope the prices don't go up again because then i'll have to stay elsewhere.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
NITIN M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

It's great to hear from a returning guest! We are really glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. It's good to hear that our amenities and great value will keep us on your radar for your next visit. We hope to see you soon again. Thanks, Rick S.

Moonachie, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I had such an amazing stay! Hotel room was clean! Hotel staff was very helpful and polite durning check in and check out was a breeze!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B2329XVantonioc
NITIN M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your stellar review! From friendly, attentive service to clean and comfortable rooms it sounds like we were the perfect fit for your hotel needs. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the team. We hope to see you soon again. Thanks!

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenmH3141KG
NITIN M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
2.7 km away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
13.7 km away
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#101 of 278 in San Diego
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
21.0 km away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
15.2 km away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly Remodeled Rooms with Flat Screen LED TV.Walking distance to SDSU (San Diego State University), a block away from major shopping center and restaurants & bars. Very easy access to I-8 highway and very convenient location. 24 hour front desk, free Continental Breakfast & Wifi in all rooms and a large swimming pool and guest laundry facility available. Free Bus and Truck Parking also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Address: 6440 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92115
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $75 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Trophy Club, Texas
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the second floor in the front area quiet loved that the restroom was by itself not close to the beds”
 of 5 bubbles supernanamary53, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No options”
 of 5 bubbles Flyer000, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“there should be a plunger available at the office for guest who have a clogged toilet”
 of 5 bubbles robmR6289QG, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles RebeccaSmithFL, 4 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Book well in advance of your trip and you should be able to obtain a good room. Rooms at back are a distance from the road, making for a quiet stay.”
 of 5 bubbles pavitts, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5