The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel

The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (55)
The Guild Hotel, San Diego, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Videos (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#101 of 260 hotels in San Diego
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Guild Hotel, San Diego, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel is the merger of iconic heritage and modern design. The century-old historic landmark YMCA building in downtown San Diego, California mingles ornate archways and original tile-work with contemporary art and inspiring amenities. Every detail is thoughtfully curated for an authentic urban experience—right in the heart of San Diego’s downtown revival. The Guild Bar offer artisan modern Mediterranean cuisine, craft cocktail mixology and an inciting ambiance. The up-beat, family-like team members create a uniquely invigorating experience. The Historic Gaslamp Quarter, craft breweries, stadiums, theaters, galleries, and music venues are are located close by. Our hotel boasts 15,937 square feet of indoor/outdoor space, including two about 6,000 sf ballrooms, private garden, and modern boardroom. No matter the occasion, we can craft a memorable experience. Every detail is cultivated to inspire, recharge, and delight.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Bicycle tours
Patio
Walking tours
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Salon
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, Latvian and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

500 W Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3506
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
San Diego Intl Airport
Rodriguez Airport
26.8 km
See all flights
Santa Fe Depot
3 min
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles224 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Guild Hotel, a Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel, garners applause for its elegant and chic atmosphere, with live entertainment adding to its vibrant charm. Guests appreciate the welcoming service provided by attentive staff, as well as the prime location within easy reach of local attractions. While opinions on value are divided due to extra fees and parking costs, the amenities, including the praised bar and unique decor, often compensate. Room experiences vary, with accolades for style and cleanliness, but some guests miss in-room conveniences like fridges and coffee makers.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Chic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Clean
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Limited

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
224Reviews3Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 149
  • 22
  • 22
  • 11
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kelangst wrote a review Feb 2020
San Jose, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at The Guild several times now for business travel and I am happy to come back again and again. The service is impeccable. I really feel taken care of by the staff in this hotel with them handling even the small details.

The design of the Hotel is quirky and appreciated and sticks with the theme of the Tribute Hotels well. This building was a former YMCA retrofitted to be hotel rooms and the design thoughtfully incorporates that theme without it being in your face. The color scheme and layout of the rooms is calming. The bathrooms are especially nice- walk-in showers with wide doorways and room to move is appreciated.

Be aware that some of the smaller rooms do not have wardrobes- instead you hang things on exposed bars in the room. If this bothers you then you should book the second tier room. You also need to request things like an iron or tea kettle which they bring efficiently. For those who need real quiet for sleep ask for a room overlooking the back of the hotel or courtyard (unless there is a large party happening over the weekend).

The workout facility is nice for this size of hotel.

The food is very good with nice choices for lunch and dinner. My only complaint is if you have restricted meal requirements the selection at breakfast is a little too small. Some simple bites to go with the swanky menu would be appreciated for those who travel frequently.

The hotel is easy walking distance around much of the downtown and to the ocean. Great for business travelers with easy access to meetings and to highways for getting around town. Also great access to public transportation.

Overall highly recommend the hotel especially if you want a high level of service and if you appreciate a boutique feel to your hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from theguildhotel, Manager at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Hello kelangst and thank you for the review and feedback! We look forward to continuing to welcome you back when your travels bring you down to San Diego. We will continue to pride ourselves on our service and ensure you have an amazing experience each time you visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
worldlee2 wrote a review Feb 2021
San Francisco, CA
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This property is beautifully done - great retro design elements in a historic building, but an overall modern feel to common areas and rooms alike. I booked an Apprentice room but was upgraded to a Journeyman room, which I found to be plenty. The bathroom is modern (the window is right next to the toilet and could benefit from some frosting!) and I loved the motion sensors to turn off the lights. The outdoor space is great but the (understandably) limited pandemic dining options compromise its utility.

Location-wise, this hotel is right downtown and close to the trolley and the water. There's plenty of metered street parking around too. Would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Toms Juhnevics, Guest Services / Front Office at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded Feb 21, 2021
Dear Worldlee2, Thank you so much for sharing the wonderful comments about your stay with us here at The Guild Hotel San Diego. It was a delight to host you and I'm thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I'm extremely glad to hear that you noticed the attention to detail that our design team approached the renovation of this beautiful building with. It truly radiates historic character, even though everything in the hotel is new and uniquely modern. I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Guild soon and please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly if there is anything that I can assist you with. Once again, I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I also recognize these are unusual times and thank you for choosing to stay with us. All the best, Toms Juhnevics Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Jeanine Rogers wrote a review Apr 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As a new mom, traveling while pumping can be a task to say the least. The first person i encountered was not the friendliest or most accommodating; suggesting i go to a local retailer to sanitize my bottles or change hotels. As a new mom, and one that great feeds, our know that you have to pump in the middle of the night. So, suggesting that was outlandish and lacked all empathy! Eventually i got a microwave and a fridge in my room dispose more conversations had than necessary.

The other day i came in from a long days work, my bottles fell in the garage, i broke my dishwashing liquid, and i needed to pump, and i had milk i needed to add to my already large cooler. I was in pain! As soon as i walked in Lacey could see my frustration and tears and immediately sprung into action. Getting the elevator for me, and even going to the local 7-11 to buy me dish soap so i can wash my bottles. She even gave me an ice cold bottle of water, as breast feeding moms are thirsty little moms! But that’s not even the best part... she saw my tears and allowed me to just TALK! She listened to me! She saw me! She allowed me to be vulnerable! She helped me sort through my stress and provided great assurance in “you’re doing a great job”! In those moments working on the road and away from my baby for the week, i needed to hear every word! I need someone to just hear and see me. As a woman of color that works in an industry dominated by white men, that can be really hard to come by. I can’t thank her enough for allowing me the space to just BE! Thank you Lacey!!! Next time I’m in SD, I’m only checking in on days you work.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Toms Juhnevics, Guest Services / Front Office at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded Apr 6, 2021
Dear Ms. Rogers, Thank you so much for taking the time to share the wonderful feedback about your recent stay at the Guild Hotel, San Diego, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you and I deeply appreciate you for choosing to stay with us. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback and I am thrilled to see that you for the most part enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely try and care to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible and it means the world to us to read the kind compliments. Thank you! Special thank you for shouting out Lacy. She truly is wonderful and we are so fortunate to have her on the team. We will make sure to recognize and celebrate her for a job well done. Once again, I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I also recognize these are unusual times and thank you for choosing to stay with us. All the best, Toms Juhnevics Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Expedition537375 wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Was charged for valet parking and we didn't even drive to the hotel! We rode the train. Called well after the stay thinking it must have just been a simple mistake and would be fixed in due time. The manager said he would remove the fee and that it should show at the max five days after. Still shows on credit card almost two weeks after our stay for a valet charge. Called again... the counter says that the fee is still listed as a charge and that now hell remove it. So what happened the first time when I spoke with Oscar about the error? We will see if they keep their word this time.
Also, asked to be directed to where we could get coffee in the morning (which is complimentary to hotel guests) and instead was seated and brought coffee from the restaurant at a fee. What?!
The staff at this hotel have bad attitudes and dont know what's going on at their own place of employment. They're all young and lack experience in hotel customer service.

Our hotel room (already very minimal amenities) had no shampoo but instead two conditioners. YAY! that's helpful.
When asked of recommendations to eat dinner within walking distance... the woman at the counter said "I only know gas lamp area if you want a fun time"?

They couldn't find our reservation for our stay as well.

How can a brand new hotel survive with poor customer service? the answer is they won't! Run dont walk away from this place. A pretty exterior and hip lobby aren't enough of a sell.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: run from this hotel. they are too cool for school and lie about billing charges.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from theguildhotel, Manager at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Hello Expedition537375, We sincerely apologize for the poor experience and thank you for your detailed feedback. We would love the opportunity to discuss your feedback in further detail and come to a resolution for the incorrect charges you described above. Please call the hotel directly and request to speak to the Director of Operations, Kevin. We look forward to speaking with you and restoring your faith in our property. Sincerely, The Guild Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiffany Nagy wrote a review Sep 2022
Morristown, New Jersey
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had recently planned a trip traveling throughout the cost of southern California. Our first stop was in San Diego and we stayed here at the Guild Hotel. Prior to arriving, we really appreciate the communication of where to park and what to expect when we got there. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful and check-in was super simple. We got a room immediately even though our plane got in early. We were able to unload our bags quickly. When we got to the room, we were quite surprised how small our room was. Luckily we were only staying for two nights, but since we had a long trip ahead of us, we had some luggage and there was very little room for our luggage, and we kept tripping over our bags. There was not even a closet in our room, there was a wire rack that leaned on the wall with some hangers on it (almost like a blanket ladder). We loved all of the amenities that were added with the $75 destination fee, although those amenities were not readily available in the room, You had to request it to be brought up.

The first night that we were there, although we loved the shower (the water pressure was great), the showers leak everywhere in the bathroom and we had to then use all of our towels to clean up. When we called down to request new towels that night, new towels were not brought up. We called again the next day and they finally came up expeditiously.

Included in the $75 destination fee is a $25 food credit. You can either use the food credit at dinner or the next day at breakfast. We did not have any dinners at the hotel. We did go to breakfast each morning and the girls at the bar are very sweet and helpful. There is a decent amount of options for breakfast. Numerous milk choices if you do not want dairy. We also loved sitting in the courtyard every morning. You're out of the sun (and we appreciated it in the heatwave that we attended). And it was really peaceful just sitting outside enjoying the breakfast. Also a huge shoutout to the bellhops in the lobby. I don't think I was allowed to open a single door while I was there.

We really did love the location of the Guild. We could easily get on the Number 7 bus to get to the Zoo. You are also blocks away from the harbor and there are tons of shops, restaurants, and activities. Everybody that we met who worked at the Guild was really nice and helpful, we just wish that our room was a bit bigger.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan Gerber, General Manager at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded Feb 16, 2024
Good Day 361tiffanya, We hope you and yours are well in Morristown, New Jersey. We hope you enjoyed your tour of Southern California. Thank you for choosing to include The Guild Hotel in your travels. Thank you as well for sharing your experience with our team. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the $25 food and beverage credit as part of your daily $25 Destination Amenity Fee. The fee has recently increased to $35 and now includes a food and beverage credit of $35. It was truly a pleasure to host you. Should your travels bring you back to the San Diego area, please come see us again. Thank you, Jonathan Gerber General Manager The Guild Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1khearty wrote a review Jan 2020
Boulder, Colorado
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Welcome to The Guild Hotel
We chose this hotel for the location, as a bonus! if we wanted to explore further out, there are Lyft Scooters near by which enabled us to leave our car and not have to find additional parking. Using your Lyft app, you can quickly explore & see the sights. Speaking of parking, the Valet service is wonderful. It is pricy ($50/day) HOWEVER... you can come and go. You txt them when you're ready for your car and they bring it around for you. There is a nearby lot which is less expensive, but you pay every time you leave and return. During a full weekend, that could get expensive.
Okay the 411 about the hotel.
The front desk staff couldn't be more welcoming.
The wait staff at happy hour/dining were awesome & had wonderful recommendations.
And the room attendants were very skilled.
The property is a historic property which I love, and the interior has been completely updated beyond expectations.
The Happy Hour was wonderful, the dining was equally amazing and our nights sleep was uninterrupted. What more can you ask for???
We unfortunately needed to leave early due to a very last ming work commitment, but we will be back. Counting the days...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor with a lovely city view. The Sun just shines through!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from theguildhotel, Manager at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Wow khearty, thanks for the amazing and detailed review! It seems like you had an amazing stay with us and we are so happy we were able to be a part of your overall experience in San Diego! We’ve passed along your kind words to our staff, and we can’t wait to see you again in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georgina B wrote a review Jun 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s hard to describe in few words our impressions while we stayed there last weekend. I don’t understand if it’s a Californian service style or a bad manager . For the rate we paid, I was expecting a great experience., but it was the opposite :
front desk personnel bad attitude
There is not a formal restaurante if you want a proper meal. The “breakfast service ” is terrible cups of fruit in plastic containers, pastries in paper bags ,disposable coffee cups for coffee and only one poor girl managing it by herself.
Rooms are very basic, with no closets and most of the amenities only by request, like. water .
Housekeeping service always late, they came twice into our rooms without even knocking at the door.
Valet parking, very poor service per a 56usd a night for guests staying at the hotel.
The list goes on and on and one …..

Not a good experience at all
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan Gerber, General Manager at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded Feb 26, 2024
Good Day V1654GJgeorginab, We are very sorry to hear we failed to provide you with the level of service you deserve during your time here at The Guild Hotel. Regardless of the price paid, reason for travel, or membership status, all our guests should expect exceptional service at every touchpoint. It simply sounds as though our team failed to execute our service standards during your time with us. We are truly sorry and hope you will give us another chance in the future. It would be our pleasure to host you again and show you the level of service for which our team has come to be known for. We hope you will come see us again soon. Thank you, Jonathan Gerber General Manager The Guild Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mukundan D wrote a review Jun 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family (including my 18 month old child) were due to check in on Friday (6/11). We had requested an early check in, knowing it wasn't guaranteed but asked to call in the morning to verify if it was possible. When we called at 1.30pm the manager said no rooms would be available until 4. I explained that the only reason we had booked was for our child to be able to get a place for an afternoon nap, and asked if they can even provide makeshift accommodation until our room was available - to which the manager said he "couldn't justify helping us". I then requested that they at least called as soon as a room was available so that I didn't have to take a child to the hotel only to cause more stress due to having to wait. Even past 4.15pm the hotel did not call, and when I called they put me summarily on a long hold. After having waited for another 30 minutes, we decided to give up and drive back home. Needless to say, they hotel surely charged me for the night; and when I reached out to Marriott, the same manager who botched up the call back (Toms Juhvenics) replied rudely again saying the room was ready before 4pm. If it was indeed ready, why did they not call to accommodate a request from a customer simply asking to get better information so that the checkin process is simpler. The hotel seemed unable to manage the flow of guests. I would stay well away.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan Gerber, General Manager at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded Apr 3, 2024
Good Day Mukundan D, Thank you so much for choosing The Guild Hotel and for sharing your experience with our team. We know traveling, at the best of times, can be challenging, and it can be even more challenging when traveling with a little one. We are very sorry to hear our team could not accommodate your request for an early arrival and failed to properly communicate when your room was ready. We understand how important proper planning is to travel and how these actions could have affected your overall experience. Furthermore, we are very sorry to hear our team did not show a genuine sense of urgency and empathy when addressing your concerns. Should your travels bring you back to the area, we would love for the opportunity to show you the amazing service you deserve and for which our team has come to be know. We hope to see you soon. Thank you, Jonathan Gerber General Manager The Guild Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jorge C wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Guild Hotel is where you want to stay at! Their service and commitment to hospitality exceeds all expectations. Before I get to that let me tell you what my girlfriend and I first got which was with the Work anywhere stay pass and we choose the Artisan room that had this high ceilings so it felt really open and refreshing.
Going into this hotel we were worn out and stressed because we had a tremendous amount of work to do and our power was caught off because of intense Santa Ana winds (Thanks SDG&E..). So we weren't in the best of moods, until we went to check in where Toms was checking us in. Toms greeted us very humbly and approached any of our questions with the upmost attention and eagerness to answer them. Enough that my girlfriend had to ask for his name. Later on there was a slight problem in our room so I approached Toms about it, and it seemed like he assembled a small task force with some fancy gadgets to handle this slight issue in a matter of minutes, to say we were impressed is an understatement. I could go on and on about how amazing the hospitality was but just take my word that they are amazing at it and its absolutely the best we have ever experienced.
Location wise this spot is a gem! Its literally in the smack middle of all the place downtown SD is known for. Whether its Little Italy, Gaslamp, Seaport village, or Qualcomm stadium they are all within a 5-10 min reach. We only went to Little Italy but this is the place you want to stay at if you want to explore downtown SD.
We loved this place so much that when our power went out the second time (Thanks again SDG&E..) we instantly choose the Guild Hotel because this hotel provided that comfort and reliability that we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Toms Juhnevics, Guest Services / Front Office at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded Dec 24, 2020
Dear JorgecY8632DO, WOW, thank you so much for sharing the wonderful review about your stay with us here at The Guild Hotel San Diego!! We sincerely try and care to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible and it means the world to us to read the kind compliments. Thank you! It was an honest pleasure to meet you and your girlfriend and I sincerely enjoyed our conversations. Thank you for sharing the tips about wine. :) I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Guild once again and if there is ever anything I can assist you with, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly, All the best and Happy Holiday! Toms Juhnevics Front Office Manager The Guild Hotel San Diego
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harold E wrote a review Apr 2021
San Diego, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Will not stay here again. This review is based on in in room experience only. I have not used or experienced anything else on the hotel property. Unable to get peaceful sleep. Only stayed for one night but it was enough for me to say I will never stay here again. The room that was chosen for me was poorly located. I stayed in the society room 10. It was too close to the walkways and you hear the hallway music through the door. I had to call them to turn it down. They did turn it down but then it was turn on again at 0700. Every time someone in the rooms above would take a shower, you could clearly hear it. Sounded like rain on a metal roof. The room advertised “windows, soundproof” but I heard every big truck passing by on the street. I expected a lot from this hotel but this one definitely disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Toms Juhnevics, Guest Services / Front Office at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded Apr 30, 2021
Dear helevado4, Thank you so much for taking the time to share the honest feedback about your stay at the Guild Hotel, San Diego, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations for a peaceful and refreshing experience with us. I am so sorry for the lack of transparency and failure to proactively situate you in a room away from any potential noise concerns. I can understand your frustrations all this caused and sincerely apologize. We will use your feedback to learn and grow better. Once again, I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I also recognize these are unusual times and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Sincerely, Toms Juhnevics Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
G P wrote a tip Jun 20
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bother with a car unless you really need it. You can Uber or walk everywhere you want to go"
Read full review
Bella P wrote a tip Jun 20
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is some stairs to navigate but valet will help you"
Read full review
Kim R wrote a tip Jun 19
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no room service."
Read full review
Alejandro Policarpo wrote a tip Apr 2024
Ontario, California1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is not free and there is no room service. "
Read full review
Sandi K wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Grace Ballroom is very versatile and although it worked great for a video shoot it is also an amazing event space with character."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Diego area.
PRICE RANGE
C$345 - C$582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
162
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Santa Fe Depot (0.2 km), The Lion's Share (0.5 km), and Spreckels Theater (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karl Strauss Brewing Company, The Lion's Share, and Beach Hut Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Turkish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (4.9 km), The Homecoming Statue (0.6 km), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (0.9 km).
All San Diego HotelsSan Diego Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San DiegoHotels near The Guild Hotel, A Marriott Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars