We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pacifica Hotel

Hostelworld.comUS$65*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 11: English reviews
Start your review of Pacifica Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Cheap, really good located, it's not extremely clean, could be a little better, shared bathrooms kinda clean, not something to be concerned... The rooms are a little warm, but they have a fan in the room, which is good. You dot have a refrigerator so you shouldn't bring any food. But they offer a microwave on the third floor I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomas B
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Staying here has been one of my worst hotel experiences. First of all, upon arriving, the manager, an old lady who only speaks basic English, tried to squeeze more money out of me: although it says $45/night (+tax) on their website for a single room, she said I need to pay $55/night + tax (the price of a double), and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LongTalker
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hostel (really, that is what it is) is located in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter - you couldn't ask for a better location. There are 3 pubs across the street and 1 beside the hostel, not to mention many, many restaurants within 3 blocks. The Convention Center trolley station is about a 5 minute walk from this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdnburlesque
Melbourne
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Would give the hotel 3 and a half rating if i could. Hotel is in a great location close by to public transport and many places to eat at and socialize. Room was pretty small and the bed was really small making it hard to sleep sometimes which is probably my only major complaint and no elevators so you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cuzzie6
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay for the basics. I had the single room with bath - it was clean, inexpensive for the area, and in a great location (which is right in the middle of the historic Gaslamp District). There are no "extras" but it was well worth it (for example no mini fridge or microwave), but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lkt7779
Urbana, Illinois
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I knew when I made the reservations that I shouldn't expect a mint on my pillow, but I wasn't expecting to find bed bugs on my pillow either. I woke up with bed bug bites all over my face and body; two weeks later, I'm still waiting for the scabs to go away. I had to throw out my suitcase...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AYone
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My wife and I traveled to San Diego twice last year and stayed at the Pacifica both times. We loved it. It's close to the beach, walking distance to La Jolla shopping & restaurants, but most of all because the staff was fantastic. Very kind, accommodating and not 'fake' friendly, but 'real' friendly. The hotel bar has live piano player...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arnie F
San Francisco
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This place is crawling with bugs in every corridor! We stayed here during Comic-Con and couldn't sleep thanks to half of the crap in our room. There is no A/C in this place, so you'll be sweating like hell all night as well. Even if there was A/C I doubt the slumlord owner would turn it on. The wifi seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Michael C
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 June 2012

You get what you pay for. Nothing special, cheap and affordable. Small private room with bathroom but very clean. Friendly staff. Good location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucyan
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewed 25 August 2011

it´s the worst place EVER! .. we didn´t sleep there... when we arrived we got a terrible smell... the rooms are so dirty and smells like public restroom... i´m seriously you will find that everything i say it´s true, if you put a foot in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JocelynSoler
SanDiegoHotelman, Manager at Pacifica Hotel, responded to this review

We have several reviews on other sites (------- and -------) that are very complimentary about our hotel. We offer clean and secure accommodations for budget conscious travelers. This reviewer called and e-mailed us several times and reserved 2 rooms (without a deposit). As far as we know, this reviewer did not even visit the hotel, much less stay with us....

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hostel on 3rd
Hostel on 3rd
#17 of 63 in San Diego
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Pacifica Hotel

Address: 551 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6979
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Price Range: $88 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pacifica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pacifica Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for top floor as you can hear everything anyone does above you if you're second floor.”
cdnburlesque, 16 Oct 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Hostelworld.com
US$65* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates