We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Aqua Mar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Aqua Mar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Aqua Mar
 Click to rate
Northport
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent sleep, excellent location on a main highway. Very good value for price, adequate accommodation for travelling through area. Check in procedure was very professional, and we where given a very warm welcome. Will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndar263
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very bright and clean. Bed comfortable and staff very helpful. My time there was short but enjoyable. I would visit there again and would also recommend to friends. Price was a factor for me and this was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonessg49
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback! At Hotel Aqua Mar, we strive to make sure our guests have clean, comfortable accommodations and helpful service. It's great to know we met your expectations. We're glad we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay that was within your budget as well. Your recommendation is a high compliment to us and...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location. A juice bar, bank and dinning was accessible at walking distance. Took a walk by the boat. Amazing time and wonderful weather. Everything was 15 min away driving distance like downtown, airport and the beaches like La Jolla, Tory pines and sunset cliff. I would definitely recommend my staying here to anyone and friends. Great staff and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauris9
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Dear Lauris, We are very happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient during your visit to San Diego. It sounds as though you really enjoyed your vacation and we are glad that we were allowed to be a part of it! Our staff is top notch and we appreciate that you would take the time to...

San Bernardino, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a very small hotel, but very cozy and tasteful. I was not disappointed. Customer service was great, Lina was very helpful. The only downside is the parking. I would much rather stay here than much of the other motels/hotels down the street!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelachristi
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Aqua Mar. We are aware that there are many accommodation choices in the area and are happy to hear that you were so pleased with our level of service and comfort. We will be certain to pass your compliments on to Lina. We are sorry to hear that...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed overnight because my flight was delayed and it wasn't noisy, looked very modern, and the desk manager was thorough that night and helpful. They had complementary shower soap and shampoo. Also had complementary earplugs and the wifi worked great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

We're pleased to know you had a bit of an unplanned overnight at the Hotel Aqua Mar and it was a fantastic experience. Receiving a good night's sleep is certainly important, and we're happy you didn't have too much noise bothering you. All of our team members are at your service, and we're glad you noticed, thank you for the...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location to the airport, friendly staff and very affordable. Easy access to Starbuck and Denny's. Great for one person on a business trip with flights originating from the San Diego International Airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 301cls
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. It's great to know our convenient airport location and great rates met your needs for business travel. Please don't hesitate to call us directly at Hotel Aqua Mar if there was any aspect of your stay that we could have improved upon. We're glad you found having easy access to...

Schaumburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very quick stay while on a road trip. Beds and pillows were very comfortable, the place was very quiet, and the location was good. Picked this particular hotel due to its non-smoking policy, and because it had a really nice breakfast included which was great for my teen son. Luxury? No. But a decent, clean, and reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurel A
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Dear Laurel, It's wonderful to know you were able to get the quiet, peaceful rest you were seeking during your recent visit to our accommodations. Thank you for choosing Hotel Aqua Mar to meet your lodging needs. Our location is great as it offers the convenience of being near various eateries and entertainment in San Diego. Should your travels bring...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bed and bathroom hotel with the essentials for staying in the night. It does not have a breakfast service and you may have to carry heavy luggage through stairs to a second floor. We were well received by the reception desk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel-ALm
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Dear Gabriel, We thank you for your recent feedback about your stay with us. It's great to know that we provided you with all the essentials you expected. We're sorry for any inconvenience caused by carrying heavy luggage. Our staff is always eager to assist you with this when notified. Although we don't offer breakfast, we're nonetheless pleased to hear...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed for one night and it was great. simple and sleek. The hotel was modern and clean and the stqaff was friendly as well. The rooms were small but not to the point of discomfort. The bathrroms were also very clean and updated beautifully.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, We welcome your kind comments, thank you! We're so delighted to hear you were impressed with our design, this means a lot to us. Our friendly staff is always happy to meet new guests and take good care of them. We're glad this is what you experienced. Our rooms are boutique style and meant as a retreat from...

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wanted an inexpensive, clean hotel close to airport for early flight next day. Hotel Aqua Mar is the ticket - economical and great value. Updated rooms a bit smallish but just needed a place to sleep/shower. Buzz Coffee across street and 5 min Uber ride to SD airport....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Texirican
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

On behalf of the staff at Hotel Aqua Mar let us thank you. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our convenient distance to the airport is one of the many benefits we try to provide our guests. It's good to hear you liked your boutique style room. We hope our economical, great value will bring you back...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.4 km away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.6 km away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#182 of 279 in San Diego
133 reviews
0.2 km away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#140 of 279 in San Diego
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#110 of 279 in San Diego
725 reviews
0.1 km away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Aqua Mar is a modern boutique hotel, that brings the aquatic, beachy atmosphere of San Diego alive in a hip, fresh way. We invite on-the-go travelers who want to be near the San Diego International Airport, as well as couples and families who want to experience San Diego to the fullest as we are located near all of the major attractions such as Sea World, the Zoo, and of course the famous beaches. It is our promise to provide clean, comfortable, and stylish accommodations during your stays in our lovely city. Our number one goal is to ensure that your visit to San Diego exceeds your expectations, therefore, we extend complimentary Wireless Internet and parking to all of our guests. Book your reservation now... Hotel Aqua Mar awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua Mar

Address: 1510 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106-2241 (Formerly Sun Harbor Motel)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $132 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aqua Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aqua Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Harbor Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Aqua Mar staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Aqua Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great for the sleek business or simple traveler”
elizabethfP3942BP, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Why stay at a place like this?”
garcalli, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Toilet paper holder needs to be moved or a different type because the toilet paper kept falling off and rolling behind the toilet. Room needs a blow dryer.maybe a hook on the back of the door for wet towels. Room was clean, great tv and internet service.”
mckbarneson, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I got room 102 which is on the south side (it's a handicapped access room so there is a bit of more room in the bathroom).”
  • Groovy lamp (and queen size bed).
  • The shower in room 102.
  • Room corner (with new modern furniture).
505oscarf, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“One of the towels in our room had dirt marks/streaks on it. I don't know if it was put there by accident but it made my husband not want to use their other towels. ”
cindeejaan, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5