We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Aqua Mar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Aqua Mar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Aqua Mar
 Click to rate
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wanted an inexpensive, clean hotel close to airport for early flight next day. Hotel Aqua Mar is the ticket - economical and great value. Updated rooms a bit smallish but just needed a place to sleep/shower. Buzz Coffee across street and 5 min Uber ride to SD airport....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Texirican
York, Maine
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms are small but have everything that you need. Bed is comfortable. Refrigerator and microwave are helpful. Artwork and unique lighting fixture makes the room neat. Nice flooring. Overall a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chriss1410
Manor
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved our suite! Loved, loved, loved the hot tub!!!! Though we did not have a microwave and really would have liked to had one! My husband was a lil up set they did not have a gym. Lol but he lived! We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdinwiddie79
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

It delights us to know you loved your suite at the Hotel Aqua Mar! It's nice to have a hot tub so that you can relax and we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed yours. We'll take your suggestion for a microwave in the suite under consideration, though some of our rooms already offer this amenity. At this time we do...

Bartow, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

I like the location. The staff is super nice and accommodating. Rooms could be cleaner especially the bathroom floor and bedding. The breakfast was good but there was no meat on the buffet. (sausage, ham or bacon) The lower level back entrance is old looking, dirty and little scary for females that are alone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cfraser63
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your review. We appreciate your compliments to our friendly staff and convenient location. However, we do not offer breakfast at our hotel. There is complimentary hot coffee available in the lobby. Should you be in San Diego, we hope you consider staying with us as we know we can provide you with...

Beverly Hills, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice rooms to stay in for one night or a Suite was beautiful too. Finishes looked nice and updated. Only thing missing was a guest happy hour from 5-7 serving food, snacks, drinks, etc. Nice hotel for the price and in a good area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoLynna45
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Dear JoLynna, Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your positive review. We are happy to know that you found your accommodations to be comfortable and beautiful. Thank you for also noticing the effort we have put into creating a clean updated look. Though we currently do not offer restaurant services, our friendly staff is available...

San Diego
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location clean and quiet, maybe put some water in the room is always helpful. Good coffee just cross the street and many restaurants. The staff is polite and kind. They refunded the security deposit right away do not need worry about as much other hotels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 920heidyr
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Here at Hotel Aqua Mar we love hearing from our guests. Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts with us and for choosing our accommodations. We appreciate your suggestion in regards to the water bottles and will definitely take this into account. We understand how much of a hassle getting your deposit can be sometimes so it's good to know...

Baldwin Park
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was nice for a weekend getaway. We just stayed the night and customer service was excellent. Pillows could have been softer but that's more of a personal preference. Other than that it was clean, nice, and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethgL4697YQ
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Elizabeth, Here at Hotel Aqua Mar, we hope to make each and every guest feel welcome. We are happy to hear our excellent service was a part of your wonderful stay. Next time you are in the area, we hope you keep us in mind to deliver another pleasant weekend getaway. Be sure to request different pillows if you do...

Hanford, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are a bit small but clean. The room I was in was good for one person. Nice staff and good location. It was near a couple coffee places and walking distance to fast food and sit down restaurants as well as a grocery store.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dphawk
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive review from your recent stay. We are truly pleased to know that our staff made you feel welcomed and comfortable during your stay. We are also happy that we were able to provide easy access to convenient dining and shopping during your stay. Thank you again for taking a few moments to leave your...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check-in was simple, the room was nice and stylish for its size and location. It was a comfortable and convenient stay. Cleanliness was good, in general better than other hotel/motels of its kind based on my experience. but not as high standard, otherwise I would add a star to the rating. I would recommend to others who would like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jvilla2414
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

From start to finish, our aim is to deliver an easy and comfortable stay. We are glad you were checked-in promptly and welcomed into a comfortable, clean room. We greatly appreciate your recommendation of our property and we hope to welcome you back during your next visit to the area. Thank you for sharing!

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Hotel located on corner of busy intersection made for extremely loud street noise well past 2 am. The room (2 queen beds) was VERY small, but the beds were comfortable. There was NO TELEPHONE in the room which seemed strange, so you have to go to the office for any questions or concerns.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielk20172017
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us. Our central location in San Diego is one of the many reasons travelers are attracted to our hotel. We are sorry that this feature was the cause of loud street noise. We do provide Serenity Amenity Earplugs for all our guests to assist in getting that restful...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.6 km away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#187 of 279 in San Diego
130 reviews
0.3 km away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.2 km away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#143 of 279 in San Diego
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.2 km away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 279 in San Diego
948 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#106 of 279 in San Diego
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Aqua Mar is a modern boutique hotel, that brings the aquatic, beachy atmosphere of San Diego alive in a hip, fresh way. We invite on-the-go travelers who want to be near the San Diego International Airport, as well as couples and families who want to experience San Diego to the fullest as we are located near all of the major attractions such as Sea World, the Zoo, and of course the famous beaches. It is our promise to provide clean, comfortable, and stylish accommodations during your stays in our lovely city. Our number one goal is to ensure that your visit to San Diego exceeds your expectations, therefore, we extend complimentary Wireless Internet and parking to all of our guests. Book your reservation now... Hotel Aqua Mar awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua Mar

Address: 1510 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106-2241 (Formerly Sun Harbor Motel)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $116 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aqua Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aqua Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Harbor Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Aqua Mar staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Aqua Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Why stay at a place like this?”
 of 5 bubbles garcalli, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Toilet paper holder needs to be moved or a different type because the toilet paper kept falling off and rolling behind the toilet. Room needs a blow dryer.maybe a hook on the back of the door for wet towels. Room was clean, great tv and internet service.”
 of 5 bubbles mckbarneson, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I got room 102 which is on the south side (it's a handicapped access room so there is a bit of more room in the bathroom).”
  • Groovy lamp (and queen size bed).
  • The shower in room 102.
  • Room corner (with new modern furniture).
 of 5 bubbles 505oscarf, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“One of the towels in our room had dirt marks/streaks on it. I don't know if it was put there by accident but it made my husband not want to use their other towels. ”
 of 5 bubbles cindeejaan, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Phones would be nice. ”
 of 5 bubbles robertsanchez75, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5