We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ocean Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

722 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 693: English reviews
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

I'm baffled by the many four star reviews. I stayed over Memorial Day weekend, so I didn't get the "reasonable prices" other reviewers are referencing. This place is all LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION and nothing else. The manager was nice enough and granted me a late check out, but other than that-- this hotel is very dumpy, everything worn and moldy.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank shannon c
Genoa D, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We are very sorry that you didn't have the best possible experience at our hotel. We have recently purchased all new furnishings and continue to improve the property. Although prices can seem high we pride ourselves on staying competitive and more often than not less expensive than any hotel near the beach in San Diego. Thank you for... More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

I love Ocean Beach Hotel my boyfriend and I always stay there. We have a great room every time we go over looking the pier and Ocean. Can't wait to go back there..It has wonderful places to eat and walking Newport Ave is wonderful great shops and walking the pier. We just got back from there..

Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
Genoa D, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is obvious you love our authentic beach town as much as we do. We hope to continue to exceed your expectations with every visit. More 

Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Noisy street with lots of partying, very small room, no amenities and we didn't feel safe. Our experience did not match the website. Will not return to this hotel. Positives include: easy access to attractions, beaches and long running paths.

Helpful?
1 Thank kpedrosa
Genoa D, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your experience was than optimal. Unfortunately, we are in the heart of all the action in Ocean Beach so it can be loud on the streets during busy weekends. The positive side is that you can walk to all the restaurants, bars, shops and the beach as they are all within a 1... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here, it is an older hotel, but they work hard to keep it in good shape. We loved the courtyard area and spent a lot of time there, you have a great view of the beach. There are a ton of great shops, bars, and restaurants nearby. The courtyard area was a bit noisy the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
Genoa D, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We promise to continue our efforts in making The Ocean Beach Hotel the very best experience it can be. Happy Travels and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2016

My husband and I spent a week in Ocean Beach to attend a San Diego wedding. The hotel was perfect, and in a great location. You are steps away from the beach, and any type of restaurant you could hope for. We got the Ocean View room with the little patio. I was disappointed that the patio did not have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen K
Genoa D, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureen, Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to know what we can improve upon. I will begin looking into some type of privacy screen to place between the shared balcony areas. As for the walls, we have heard the term "paper thin" a few times. Amazingly they are actually 6 inch plaster walls and we had... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

I think all I need to say is mold and stains on the sheets. Oh and it smelled like toilet cleaner in the rooms. This is not a hotel for a honeymoon! They have a beautiful courtyard but the rooms were so disgusting we didn't stay a single night. It took a month to get a hold of the front... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Travis N
Genoa D, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Travis, I am so sorry to hear that your experience was so poor. This is not indicative of the way we run our establishment. We have a wonderful cleaning crew that has been with us for many years and we rarely here anything except how well they do their job. If something of this nature ever happens again, assuming... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Our room had an amazing view! Our balcony had a clear view of the ocean and pier. The sound of the ocean filled the room and was very peaceful at night. The room is a little on the small side but was plenty of space for a couple. Everything was very clean and in good working order. The rooms do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley N
Genoa D, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Ironically, we are in the process of adding shelving to the bathrooms for addition toiletries. The bathrooms are small, but we will continue to listen to our guests and find ways to make them comfortable regardless of the rooms size limitations. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2016

My husband and I stayed in one of the cheapest rooms, queen bed over looking the courtyard. Before I start ranting, let me rave first because even though looks are basic, this is an amazing location for the price. You are across the street from the beach, a short walk from the pier, restaurants, shops, yoga studios and dog beach.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rai R
Genoa D, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It sounds like you unfortunately were in one of the very few rooms that we have not been able to remodel the bathroom yet. Rest assured we promise all the bathrooms will be completed before the end of the year. In addition, we will be adding more shelving for toiletries,etc. I am surprised that you... More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2016

People who need a lot from their hotel or motel should not stay here. It's a very basic motel, with an exceptional location (and nice courtyard). But if you want to be able to walk to the beach, restaurants and bars and get a good night's sleep, all on a budget, this is perfect for you. Bonus: parking, surf shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank eekmoo
Genoa D, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We will continue to improve the property and do our best to exceed your expectations. More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Across the street from Ocean beach and the pier. Clean but dated. You are paying for the location and may have to remind yourself that with all the noise and lack of space and amenities. Nice balcony with a table and chairs so you can watch the waves and the people. A south side room gets the sunset view (at... More 

Helpful?
Thank RichR71
Genoa D, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will continue to improve our hotel and hopefully your experiences at The Ocean Beach Hotel. More 

503 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (350)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (116)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Double Room (40)
Viewed
Single Room with Ocean View (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#164 of 283 in San Diego
307 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#124 of 283 in San Diego
343 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#36 of 283 in San Diego
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surfer Beach Hotel
#103 of 283 in San Diego
614 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 283 in San Diego
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $174 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want ocean view then you need to be in one of the rooms away from the lobby.”
  • Tiny bathroom , poorly repaired sink area.
  • Cracked and filthy shower cubicle
  • Paint falling off the walls.
  • The
 of 5 bubbles Bertybign, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ask for upper level”
 of 5 bubbles mawasfy, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try for a room with a balcony on the south side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles kathyandjimf, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is on Newport ave. is a fun place to check out. There's restaurants and shopping. If you love BBQ try the restaurant there.”
 of 5 bubbles AliciaRT, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“When requesting a room remember no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles ShishTucson, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay