We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

684 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 652: English reviews
Los Angeles
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The Gaslamp District is not for everyone however interesting turnaround for those who remember it in the old days. Trendy and packed with restaurants and clubs, the crowds can be a bit overwhelming. The Keating in right in the heard of the activity. The building with an interesting history has been transformed into trendy boutique hotel. The furnishings are very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bonmec
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and generous comments about our terrific staff. We agree that we have a team of excellent people who love what they do and it shows! We will be sure to share your comments with them. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the furnishings as it helps us to know what is important to guests and...

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Right in the heart of Gaslamp. Room had a European feel. I didn't know how to use the expresso machine, lack of bed side lamps was odd. The checkin staff were super friendly, and knowledgeable. They offer rooms w two twin beds.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tealdawn
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and kind words about our hotel. We will share your comments about our staff with them. They take pride in providing guests with a lovely stay and your comments let them know they are doing things right! Like you, many of our guests really enjoy our great location in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp...

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We were in SD for a wine pairing dinner and decided to try the Keating. Based on the reviews here and their website, we had pretty high expectations for a fun and unusual hotel. We weren't disappointed. Very interesting non-traditional hotel room, very attentive staff and great location. This ain't your typical chain hotel room!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt E
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Many thanks from The Keating for the 5 star review! We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your special event and delighted to hear that we met your high expectations. We love your comment that we are fun and unusual ~ we agree! We work hard to provide a unique and enjoyable hotel experience for our...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

I'm very confused about how this place has received more than a 1 star rating? Maybe college kids are staying here and are too drunk to notice that it's a total DUMP? There's too many things that went wrong during our stay, so here's a list: - the most egregious is the bed linens, which were stained from previous use,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Katie: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is always our goal to wow our guests in both their expectations and overall experience, and you receiving anything less than that is unacceptable. Please know that our manager's promptness in issuing you a refund was not out of routine as you...

Glendale
Reviewed 15 October 2016

There is no parking but hotel will charge $40/day to park in garage nearby. Tall beautiful girl at counter has an attitude. I mentioned that I was not aware of the additional parking expense and would have stayed somewhere else. Her comment was that I must not be from a big city (which is not true). She's from the big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertaS8866BM
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Roberta: Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Keating. Please accept my sincere apologies that you did not receive the service levels you deserved! Our team has a passion for hospitality and love having the opportunity to interact with people from all over the world. Being in the heart of downtown, our location is (as...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Place was great. Local. Convenient. Walking distance all over the gas lamp. Great staff. Made us feel like a down town boutique hotel in San Francisco, but with the beach, bay and San Diego weather to keep us comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donaldmartin665
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Donald, Many thanks from all of us at The Keating Hotel for the wonderful review! We are delighted that you liked our unique decor, as well as our convenient location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter. Congratulations on your Anniversary; we appreciate your kind words and hope your travels bring you back soon!

Oceanside
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Horrid customer service. was promised early check in. at 1 instead of 4 Room was not ready til after 4:30. We got 6 rooms and not one was ready until after 4!! We were told several times that it would just be a few more minutes... Got so disgusted with that we left and didn't return until 1am. Never got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R752GUmiked
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Mike: We appreciate your party taking the time to speak with our Lifestyle Manager during your stay and allowing us the opportunity to address your concerns directly. While monetary compensation can never rectify a lost opportunity to wow our guests, we appreciate your acceptance for our offer to credit all resort fees and all valet charges associated with your six...

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 14 October 2016

There were sink issues- one did not have hot water. One did not drain. When it was repaired one sink had hot and cold water, but the other one only one faucet worked. There were no bath soaps in the shower containers either day, and did not work properly after they were filled. We did not have any towels the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertfJ86HX
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Robert - thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Keating. We absolutely understand that different travelers have difference preferences in their travel accommodations - and that our look is anything but ordinary! Our hotel has a very modern European design meant to be unique to traveler's previous hotel experiences. The exposed shower to the room...

Holly Hill, Florida, United States
Reviewed 14 October 2016

If you want to be in the center of the Gas Lamp district in a place with unique design and architecture, this is the place!! The rooms are big, the updated design interesting, and the folks that staff the place great. Lots to do around the hotel within walking distance. Easy access to major highways to get to other places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Donna, The entire team at The Keating Hotel thank you for your 5 Star review! You recognized our unique decor and architecture, different form the cookie-cutter chain hotels. In addition, we are happy that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter Thanks for the shout-out for our dedicated team; we will pass on your...

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I was very with all the amenities in our room like the sound system & espresso machine. I really loved the high ceilings and all the mirrors inside of our room. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stacy562
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Stacy, The entire team at the The Keating Hotel are thrilled that we were able to offer you a stay worth coming back to. Thanks for recognizing the special amenities we offer, and most of all the hard work of our dedicated team; they will love to hear your comments. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope to see...

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (238)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Chic Loft Suite (57)
Viewed
Imperiale Suite (42)
Viewed
Stanza Vista (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
The Macallan Suite (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#72 of 278 in San Diego
1,410 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 278 in San Diego
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $181 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Decatur, Georgia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beautiful views from the top Left Corner room”
 of 5 bubbles 358lexieg, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Face the street for views of the action, but noise to match...”
  • Corner room - great size!
 of 5 bubbles RSebastianxy, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The corner rooms are cool”
 of 5 bubbles bonmec, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great location in the gaslamp...may not be for the travellers looking for a quiet place as it can be rowdy on the streets with partygoers on the weekend”
 of 5 bubbles N9547DOroberts, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Take ear plugs if you plan on staying there for a weekend.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay