We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Expedia.comUS$330*
View Deal
#58 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,050: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
 Click to rate
Alberta
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although the nightly rate is ridiculously high the hotel is very nice. It is clean & well situated in downtown. About 3-4 blocks from the water. About 2 blocks from the train station. They have a shuttle for the airport, cruise port & train station. They also helped me out with some transportation in the downtown due to an injured...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alberta52
Brawley, California
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room had a Bay view. The hotel is quiet, even though construction was going on down the street & next to the hotel. It's easy to find, parking is $18 a night. Room was clean, beds were great, very comfortable. Hotel staff were friendly & helpful. There is no elevator from the parking garage to the hotel so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7Road_Trips7
About Hotel's Favourite Review
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. We are glad you enjoyed the Bay View from your room and found the hotel to be quiet and clean. We do recommend unloading on our first level of our garage in the registration area for convenience and are thankful for your feedback! We look forward to...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The lobby was nice but as soon as we got off the elevator to go to our room the entire hallway smelled of cigarette smoke. Our room smelled worse. The bathroom was clean except for the tub which had someone else's leftover hair in it. I'm sure there are better hotels than this one. Save your money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
bridgeman downs
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights on a family holiday. Rooms are dating but clean and average size. Had a room with a view to the water. About a 15 minute walk to USS Midway. There s parking available at a cost. Not close to any of the attractions. Some of the staff were very unhelpful with information on the area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamBridgemanDowns
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed in this place. We booked a room on booking.com at the same time as our friends who were also going. We got an absolutely disgusting smoking room that looked like it was in a motel. (Why are there smoking rooms anymore?!?!) Okay, fine. This place sucks... I guess it is what it is. THEN, we go up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie S
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience while staying with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn. Please accept our apologies for any miscommunication in regards to your preferred room type as Booking.com does display in the name if it is a smoking room and they are the same price as other Non-Bay View rooms. We designate 1 of...

Yuma, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were invited to san diego last minute. After searching online hotel were selling fast so, this is where we stayed. Price was a little more than I liked but cheaper than what was left in the area. Hotel was very clean and staff very helpful. Location is great, we walked everywhere star of india, midway, little italy sign. Restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William B
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn! We are thankful you chose to stay with us over alternative options in downtown and are glad you found our hotel and your room to be clean and comfortable. Thank you for sharing about our helpful staff and parking... we hope you had a...

Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is probably the nicest Best Western hotel I've stayed in. It has a secluded pool and hot tub, both of adequate size, decent buffet style breakfast, and is very clean. Room was decent (average), comfortable, and we had no complaints. A solid, budget-oriented choice of hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianMWatson
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at BW PLUS Bayside Inn for your cruise and for your kind words in regards to being the nicest Best Western! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be clean and comfortable.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Three of us shared a room with 2 x queen beds. We had a great view down to the water and enjoyed the lovely sunsets. Room had all the usual amenities and we found it to be comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was included and served next door - we didn't find this to be a hassle at all. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 255100Sunlover
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel I love my Best Western brand but this hotel is not the show case.. the ladies at the front desk towards the evening upon my arrival where yawning made no eye contact. I would have been a walk walk-in but I was so concerned about this presentation that I had to call an uber...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alpha M
Fresno, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I selected this hotel because its location, it is very close to the airport and they provide free shuttle as well. It is right in downtown so there are many activities within few miles. The accomodations are excellent, service was very good as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gab0Mx
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at BW PLUS Bayside Inn and sharing your experience. We are glad the location was convenient for you and thank you for your kind words about our accommodations and staff.

628 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (378)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (122)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Business Plus King Room with Bay View (48)
Viewed
King Room with Twin Sofa Bed (Handicap Accesible) (40)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Two Queen Bay View Room (39)
Viewed
Standard Two Queen Room with City View (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#75 of 279 in San Diego
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 279 in San Diego
877 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Price Range: $206 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Plus Bayside Inn staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
27 days ago
Melbourne, Australia
Auburn, California
1 month ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus Bayside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Does not allow pets...so look elsewhere if you bring your furbaby.”
7Road_Trips7, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Downtown view”
Gab0Mx, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Take a room at an upper floor with view on the dock”
Piotr_Otaki, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just dumb luck, we got a room on the highest floor facing the bay. So I guess just ask. But we did not.”
J-W, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for bay view although a new building that is going up will result in part of the view disappearing”
WarwickshireTopcat, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$330* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$330
Hotwire.comUS$330
BestWestern.comUS$330
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates