Handlery Hotel San Diego

Traveller (241)
Newly Renovated King Room
Room & Suite (103)
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
No prepayment needed
C$191
Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
Get rewarded with One Key
C$191
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#136 of 263 hotels in San Diego
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Overlooking the lush, rolling fairways of the Riverwalk Golf Club in San Diego's Hotel Circle, the Handlery merges contemporary comfort with relaxing, resort-style ambiance. As a family owned hotel, we create tailor-made experiences for our guests by offering 217 comfortable, beautifully appointed rooms and suites, a friendly atmosphere and gracious, personalized service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles1,530 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Handlery Hotel San Diego, while noted for its clean and spacious rooms, receives mixed reviews regarding noise and the need for updates. Guests appreciate the amenities, especially the well-maintained pool area and the convenience of in-room fridges and coffee makers. The hotel's cleanliness is frequently lauded, with particular praise for the tidy pool and jacuzzi. Opinions on location vary, with some valuing freeway proximity and others desiring more ambiance. The staff's friendliness stands out, though some service speed issues are noted. The atmosphere strikes a balance between cozy and dated, giving off a nostalgic 1950's charm. Guests are divided on the hotel's value, balancing room quality and parking fees with overall cost concerns.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Nostalgic
Rooms
Dated
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,530Review53Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 508
  • 447
  • 323
  • 152
  • 100
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
popeyed19 wrote a review Feb 2020
Boston, Massachusetts3 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference down the road. I was a little hesitant after reading some of the other reviews but was happy with the hotel. The staff at the front desk, housekeeping, bar/restaurant, and shuttle driver were all very friendly and extremely helpful throughout the stay. The pool and hot tub area were very nice, clean, and relaxing.

My room was good sized and clean. Housekeeping did a great job, and the room was cleaned early in the day which I appreciated during breaks from the conference in the afternoon.

The restaurant and bar area was clean and had a good menu for drinks and food. The waitstaff and bartenders were very friendly.

The free shuttle service to certain areas of the city was very convenient, and the pick-up time was right on schedule. The driver was friendly and gave us some great information about where to go in San Diego.

Overall, this was a nice, clean property, and all the employees I encountered were very friendly and accommodating. If I had to give it one negative, it is that in the building I was in, which was one of the off buildings from the main area, the walls were very thin. I could hear the person next to me coughing, but that isn't anything that the hotel can do anything about since those buildings were a little older. The hotel is in a very convenient area to get to any area of San Diego quickly. It was about a 10-minute drive to the zoo, downtown, and beach It is about a 5-minute drive to Old Town, and about 15 minutes to the airport.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in a convenient location in San Diego.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 928kirks, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Dear popeyed19; Thanks so much for the nice comments about your stay and the staff! We do appreciate and value your feedback and I was pleased to know that you will come back! Thanks for choosing the Handlery Hotel for your stay and we look forward to your return!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eddie S wrote a review May 2021
Pomona, California1 contribution4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It is an older hotel, and the time of this review is when we are just now seeing light at the end of the COVID tunnel, so we have to keep this in perspective.
With that in mind, this hotel is clean but it is old. When we first got here my 1st impression is that it reminded me of a Vegas hotel of the 60s. Kinda what I imagine going to the Flamingo or the Sands would have been in their heyday.
The room was pleasant, clean and comfortable. We had a "premier" room, which means we had a small balcony overlooking the parking lot and the 63 freeway. The room must have been well sealed because freeway noise was not an issue. Typical of most hotels, the shower water pressure was nothing to write home about. They installed those showerheads that squeeze the water through tiny holes to make it feel like high pressure, but it ain't!
The pool area looked OK but we didn't get in because there were enough people in already so social distancing dictated...
The lobby was somewhat forlorn because all the little shops and restaurants were closed. I would recommend lighting up the place so that it isn't so dark. Kinda depressing.
But Handlery did offer the best pricing in the area, so there's that.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Great value for the price
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Joni K wrote a review Aug 2022
Jerome, Idaho275 contributions108 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The convention price was very good and included breakfast, which was at convenient times with good food and good service. I have only a few negatives: For 635 registered convention attendees, only one restaurant/bar for lunch or dinner was dismally inadequate. The A/C in the room didn't seem to be all that forceful but was adequate; however, the vent vanes in the bathroom were absolutely filthy. Despite the presence of security, several of the same homeless people were seen at the same benches during the day. The "Munchies" room had no munchies at all the first two days of the stay although it did have two small microwaves.
Pool area was quite appealing and pool towels and furnishings were ample.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Second floor rooms have no overhead noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MNUSDK wrote a review Aug 2022
Europe1,975 contribution55 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 4 nights here at the handlery. We asked for a price at front desk upon arrival, and they suggested to book it online because the price would be much lower. Good service ! They give out free pancakes for kids at breakfast with purchase of 1 adult breakfast. Parking is 10$ a night but most hotels charge for that in SD. The pool area is large, clean and well kept. The hallways are a bit dated and dark, but rooms fulfilled our needs, the beds are comfy, clean and the room quiet. The hotel it self is placed close to downtown, beach and shopping centers. We would stay here again for sure. Thanks from Family Nielsen.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
william h wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Started out as an average hotel stay, room was just fine. Later that night we realized the A/C didn’t really work (fan came on but no cold air). About 3am comes around and we wake up to the worst smell possible. Guess what it’s raw sewage backed up into the shower! We informed the front desk and all they said was “yea we think someone flushed a washcloth” offered us another room for 1 hour to take showers. Lol well if my room has this happening and your already aware of it I’m sure the other rooms also have this issue. Nothing else was offered or apportion givin. Cool thing we all get to small literally poop (look at the picture) while trying to sleep, no showers, no brushing teeth pretty sad for a hotel close to down town San Diego.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lena C wrote a review Feb 2020
San Diego, California6 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This review is for the meeting facilities and not an overnight stay. This place needs a major renovation. There were no hotel guests hanging around and was a ghost town.

I came here for a two day Excel Training class with Pryor. The location is not the best, we only get an hour break and there are no restaurants close enough to walk to. If you leave the hotel parking lot you have to pay again! They do that so you have to eat at their horrible & over priced little restaurant with limited menu. Yesterday, I had a veggie wrap that had spinach, iceberg lettuce, red peppers, cucumbers and balsamic vinaigrette in a spinach tortilla with fries. I’m vegan so I had to leave out the cheese. It left much to be desired and cost $11. The only other item I could have eaten was a house salad for $8 that had lettuce, shredded carrots and tomatoes! The second day, I skipped lunch and sat by the pool. The pool area is pretty clean and nice.

I definitely filled out the survey with Pryor and hopefully they will consider not having any more sessions here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 928kirks, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear earliercat; Thanks for sharing your comments about your stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal or selections we offered. Rest assured, I will share your feedback with our Executive Chef and Restaurant manager to review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caspartje wrote a review Feb 2023
Nijmegen233 contributions85 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Handlery is located in the Hotel Circle area of San Diego. It has a motel look and feel but is actually great value for money. It has a heated pool, very comfortable beds and is superclean. It may not look as modern as other motels in this area, but has virtually the same on offer for a much lower rate. Only downside is that the Hotel Circle area is not very attractive. It has a lot of hotels but no restaurants, bars or even a convenience store like 7 Eleven. Also the Handlery does not offer lunch, which means that at lunchtime you’re on your own (getting crisps from the vending machine is the only option really). Breakfast service may be a bit chaotic at times but the food on offer is good. Bar prices are reasonable but the bar closes early, on some days even at 9PM. So it’s back to your room then. The Fashion Valley mall and trolley station are a 15 min walk away. I did not try the restaurant for dinner. Wifi is fast and reliable, rooms have a bath with shower, flatscreen tv and AC of course. Even though it’s along the highway there is no noise drom the traffic coming in. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Milodog73 wrote a review Jul 2023
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom181 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re English/Euro, a lot of hotels, especially out of town of motels from films. This is that place but a fraction better. You need to be aware of USA to understand what they like/see as hotels to those compared in Europe.
Ok, the location is off a freeway but by no means can you hear the freeway. The place has more parking than your average supermarket $18 a day.
There is a pool and a simple gym to use. Ice in every building and laundry self serve in a central location. Coffee and fridges/TV in each room (our room).
What we’ve learned travelling many stops from SF to here is generally breakfast is not included. It can be purchased at the hotel and is good quality and in line with local prices.
A 10 min walk to the shopping mall gets you on the trolley (tram) service and $2.50 you can travel for around 2 hours, which from here will get you almost anywhere.
There is further retails park another 10mins walk from the hotel.

It’s not central but everything by public transport is 20mins away and we found this convenient for our holiday
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Uber is about $$16 to Central areas Download ‘pronto’ for public transport (like oyster) $2.50...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travelwithemmy wrote a review Oct 2023
Greater London, United Kingdom43 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, the hotel is clean and tidy and feels safe. The staff were helpful and it is situated just a short drive from some great tourist attractions such as La Jolla Cove and San Diego Zoo. You do however need a car to get around unless you want to fork out on taxis as it’s not walkable from anything at all and is off the side of a very fast road.

The hotel itself is a bit dated but respectable. The pool area is clean with a nice pool side bar and the breakfast food was nice enough but overall the place is completely lacking in any kind of atmosphere. I’d imagine that it’s the sort of place which would be perfectly fine for a work stay or overnight pit stop, but I’m a bit disappointed that our travel agent recommended this as a suitable hotel for our holiday. The location at the side of the motorway makes it feel more like a motel than a hotel but I suppose this is reflected in the rating and price.

We also had a problem with our room in that we could hear everything in the room next door- the tv was blaring all night and it sounded like it was in our room due to very thin walls. Security did thankfully respond quickly and come to get them to turn it off.

Overall, if you’re looking for somewhere basic but respectable to stop over for a night or two, I think this hotel is perfectly fine, but due to the location and the lack of ambience, I wouldn’t recommend for a holiday. There are much nicer places in San Diego that have better views and are closer to the beaches and local amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashley wrote a review Jan 2020
Moreno Valley, California6 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went the weekend to visit San Diego with my fiance and we decided to stay at this hotel based on other reviews we read online.
We hanged out on the lobby for some drinks and there was a very nice live music set they where playing some soft jazz.
The rooms have a decent size and the beds are very comfortable overall a nice experience for a good price. Recommended !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I think all rooms are nicely around. Rooms are indoors which is very nice for this cold weather...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 928kirks, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear Ashtraveler2; Thanks for choosing the Handlery Hotel for your visit to San Diego! Thanks for the kind comments about your stay. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our Jazz performers during your stay. Thanks for your comments and we hope we will see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Caspartje
Nijmegen233 contributions85 helpful votes
Adding to this: the public stransport (especially at night) is mainly used by homeless people. I would not feel very comfertable using it when on my own.
Haricotsverts asked a question Jul 2020
Waco, Texas1 contribution1 helpful vote
What are the terms for parking? Can you go in and put as many times as you need?
Answer from Kirk S
San Diego, California5 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes. Currently the gates are open for in and our privileges.
Answer from BillJ45
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii18 contributions2 helpful votes
If you can google maps the Handlery you can see just about anything that you might want to check out. Old Town is nearby. We eat at a great Cuban/Puertorican restaurant, Andre’s, ask at the front desk. Close to the zoo and Sea World.
Answer from Kirk S
San Diego, California5 contributions3 helpful votes
Dear Rishonda; We are within walking distance (10 minutes) of Fashion Valley Mall which is around the corner from the hotel. They have several restaurants (Cheesecake Factory, PF Changs, California Pizza Kitchen,Tender Greens and more) plus they have a food court. The restaurants are open until 10-11pm and the food courts until 9pm. Those are the only places nearby that you will not need to take an Uber or Lyft. Old Town is 1.5 miles away from the hotel. We do have a bar and appetizer menu at the hotel where you can order food and drinks. The trolley does not go to Mission Beach. Yes, you can bring a stroller on the trolley. If you use our shuttle we do have a car seat available. If you have to take an Uber, Lyft or Taxi most of them do not have a car seat. Hoipe this helps!
KLLAlta wrote a tip Mar 2024
Tofield50 contributions65 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Laundry facilities were not working when I arrived. They take 9 quarters which were hard to find."
Read full review
Kora Kinkade wrote a tip Feb 2024
San Diego, California2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything, from check in to parking is easy peasy at the handlery."
Read full review
Steve M wrote a tip Dec 2023
Arroyo Grande, California2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reasonable prices for the adjoining restaurant"
Read full review
Aaron S wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy your stay it's beautiful!!!"
Read full review
Lisa M wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The onsite food is a little pricey, but absolutely delicious! Highly recommend the Premium King rooms with view of the pool."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Diego area.
PRICE RANGE
C$129 - C$257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the handlery hotel, handlery hotel san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoMission Valley / Hotel Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
217
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Handlery Hotel San Diego - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Handlery Hotel San Diego
Which popular attractions are close to Handlery Hotel San Diego?
Nearby attractions include Fashion Valley (1.1 km), AMC Fashion Valley 18 (1.0 km), and Nordstrom Fashion Valley (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Handlery Hotel San Diego?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Handlery Hotel San Diego?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Handlery Hotel San Diego?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Handlery Hotel San Diego?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Handlery Hotel San Diego?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tommy Bahama Marlin Bar & Store, True Food Kitchen, and The Waffle Spot.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Handlery Hotel San Diego?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Handlery Hotel San Diego?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Handlery Hotel San Diego?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Handlery Hotel San Diego offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Handlery Hotel San Diego?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All San Diego HotelsSan Diego Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San DiegoHotels near Handlery Hotel San Diego
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars