We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Expedia.comUS$139*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Katy, Texas
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Besides the fact that everything you happen to need in this hotel (from a snack to the mandatory valley parking) is a rip off, the hotel may be a good option due to its location and room comfort. It makes it pretty easy for you to go to several of the city highlights if you plan on exploring it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank engped
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown! I am pleased that you found our location and room comfort ideal for your needs. Due to the downtown location of the hotel we only offer Valet parking at a competitive rate of $32 per night. We hope you choose to stay at...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We left early because this place was so bad. We ordered something from room service, tipped the delivery guy very well, asked him to get a chocolate milk and he came back almost an hour later with a warm chocolate milk. We asked him about it and he got snippy. Called down to room service, he denied being tipped. Asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Julie L., Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. I would like to apologize for the service issues you encountered during your stay. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations and am very disappointed that we fell short of this during your stay. I would like to further discuss your experience so I can address this accordingly with...

Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with family when in town for a wedding over holiday weekend. The price was better than other downtown hotels so thought we would try it out, since usually stay at Starwood hotels. The location was was good in that it was only a few vlocks from Little Italy, which has great places to eat and felt quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4pinkpineapple
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

4pinkpineapple, Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review! I am happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay while in San Diego over the holiday weekend. We hope to see you again during a future visit to San Diego! Sincerely, Sonam C.

Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We arrived early and were allowed an early check in which was appreciated. The room was clean and in good condition. All personnel provided good customer service and I would like to give special mention to Jense in the lounge. He went above and beyond to provide a special dietary request.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winnie211
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Winnie211, Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I will make sure to share your comments with my team and also give special recognition to Jenns. Thank you again for your comments! We hope to see you again during your future visit to San Diego. Sincerely,...

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Old building. Mildew on the bed. TV didn't work. Really disappointed and moving to a different hotel tonight. Stains on Walls. Probably would have been better off in a motel 6. The staff was friendly though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake M
lawgirl9171
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Great location for exploring the city. Clean rooms, although the air conditioning system needs upgrades. Javier and Ali were wonderfully nice and helpful. Very walkable area for restaurants and sites.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lawgirl9171
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Well, it's definitely a 3 star hotel. You know the saying....you can put lipstick on a pig but it's still a pig. Reminded me of this hotel. It's old and they did some upgrades, but the elevators and other aspects of the hotel showed its age. It is a convenient location with respect to the Gaslamp area (it took me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

It was our first time visiting San Diego so we wanted to do a variety of things, attractions, beach, eat. The Four points San Diego downtown was the perfect spot to be located in. The hotel staff was great and made sure they would do everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Family had a great time and we plan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Holtville, California
Reviewed 29 July 2016

new beds and furniture, huge TV in my room. very clean and close to other attractions. the price was fair but then when I arrived there is a 32.00 parking fee. no exceptions. just something to think about before booking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arcy z
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I always try to stay here during Comic-Con. I like to be away from the craziness and masses in the Gaslamp when I'm done with the con at night. The shuttle stop is just 1 1/2 blocks away or can walk (takes 20 mins), so it's very convenient. The hotel staff is always friendly & helpful. Javier & Louis are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoDown16

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (86)
Viewed
Bay View with King Bed (19)
Viewed
Bay View with Two Double Beds (12)
Viewed
City View with Two Double Beds (10)
Viewed
King Executive (19)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#76 of 279 in San Diego
578 reviews
La Pensione
#115 of 279 in San Diego
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. Our guests can enjoy an onsite restaurant and bar, free WiFi, and a complimentary airport shuttle. Our San Diego hotel has a newly renovated lobby and restaurant, and guest rooms are currently being renovated as well. To stay in a renovated room, request a lower floor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-3003
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $192 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“it is a round building. Mostly view a city view. But has 16 floors.”
toddl959, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Be careful Valet Man will Scam you and put the money in their pocket!”
jakeandsam09, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask for a view of the Bay!”
beachbunny59, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get a room on the higher floors and south side. We were on north side and could hear the traffic outside.”
jodylk, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floors so you can be away from the freeway noise.”
RioE, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$139* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$139
AMOMAUS$295
TravelocityUS$139
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates