We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 337: English reviews
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 14 December 2015

The hotel is located at a very convenient location where you can find bus/trolley stops, stores and restaurants easily. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They greeted as every time we went out of and into the hotel. The room was clean and was quiet. I had some good rest in there. But notice that if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xiaocuidiniao
David Y, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm glad we were able to meet or exceed your expectations and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us. David E. York General Manager

South Florida, Florida
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Just a very dated hotel. Only upgrade in the room was a very large tv. No redeeming value in the room itself. The service was very good as everyone was there to please. I had drinks and appetizers my first night and the bartender was just great. Very easy conversationalist. Had the meatballs and the pork tacos both $5 during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
David Y, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We take great pride in our customer service and I'm glad to read you found that to be true with your interactions with our associates. While we do have a property that historic to the downtown San Diego area we are in the midst of completing...

Petaluma, California
Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

We cashed in some of our Sheraton points at a favorable exchange (which we plan on doing before Marriott devalues our points). The hotel is maybe 3-4 blocks from downtown and 4 blocks from Little Italy, so no complaints about the location. We were upgraded to a large room on the top floor with great views. Although the property is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pfefmeister
David Y, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. You pointed out many of the unique things about our property and one of the many reasons our guests return. We look forward to you returning on your next visit to San Diego. Thank you, David E. York General Manager

Celaya, Mexico
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

First time we visit this hotel. It is very well located. The service at the front desk was very very good. The service at the bar wars not good, because when we checked in they gave us a promotion and told us what was it and when we tried to make it work at the bar the lady was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana G
David Y, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Ana, Thank you for your comments about the customer service by the Front Desk Associate; however, my apologies that our bartender didn't meet our expectation of service. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and I will use your comments as a training tool for our associates. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and I look forward...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We took a weekend trip to San Diego and this is a great location downtown. It is a 5 min walk to Little Italy, 15 min walk to Gaslamp district, and 20 min walk to Seaport Village. The hotel is nice and clean but rooms could use some updating. If you are looking for fancy and upscale then this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valencia C
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Convenient if you like to walk, which was fine for us. Courtesy pick up at the airport-much appreciated. Older facility stuck right by the highway. Lack of maintenance: shower mixer valve/diverter needed to be replaced, lighted mirror as well. Both fixed very quickly. The moldy smell however persisted as did the sewer smell in the bathroom. Bathroom has glass sliding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
nyc
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I pulled in to be told by the valet that value parking is required, at $32/day. He couldn't figure out how to open my trunk. He confessed this was his 2nd day on the job. At the check in counter, the clerk is irritated that my reservation and my credit card had different names. I am sure this is has...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank halideakin
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We stayed here two nights for a race we ran in downtown. This hotel is right next to the freeway and convenient if you need to get on and off a bunch but not for the noise and the ever present loitering of homeless around the building. Being a points member did not include perks such as a free breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blesdx4
Arizona
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We stayed 1 night at this hotel. We arrived in earlier than planned on a Friday and walked the entire downtown area, thru Little Italy to the Pier where you can see the Midway, south thru Seaport Village and back to hotel. We were able to check-in just before 3pm. Staff was excellent and helpful. We are Starwood gold members...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnninAZ
San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

The location and free airport shuttle make it a good choice, but the staff and recent upgrades are what made it great choice. The lobby had a small restaurant and well stocked conscience 'store' area. It's not only super close to the airport, but minutes from the restaurants and bars. The rooms were comfortable and clean with great views. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HotelDuderino

340 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Bay View with King Bed (36)
Viewed
Bay View with Two Double Beds (27)
Viewed
City View with Two Double Beds (22)
Viewed
King Executive (36)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#106 of 278 in San Diego
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The recently-renovated Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes away from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. We also offer a free shuttle to/from the airport ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-3003
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $148 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floors so you can be away from the freeway noise.”
 of 5 bubbles RioE, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“a high floor as it's noisy. Right by the highway and flight path”
 of 5 bubbles InkTraveller, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stay at the top floor and the view was great!”
 of 5 bubbles ggarciao2001, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The building is round so it really doesnt matter where your room is.”
 of 5 bubbles BobbieJean2010, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest higher floors with bay view as it is a great view indeed.”
  • Bay view from room
 of 5 bubbles gidonc399, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay