We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Save
Share
17065 W Bernardo Dr, San Diego, CA 92127-1457
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-29
Reserve now, pay at stay
HIExpress.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-29
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$120
US$86
View deal
SAVE US$34
PricelineUS$99
Hotels.comUS$99
StayForLongUS$120
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#185 of 295 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its golf courses and wineries.Rooms available for local tournaments: San Diego Open, NJB Tournament, PQ Premier, Triple Crown, & Hotspurs.The hotel offers many amenities for the business and vacation traveler at affordable prices. Our exclusively designed rooms and facilities include a host of functional features: convenient location, spacious and business-friendly guest rooms, free wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, complimentary business center services, full service Elephant Bar & Restaurant and Lounge, room service, hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary parking, complimentary fitness center, same day valet/laundry service, outdoor heated pool and spa, in room coffee makers, two-line phones, large work stations, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. We are the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park in the area. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Badminton
Casino and Gambling
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Golf course
Hiking
Bowling offsite
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino
217Reviews1Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 87
  • 45
  • 20
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
IslandGuy42 wrote a review Mar. 2021
Southern California74 contributions66 helpful votes
There was no info provided on the breakfast upon check in. And nothing in the room on it I called in the a.m. to ask about it. Was told its on until 10:30am (I called at 8:30 and was down there at 8:40). Well, what she didn’t tell me is that there is a 62-minute breakfast line stretching across the entire lobby of people waiting for the breakfast. That’s right, i waited a full hour. You couldn't see that the line was as long as it was when you just get in it, or I wouldn’t have waited. Also they didn’t have to have it stretch all across the lobby in the way of people coming in and out the front doors, but they obviously don’t care or they would have moved the line to the perimeter of the closed restaurant area if they did. At 9:25 a girl that was leaving after finally getting her food was telling the rest of us in line that they are out of pancakes. And when I finally got up there they weren’t taking any orders you just get what they give you, which at least included eggs and bacon and sausage. And toast. While in line (standing in front of the front desk) I heard someone checking out complaining they had no shampoo and no conditioner in their room and there was no blackout curtain on their window to block out the light. Lady at desk tried to tell him how to use it or where it was as if he just didn’t know and he clearly left agitated that she didn’t “get it”, motioning with his hand and just leaving out the front doors. Someone else came and nicely complained their coffee machine wasn’t working and that they called and no one has come up so they were down there asking if they could get coffee from the lobby area. But, no. She said she would just send someone up to the room. To be fair, all employees were very nice. And our room was very clean and everything worked (shower thingy wouldn't pull up all the way so water was much weaker than it should have been, but that's it). Also with a locked door to what would otherwise be a shared double-room, the mom was very loud next to us. We stayed at the HIE in Oceanside a few months earlier and it was an immensely better experience. Virtually no breakfast wait and practically right on the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Responded 1 week ago
Hi IslandGuy42, I am glad you left feedback. Thanks for giving us a try! e always wanted our guests to have a delightful stay, no matter what the purpose of the travel is. While I'm glad about your positive rating on our room cleanliness and staff service, I'm sorry to learn that your experience turned sour due to your disappointment with the long breakfast queue and the surrounding noise. I went ahead and shared your thoughts with the team so that necessary actions can be taken to promote improvement. We look forward to hosting you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience. Cheers, June A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Daryl H wrote a review Feb. 2020
Eugene, Oregon105 contributions12 helpful votes
Spent a long weekend at this property. Easy on and off to I-15. Rooms average for an Express. Ours was clean. Despite a large crowd it seemed arriving every evening, not really noisy at night. Breakfast ok and included in the price. Breakfast crew seemed to clean things up early so don't wait until last minute. Pool was small and just on the other side of the fence in the parking lot was the smoking crew. Not so enjoyable for a non-smoking property. Phil's BBQ next door a good place to eat. Either dine in or bring back to the room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Farther away from front office is best.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Responded Mar. 4, 2020
Hi Daryl H, That you for staying with us. We put our effort into providing an environment full of bliss and relaxation. Thank you for the great comment abut or location and service but I am sorry that you had inconvenience with the service crew of the dining hall.I have forward your comment to our management and they are going to take action to rectify the errors to better the guest's experience. We provide experiences and memories that you will never forget so come and created more with us. Best Regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
John N wrote a review Jan. 2020
Estero, Florida5 contributions
The wife and I spent a week here in a suite. Lots of storage, 2 TVs, couch (not comfortable), comfortable bed. The staff was friendly, especially the gal who managed the complimentary clean breakfast. We had a room that had a connecting door to another room, if you needed it (which we did not). The downside to that is the door permitted noise from the other room to be heard.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
HikingTom wrote a review Dec. 2019
Lima, Pennsylvania1,083 contributions201 helpful votes
Aging physical plant, furniture and just about everything else places this HIE just above a Motel 6. The layout and being squished in behind a bbq place and gas station near residential area doesnt help. Made up for by the quiet I experienced - I was in the building across from the front desk and not in that building which houses it if that makes a difference. I was in town for a meeting down the street where accommodations were pricier and sold out, so with a car this suited. It was an excellent deal - no additional charge for parking, something I discovered often in SanD area. There was also some underground parking I believe as well. The hvac worked well as I recall and filters had been cleaned. Carpet and furniture outdated but suitable since I was hardly in the room and didnt even turn on tv. Linens and towels were adequate but not 5-star so you'll save some cash if you can tolerate roughing it. The breakfast was typical for IHG properties, lots to eat and choose from. All the desk staff quite friendly, housekeepers dont speak much english. After a few days I left for a Hilton property nearby thinking I was upgrading and it wasnt, just more expensive, so save your cash. It was so quiet I could hear the toilet leak and fill from either the room next door or upstairs.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Its back far enough fro the road, on first floor I didnt hear a peep
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
okiebrit wrote a review Sep. 2019
1 contribution
I was planning on staying in this Holiday Inn Express for 6 nights and thought on arriving the hotel was pretty shabby and the elevator was filthy, but on waking up the first morning I found that there was bugs running around on the night stand I reported this to the front desk and checked out as I had no idea what kind of bugs they were or if they were in my clothes and suitcase. The person at the front desk and offered to show them a video of the bugs running around (which I still have) instead they treated this as if it was normal! I asked for a full refund but the girl at the front desk said she would have to ask the manager and after an email they gave me a $40 discount I emailed them back asking for a full refund and have contacted IHG twice but have never received a refund or a response! I have stayed at many HIE and never been so disappointed I definitely would not recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Responded Oct. 3, 2019
Hello okiebrit, Thanks for choosing to stay with us an leaving feedback. We offer brilliant basics and a little more where it matters most. I’m sorry we missed the mark this time. I am sorry to hear your disappointment with the overall upkeep of the room and the level of service received. IHG values your experience with our hotels as a valued guests. I have sent you a private message so we can gather some additional information regarding your experience. Please allow us another chance to make things right. Looking forward to hear from you soon! Cheers, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn san diego-rancho bernardo hotel san diego, san diego holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Diego
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo?
Nearby attractions include Abnormal Wine Company (0.4 km) and San Rafael Catholic Church (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Barrel Room-Vintage Wine Bar & Bistro, Carvers Steaks & Chops, and Phil's BBQ.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a heated pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heritage County Park (12.2 km).