We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Town Inn

Show Prices
#20 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Town Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,784 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Town Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,640: English reviews
Kihei, Hawaii
Reviewed 9 August 2012

What a find! This little old hotel is charming. Don't let the "old" scare you off! Our building was freshly painted, re-tiled bathroom, clean carpet, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, SOFT towels. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Hanging baskets of flowers, warm swimming pool. We liked it so much we booked a return trip before we left! Good location,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tucker329
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 7 August 2012

this is my second time staying at the Old Town Inn. We had a great time. Clean, good breakfast, clean pool, not too many people in the pool. Just my family & another. Yes, it's in a solo area, but I like that rather than being in Hotel Circle where EVERYONE stays. I love that we could walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mom2jazz
Lis D, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review, we are truly honored that you chose the Old Town Inn for your stay in San Diego for the second time! It is great to hear that you and your family had a good trip and that you enjoyed your stay. Glad to hear that the kids had fun in the pool,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel does have some positive points - the room was clean, the a/c worked efficiently, there was never any problem parking, front desk staff were friendly and helpful, but there were a few negatives too. The room was very small and we (two adults, one teenager) were tripping over each other frequently, it felt very claustrophobic. The breakfast room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LJaneUK
Southern California
Reviewed 5 August 2012

In and of itself the Old Town Inn is a great hotel. We had a good sized room with comfortable queen sized beds and free wi-fi. In addition, I really liked the hotel's aesthetics,in particular, the general garden feel. We were also pleasantly surprised with the continental breakfast especially the free waffles! Overall, we had no complaints with the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sslusser1
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I would recommend this MOTEL if you're staying for 1 or 2 nights. Any longer stays would not be comfortable in the economy rooms. The motel is in 2 blocks of buildings, so walking to the main building through the street was a chore. The location is very industrial & didn't feel like we were in San Diego at all....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travelingnome007
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review

Dear Travellinggnome107, Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn for your stay in San Diego. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the ways in which we did not meet your expectations: the noisy toilet, loud A/C unit, and the slamming doors. I’m wondering if...

Northern Sierras, California
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This was my second stay at the Old Town Inn. My father was in UCSD La Jolla for emergency surgery and all the hotels in La Jolla, Sorrento Valley, Del Mar and Kearny Mesa were full! Then I rememberd the nice stay my husband and had at the Old Town Inn last December. I called and J.D. was able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ouiser
Lis D, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We truly appreciate your kind words, and all of us here at the Old Town Inn want to express our wishes for the speedy recovery of your dad. We are very glad to hear that you are...

kjtraveler2008
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We live in Orange County and are from San Diego. We had a wedding at the Marine Base and decided to get a hotel room nearby. The front desk reception at this hotel was amazing. The people that work there are true gems, we were there early and needed to check in early in order to make the wedding. She...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kjtraveler2008
Lis D, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for reviewing your stay with us. We are honored to receive such a great review from someone as well travelled as yourself. It’s great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel, and that we were able to meet your expectations. Our AAA two star...

Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed in the small one-bed room for a business trip and a two-bed for a vacation with the family all during the same week. For the money, this place can't be beat. The rooms are tidy and functional, the continental breakfast is above average, the parking is free, the WiFi has been greatly improved since my previous stay and,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mike-in-bako
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is a wonderful place. Excellent value, good convenient location, and very clean and definitely the most comfortable bed I have found in any hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast and pool -just a great value. I highly recommend !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJFlash7
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July. I chose to stay in the cheaper option, the bungalow, to save money. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and it was more than enough room for the two of us. There was even a little walk-in closet in which I could hang our clothes and get our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rebekahm81

760 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (331)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (401)
Viewed
Accessible Deluxe Queen Room (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Queen Room (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Efficiency Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
Deluxe Efficiency Queen Room (55)
Viewed
Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite (60)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (48)
Viewed
Economy Double Room (33)
Viewed
Economy Queen Room (31)
Viewed
Pool Area (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
1,907 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 279 in San Diego
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $178 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Town Inn staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Old Town Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that is not next to a large group as walls are thin between rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles frefel, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for 2 bed queen upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles Jonathon_Jill, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Easy access to amenities, lovely room with king bed, sitting area, fridge and microwave.”
 of 5 bubbles loreleig240, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was just fine but we looked across at what looked like bungalow-type rooms and I'd love one of those next time.”
 of 5 bubbles Q9061STlisaa, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed toward the back and it was very quiet even thought right on 4 lane, major street.”
 of 5 bubbles prof1940, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5