We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Show Prices
#147 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 377: English reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I found 4 bed bugs on bed...really scary and terrible...I checked out immediately when I found them...I think this hotel needs to take this bed bug issue seriously. Also this is an old hotel and the bathroom is pretty small.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kuo-Chuan C
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review

Dear Kuo-Chuan, Thank you for investing the time to review your stay. Please accept our apologies for the areas where we fell short. Your concerns are important to us and we followed up on your comment by having our property inspected. After further inspection, we did not discover any pests or bed bugs on our property. Thank you for reviewing...

Reviewed 15 October 2016

We decided to stay here since it was close to SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. We were within a 15 minute drive to both attractions and the price was good. The location isn't in the best of neighborhoods but we never experienced a negative incident while staying here. I didn't get a fuzzy feeling when I initially arrived to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RktDogg
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review

Dear RktDogg, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, but please accept our apologies for any shortcomings that you endured. Your comments will be shared with our staff in hopes of improving our guest’s experience. Our proximity to local attractions like SeaWorld and the San Diego...

Reviewed 8 October 2016

This is a most friendly place to stay and has a near gourmet breakfast menu. We had excellent housekeeping service. Close to public transportation with a reasonable cost, especially for seniors. I would suggest exhaust fans in the shower room as we had water running down the walls after each shower.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frances S
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review

Dear Frances, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We’re so delighted to hear that your enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Our proximity to local attractions and public transportation is one of our biggest attributes and we’re glad that was of convenience for you. Your suggestions are important to us and your comments will be shared with...

Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewed 6 October 2016

As usual, Holiday Inn express did not dissapoint. This was a really good value considering it is not expensive and you get a really nice accomodation. Room was big enough for my 4 member family. You get a complimentary breakfast that is very much appreciated to start the day. The hotel could use a bit more tables though, since the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vic_Hugo_Martinez
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review

Dear Vic_Hugo_Martinez, Thank you for investing the time to review your stay with us. We are so thrilled to hear that we did not disappoint you during your visit. Our staff holds guest service in the highest regard and we’re glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. Also, thank you for highlighting our staff member that provided you...

Houston
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The hotel was dated, smelly, stained and tired. It was not what I'd usually expect given the rate, but I guess you pay a price being this close to the beaches. Front desk staff was attentive and friendly, didn't have any major issues with them or the housekeeping, they're just working with what they've got.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank towelover
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review

Dear towelover, Thank you for investing the time to review your stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of our hotel. Please accept our apologies on the areas where we fell short on your expectations. We always aim to wow our guests and we’re disappointed that we missed the mark with you. Your concerns are...

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Stayed here 5 nights while visiting daughter and doing some sightseeing. Room (2 queen bed) was comfortable and quiet even though it is close to major roads. Fine for 2 of us, might be tight with 3-4 people. Hot breakfast is the 'standard' in the HI Express chain, but was always kept stocked. Housekeeping was accommodating as we weren't always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fixer34
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review

Dear fixer34, Thank you for investing the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We’re happy to hear that our hotel suited your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to leave our guests with a memorable experience and we’re pleased to know that we accomplished that with...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 13 nights and was pleased with the standard. Ana in reception always welcomed us whenever she was on duty which was lovely and the cleaning team for our room were great. Breakfast was basic but did the job, the pool was small but ideal to cool down and you do need a car to access...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review

Dear Lesley, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We’re happy to hear that our hotel is “very pleasant” and that you enjoyed your time with us. We always aim to leave our guests with a memorable experience and we’re pleased to know that we accomplished that with you. As you mentioned,...

Reviewed 25 September 2016

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff is very attentive and super helpful. The rooms were a little small but very clean and comfortable. The housekeepers are sweet always made sure I had clean towels in my room and the complimentary water bottles. San diego is very lovely city and will definitely be back to San diego and to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review

Dear Deborah, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We’re thrilled to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to leave our guests with a memorable experience and we’re pleased to know that we accomplished that with you. Also, thank you for highlighting our staff members who...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I started my stay here with the nice welcoming receptionist here. Dont remember his name but he was kind and welcoming and responsive. The place is close to pacific beach. a nice place. The room wasn't the best. The bathroom (washing hands) was within the main room. I v seen other H Inn express and there were not like this....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheilla23
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review

Dear Sheila23, Thank you for investing the time to review your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations. We always aim to wow our guests and we’re disappointed that we missed the mark with you. Your concerns are important to us and your comments will be shared with our staff. It is reviews like...

Calgary
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The room was okay. Clean, large but a little on the old side. It was also not a great location (without a car). The staff however, were super friendly and helpful. It had a great little dipping pool - just big enough for cooling off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D L
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review

Dear D L, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to leave our guests with a memorable experience and we’re pleased to know that we accomplished that with you. Also, thank you for highlighting...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
#93 of 279 in San Diego
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Address: 4540 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $160 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn Mission Bay
Days Inn San Diego
San Diego Day Inn Mission Bay
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views mostly the hotel or the businesses around. Floors don't matter much because of the elevator.”
thindi31, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with king bed are very big. We had room number 337 - it was huge and comfortable room.”
dominika20172017, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try on getting one away from the street”
  • Comfortable beds
  • Sitting area
tepo80, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“back side because of traffic noise”
BettyL353, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Limited breakfast choices for vegetarians”
Kaashee, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5