Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor

Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor

Traveller (39)
bedspread had shoe marks on it
Room & Suite (33)
pool
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.5
#26 of 35 motels in San Diego
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor their motel of choice when visiting San Diego. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Maritime Museum of San Diego (0.9 km) and The Unconditional Surrender (1.8 km), guests of San Diego Motel 6 can easily experience some of San Diego's most well known attractions.

Motel 6 - San Diego Airport/harbor Hotel is a budget friendly motel offering a flat screen TV and air conditioning in the rooms.

Plus, guests can enjoy a pool, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting San Diego. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the French restaurants, including Currant American Brasserie, La bonne Table, and Le Parfait Paris, all of which are a short distance from Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor.

Should time allow, Little Italy and Coronado Bridge are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

At Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to San Diego.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi

Location

2353 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-1746
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 75 out of 100
75
San Diego Intl Airport
Rodriguez Airport
28.2 km
See all flights
Santa Fe Depot
17 min
215Reviews2Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 42
  • 76
  • 37
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jeremy S wrote a review Jul 2022
Yuma, AZ5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 4 nights, just got home and now reflecting on trip. 4th of July and everything is way expensive. This motel was the cheapest option. Not a terrible stay but noticed a few things I'd like to point out to other travelers. It is literally the closest hotel to the landing strip at the airport so, its very loud. Hotel is fof friendly and it seemed like more than have the occupants had dogs. Deadbolt to door wouldn't latch any longer and maid was super friendly bit constantly had mop and buckets outside our room like a staging area...day and night for 4 days. Also it seemed like some of the staff stay at the hotel or they have some long term guests...probably best to steer clear unless you are really trying to save a buck and need a pet friendly place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Responded Jul 10, 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. While we are glad that you chose to stay with us, we are disappointed to hear about your experience. We sincerely apologize for the issues related to the noise made by the planes and the thin walls that kept you from sleeping. We understand that staying in such a noisy environment can be a trying experience. You would be pleased to know that we are planning on imposing certain steps to avoid such instances in the future, and the next time, when you are here, you would be able to experience a quieter ambience. We hope you give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves and provide you with a better experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy K wrote a review Jan 2020
South Pasadena, California8 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are nice, the staff was great, there is significant noise from the over flying jet aircraft one right after the other. This might be an issue for some. A lot of them early morning, not bad at night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Responded Feb 2, 2020
Dear Guest, We are sorry for any disturbance caused to you by noise, but we hope that this, will not deter you from staying with us again - we would love to host you again very soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bryce wrote a review Feb 2024
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Lousy
This motel is right across the street from the airport runway. Any plane landing or taking off you will hear and it will shake your windows.
The clerk was not friendly at all. I asked for a room towards the rear away from the street, the clerk ignored me and put me in a front room near the busy street.
When I got up, there was no coffee in the lobby. There is no coffee maker or microwave in the room. There is also no microwave in the room. There are no decent restaurants nearby.
I will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Team, Other at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Responded Feb 26, 2024
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. We regret that the noise from the airport runway, the lack of friendly service, and the room placement did not meet your expectations. Your comments about the absence of coffee and in-room amenities are duly noted, and we will handle these concerns promptly to ensure improvements are made. We understand your decision not to stay with us again, and we appreciate your feedback. If there's anything specific you would like us to do to make amends or if you have additional suggestions, please feel free to share. We value your input and hope to have the opportunity to provide a more satisfying experience should you reconsider in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trinity H wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room it’s self was nice enough until about an hour into our stay when there where multiple cockroaches coming out from under the beds and desk. We talked to the manager, she only refunded us half the cost after we told her we were leaving. I am absolutely disgusted that a place like this is still running. This absolutely ruined our trip and will not be coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sophia Gutierrez, Owner at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Responded Nov 22, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the inconvenience faced by you. Our Team never wants our customers to have a bad experience. We have escalated this issue to our Management. They are still investigating this issue and will get back to you soon. If you have any queries regarding this issue, please call up the property for further assistance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
linda b wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the room booked for two nights (vakay for a bday). Rooms via the website look renovated. The room seemed clean upon arrival. To our dismay, roaches started to emerge. The first in the bathroom. Then on the floor between the beds. The third on the bedroom wall. We were accommodated to another room and floor but it was the same roach issue. It was unsanitary for us to stay overnight in their roach infested rooms.

I had to drive back home over 100 miles in the middle of the night and cut my vacation short. This spoiled my vacation plans as I had to ask for vakay time off work only to leave the San Diego area.

Management, you must fumigate the premises. The rooms would be adequate otherwise.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Take Raid!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Responded Apr 9, 2023
Dear Linda, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review us. While we are happy that you chose to stay with us, we are disappointed to hear about your unfortunate impression and experience with us. This is a serious issue highlighted by you, and we will take steps to ensure this does not reoccur. We will review your comments in detail and make changes wherever possible in improving ourselves to ensure a better experience for our future guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity of serving you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindsay R wrote a review Oct 2022
Torrance2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms had roaches. The bathroom shower area had a roach & a leak. There was no shampoos or conditioners. There were crumbs underneath the table. Holes & stains on the bed sheets. The staff didn't seem to care. The rooms didn't look warm & inviting. And other motel guests were too loud. Unacceptable! Not worth the money we paid. In fact I would not even stay the night there for free.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Responded Oct 5, 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review us. Your feedback makes us happy and, we are delighted to hear about your impression and experience with us. However, we appreciate you for highlighting these issues and, we will take steps to ensure such experiences do not reoccur. We apologize for failing to fulfil your expectation, and if we were made aware of this, it would have helped us provide you with a better experience. We hope to remain your hotel of choice in this area and to give you a better stay on a future visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathy wrote a review Nov 2022
San Diego, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 2 nights and the last night there were very loud people partying and screaming all night long. I did not get any sleep that night and did not get a discount on my room or a late checkout. I was very disappointed.
There was also lots of trash outside my window. I will not ever stay at this motel again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sophia Gutierrez, Owner at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Responded Nov 22, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us! We sincerely apologize for your subpar experience at our property. This is generally not what our guests experience with us and we hope you give us a chance to make it better for you. This issue has been taken up with our management and we are taking committed steps to rectify it and ensure this does not happen again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ricemn1 wrote a review Mar 2016
Nashville, Tennessee64 contributions32 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay away. Do NOT book here unless you have absolutely nowhere else to go. I screwed up and booked this and checked in. I was dressed in khakis and felt like I was the most overdressed person in a ½ mile radius. They are remodeling, but there is no way I would have stayed there. I didn't bother to try and get my money back. It was worth my lost money to feel safe. I went to another hotel and immediately felt more safe and comfortable.

They may say Little Italy is close, but you will be walking through very commercial and dicey areas. The doors did not seem secure and the windows were right at torso height and the locks were very weak. I wouldn't stay if they were paying me.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Responded Mar 30, 2016
Dear Guest, We regard safety and security as high priorities for our guests, and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe in the expectations of amenities. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonbrak1 wrote a review Aug 2007
Milwaukee, WI18 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for four nights in July 2007 and found the motel to be perfectly acceptable. The airport noise was only noticeable during the day—it was actually a bit exciting while using the pool to see the incoming planes flying so low!—the nights were perfectly silent and there wasn’t noise from other rooms.

The room was VERY plain—no artwork on the walls whatsoever, no shampoo, no ironing board/iron or blow dryer included. It was easy to check out an iron and tabletop ironing board, but tricky to use because of the room’s lack of electrical outlets. There was one in the bathroom, one behind the room’s desk, which was being used by the television and mini-refrigerator, and one oddly placed above the light switch next to the room door. For anyone traveling with a laptop, I would suggest bringing an outlet extender unless you don’t mind not using the TV or fridge. The wi-fi worked great.

The towels are thin and not terribly comfortable to use, but got the job done. There are no towels at the pool, so you might want to ask for a couple of extras for your room if you plan to go swimming.

The pool isn’t huge, but does go to eight feet deep and was a very comfortable temperature. There are some large palm trees nearby that drop debris in the pool, but the maintenance staff was quick to skim the pool and were very friendly.

Check-in and check-out were totally painless and fast and the front desk staff was very pleasant. My only problem with any of the staff was with housekeeping, who kept turning off the A/C whenever they cleaned the room. Returning to the room at the end of a long day of sightseeing wasn’t as comfortable as it could’ve been, but the A/C was strong enough that it cooled the room down in 20-30 minutes, so the discomfort wasn’t long lasting.

The motel is definitely worth the money and I wouldn’t have any problems staying there again. It’s not for those who love to be pampered, but for sightseers who are on the go all day and just looking for a place to relax and crash, it’s great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2007
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiddle01 wrote a review Jan 2015
Calgary, Alberta2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very close to the airport and the price was very reasonable to stay over to catch and early flight. The front desk clerk we encountered at check-in should take some training in customer service. We arrived about 11 AM, early for check in and she let us know that there were no rooms available yet, when asked how long it might be she simply said they're checking the rooms. I asked again would it be 1/2 hour or more like 2-3. This meant as a way to gain information about how we should plan our day. She then found a room, off in the corner. We asked about places to eat and were told about a Subway around the corner and partway up the block. The room was appointed like an economy motel, as expected. It was, however quite cool (66), so I closed the open window and turned on the heat. My step-daughter lay down for a nap and I walked back to the office for a coffee and asked for the wifi password. I returned to the room and attempted to connect to the wifi. I wasn't able to connect and returned to the office and was brusquely presented an info card with a 1-800 number for tech support. I called and after getting partway though the diagnostics was cut off, so I gave up.
My stepdaughter awakened and we went off for a walk for food. My step-daughter didn't want Subway and said - let's continue up the street and see what we can see. Imagine our surprise to find Little Italy right there!! After selecting a restaurant from the multitude to choose from we walked down to the harbour and checked out the numerous attractions and took a pedicab tour. None of this would have happened had we not chosen to be a bit adventurous, as the desk clerk gave us no indication that anything other than Subway was nearby.
When we returned we checked at the desk and a different clerk was at the desk we mentioned our wifi problem to her and she willing showed us her setting and I was finally able to connect. The room had warmed to a slightly less chilly 69. We called the desk and she called maintenance, he came, but was unable to resolve the issue, he did quickly offered to attempt to provide another room but my step-daughter said no don't bother, just bring an extra blanket. He quickly returned with 3 additional blankets. The wifi connection was very spotty,even outdoors from the patio above the pool. I was unable to skype (no video) my wife or check email. The shuttle to the airport was prompt and only 5.00 each. At the risk of sounding prejudiced I found the Hispanic front desk staff far more customer oriented and pleasant to deal with than the other person who was working at the desk when we arrived.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Karen C
Sacramento, California57 contributions20 helpful votes
I'm only a guest. I do not know what rates are charged.
Bryce wrote a tip Feb 2024
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else."
Read full review
linda b wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take Raid!"
Read full review
Passport775719 wrote a tip Apr 2020
Sooke, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"dont park your vehicle near 137 if wind blowing. watched palm branches fall off on a vehicle"
Read full review
Webdesperado wrote a tip Jul 2019
Houston, Texas1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keep up the awesome service "
Read full review
Mayra R wrote a tip May 2019
Irvine, California8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't Stay!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Diego area.
PRICE RANGE
C$137 - C$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
motel 6 - san diego airport/harbor hotel san diego, econo lodge san diego, san diego motel six, san diego motel 6
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Econo Lodge
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Diego
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Which popular attractions are close to Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor?
Nearby attractions include Little Italy (0.3 km), The Waterfront Bar & Grill (0.4 km), and Bottlecraft Beer Shop & Tasting Room - Little Italy (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and bicycle rental.
Is parking available at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ballast Point Little Italy, Juniper & Ivy, and The Crack Shack - Little Italy.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (3.5 km), The Homecoming Statue (1.7 km), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (2.3 km).
Is Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All San Diego HotelsSan Diego Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San DiegoHotels near Motel 6 San Diego Airport - Harbor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars