We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
Start your review of Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
 Click to rate
San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

How I wound up here is a long story. That said, the location might be great if you have to do something at SDSU, but otherwise it was a little remote for me. Although there is a fridge and a microwave, the rooms have yet to be renovated. The staff was super. In a pinch, I would stay here again,...

Thank mjesf
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was in town visiting grandkids and needed a place to stay. Its an older hotel but right off the interstate. Able to get right on the road and leave right away. It was cost efficient, plently of parking, and wasn't required to give a deposit. Would stay again.

Thank Debi B
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The staff at this location is very professional. They love to help and assist. Make sure you request a second floor room. Better view, and greater room experience. Maria was a cleaning lady, she thank us for our stay. Awesome!

Thank Joe R
Garden Grove, California
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We ATTEMPTED to stay here Dec 2 through the 4th. I chose this hotel because we were going the chargers game on the 4th and wanted to stay along the trolley line so we wouldn't have to worry about parking. What a mistake that was! We ended up arriving around 10pm ish and had no problem checking in. However, when...

Thank Vanessa M
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review

Vanessa, Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our accommodations for your recent lodging needs. We also appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback and thoughts on how we can improve future guests' experiences. With that being said, your report on the treatment you received from our personnel is extremely concerning as we strive to...

Pahrump, Nevada
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The room was average but we were charged like it was a four star motel. The TV didn't work and the manager wasn't concerned with resolving the problem. When we checked out my husband spoke with the manager again with the same bad attitude and poor customer service. We will never stay in the motel again and will not recommend...

Thank wyomingmom75
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We apologize that you were not satisfied with several aspects of your stay as we strive to make each of our guests comfortable while staying with us. We will look into each of your concerns to ensure future guests have a more pleasant experience. Once again, thank you for your...

Rio Rico, Arizona
Reviewed 2 August 2016

First the pros, the motel is easy access to Interstate 8, and very close to the trolley which makes easy access to Qualcom Stadium and downtown San Diego. The motel offers no amenities. There was no coffee available because their supplies were on "back order", the public computer was unusable because the monitor had a "problem". There was nothing in...

Thank TombstoneJay
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear we were able to provide you with clean and comfortable accommodations during your stay. Our team works very hard to be as accommodating as possible. It is unfortunate that your stay happened to be during the rare occasion when...

Tijuana, Mexico
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I just needed a place to stay one night, wasn't looking for anything fancy at all and I got what I paid for. Nothing to complain about my room, it was clean, hot water was working and that was all I needed, if you're driving, is easy to get, close to the freeway and somewhat close to a trolley station....

Thank Eesliter
Cathedral City, California
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

This motel was simply disgusting. The carpet was sticky and threadbare, the mattresses had hair on them, the corners in the bathroom had grime collecting (gross), the bathroom door had a hole in it, the safe had dried food splattered on the front of it, the linens had holes in them, the room smelled of smoke and bug spray, the...

1Thank DesertDom
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review

Dear Dominic, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our standards for quality rest on the...

Chino, California
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Friends and I took a last minute trip to San Diego and this place was perfect for us not at all far from gaslamp a very short and inexpensive uber drive. I am firm believer that you get what you pay for so I cannot complain because this place served its purpose for the price we paid. The rooms are...

2Thank Claudia M
Bullhead City, Arizona
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Property is close the a lot attractions in San Diego. Rooms are appointed in a modern fashion. Rooms are clean. They do have a pool. Good size TVs. Price is good. We will stay there again on our next trip.

Thank Jerry M

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (21)
Room/Suite (11)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
View from Room (1)
Bathroom (2)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (29)
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
California Suites Hotel
#224 of 279 in San Diego
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Address: 4380 Alvarado Canyon Rd, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $88 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Motel-6, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Mission Valley / Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Ramada San Diego
Ramada Hotel San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super Eight
San Diego Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wider wifi access.”
972joer, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pick a different motel.”
wyomingmom75, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“3rd Floor rooms have the best view”
claudiamS7048KM, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Please make sure rooms are clean, and watch out for the shady characters hanging around the property.”
  • Urine stained sheets on second bed.
  • Sharp bed frame sticking out, son cut his leg.
  • Dried up spaghetti on carpet
  • My son's cut his leg on sharp edge of bed frame
  • Dried up noodles on floor
  • Greasy smugde on TV
  • Urine stained sheets
omarmoey, 30 Jun 2014 | Read review
“the upper floors are the best to stay”
victors624, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5