We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pacific Shores Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pacific Shores Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 391: English reviews
Start your review of Pacific Shores Inn
 Click to rate
Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had booked at this hotel for 2 nights. I arrived to check in and was told that there was no reservation in my name (even though I had the confirmation number showing the reservation) and that the hotel was fully booked . The clerk tried blaming it on the booking company and then told me I should have booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KERI L
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here with our kids and regretted it. Construction going on, water was shut down several hours. Guests playing beer pong in parking lot, smoking pot, loud music in rooms, nudity. My husband was unloading car and was approached by a prostitute. The room looked nice but was NOT clean and smelled musty. So disappointed as the location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Coarsegold, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Over the past eight years my wife and I have stayed here due to its location and quaintness. But, alas all good things must pass. I was taking a two day fishing trip to SD. After check in, I noticed that there was major renovation occurring on half of the rooms. We'll, usually work on construction sites ended no later...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rodneymanning
Marana AZ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok so I will start with the good. The renovated rooms are very nice. Our friends all stayed in the renovated rooms and you can tell the hotel has spent a lot of money. You cannot beat the location, very close to the beach and restaurants. We stayed in the off season so we got a great deal on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShellyMaranaAZ
Tucson
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

But now it is just a dump. The manager has said for years they are renovating. But it's all cosmetic, and minimal. A slumlord version of a hotel. Airbnb condos in the area are a far better deal. Frankly, feel betrayed.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gc85014
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Hopefully you'll find it to be a better deal than you did before. We are currently renovating, and it's not just cosmetic. We are doing everything from the floor to the ceiling in our remaining 37 unrenovated rooms. Thank you for your comments.

St. George, Utah
Reviewed 21 October 2016

While the other rooms appear to have been renovated, the room they assign to those that purchase their Groupon deal is horrid. Dingy and musty, with paper thin walls. We did not sleep well during our stay due to a party next door. We complained, but nothing happened. We had people outside of our door/window all night, as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GeeksterGrl
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I assure you it's not a usual occurrence regarding the noise. We were unfortunate to have quite a few loud party-type guests that we had to have leave due to their disregard for everyone else staying with us. We do apologize, and do try to react to these types of disturbances as quickly as possible....

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

That was worst expierience ever for my family. Broken furniture, stinky odor i was ready to throw up, dirty walls and carpet with holes. We were afraid to sleep at night becouse our son was bited by something. We spend only one night instead of three, continental breakfast had only orange juice and old muffins no tables and chair to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariusz k
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank fully we are scheduled to renovate really soon. This will make a significant difference when it comes to the room. The continental breakfast is very simply fresh pastries delivered each morning, two types of juices, coffee, and a variety of teas. This is exactly what we advertise, and it is all we actually have room for in our lobby....

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The location is great! The room was outdated. Paint on the walls were peeling, the air conditioning was broke. We called the front desk to ask about someone coming to look at it but no one ever came and the TV was dark that we could barely see it. Finally ended up watching a movie on our laptop.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SassyOne2001
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I always follow up with my maintenance and front desk staff when someone tells me they did not have their request met. I do apologize for that and do stress the importance of this occurring within ten minutes of knowing about the issue. We'll definitely work harder at getting this issue under control. I...

Arizona
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I had read reviews prior & was skeptical of this place, the price seemed right, only 2 nights how bad could it be? The location was the draw for me, I ensured I was also being put in a "remodeled" room. The room was "visibly" appeals at first. Tried to move a chair & the A/C cover opened up, chair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AZMOM65
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Actually it has been four years since we last remodeled. We are constantly repainting and repairing about everything in every room on a continuous basis. Because of the location, parking can be a challenge especially if you arrive late in the night on a sold out weekend night. Luckily, except for Sunday night - Monday...

Vista, California, United States
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The Hotel 's website shows pictures of nicely decorated and kept rooms. It's a bait and switch. If you don't know to ask for a room like in the website pictures you will get a Dump!!!! The paint was peeling, stench from a toilet that overflowed plus the wet carpet, curtains about to fall off the wall, peeling chairs, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marksherrydorsey
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

I'm on your side with this. I know and expect we will be redoing all of our older rooms this winter and spring. I will forward this to my maintenance staff. Every year, following the busy summer/fall season, we have to go through and redo all of the items you listed. I have one person from my staff that only...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#124 of 279 in San Diego
204 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#229 of 279 in San Diego
169 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#147 of 279 in San Diego
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#105 of 279 in San Diego
639 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 279 in San Diego
1,013 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#171 of 279 in San Diego
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pacific Shores Inn is a quaint inn located at the north end of Pacific Beach. Many of the rooms offer some views of the ocean, and restaurants and shops are just a couple of blocks away. The boardwalk is a 2.5 mile stretch that will take you from the north end of Pacific Beach all the way to the south end of Mission Beach. As you stroll down the boardwalk, you will find ocean front shops and restaurants as well as the famous Belmont Park in Mission Beach. Bike, and surfboard rentals are located within two blocks so there is no reason to pack those items when visiting us. And, every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, and a coffee maker for your convenience. Some rooms also have full kitchens for those who require that. Parking, and a continental breakfast which includes juice, coffee, and danishes are always free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Inn

Address: 4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109-2590
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Price Range: $156 - $1,458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Shores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pacific Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel San Diego
Pacific Shores San Diego
Pacific Shores Inn Of Pacific Beach
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pacific Shores Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Pacific Shores Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to ask for a renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles ShellyMaranaAZ, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not do the Groupon deal. Book directly w/hotel to get updated rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles GeeksterGrl, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only stay here if you can be assured of a remodeled room”
 of 5 bubbles marksherrydorsey, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the room has been updated”
 of 5 bubbles aligia2016, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Only stay if u have an upgraded room but it still is not very clean and ac will keep u up from noise.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraPhilly, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5