We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carlton Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Expert photos
Carlton Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carlton Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Funky, unique, cozy, good location, agreed with some previous comments that its not a real Holiday Inn, but for 60$ a night (October 2015) we didnt regret any second staying there. Hot showers (which is always my biggest concern) and cleanliness checked. We had a window on 3rd Avenue side so it can be bit noisy sometimes. Anyway, would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MilosIvanovic92
Oakland, California
Reviewed 17 June 2016

From my trip travelogue: Speaking of pricey items, lodging is another expensive item in NYC, and generally, you cannot expect to spend less that $150 per night for a single person. Even then, that usually doesn't mean a nice accommodation in a convenient area. But I happened upon the Carlton Arms, also known as the Artbreak Hotel, and very cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Benin O
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 8 June 2016

I've stayed at the Carleton Arms for years on and off. It's always been my go-to, cheaper than normal place to stay in the City. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating, but improvements and basic maintenance are slipping big time now and deep cleaning is a thing of the past. It can also be a noisy place if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crazyhorse1430
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Let me start by saying that my mom would hate staying at this place. There's no elevator, nobody leaves a mint on your pillow at night, and it's unabashedly offbeat. If you're the sort of person who would travel to a foreign country and then eat at McDonald's, this is not the place for you. It bears zero resemblance to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Yarnlover
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review. We are well aware of the fact that Carlton Arms is not for everyone. Your accurate description of what the hotel is and isn't will definitely help guests to decide if it's the right place for them. Hope to see you again. Sincerely Management

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE. This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. There are cats everywhere and so the rooms smell of cat urine. The walls are painted with such demented designs that you genuinely feel like you are in a nightmare. We only booked one night, but nearly left in the middle of the night it was so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eleanor S
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had such a terrible experience. Carlton Arms is known for being an art hotel for over 30 years and this is very clear if you look at our website. If you didn't feel comfortable we would be happy to find you another hotel. Art is subjective, guest have a choice of rooms when checking in. There...

Montreal
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We recently spent a great weekend in NYC and stayed at the Carleton Arms. We arrived very late (midnightish)and were greeted nicely. We had booked a double room with private bath. The room was very interestingly painted and we especially loved the treasure hunt we happened across when we opened the dresser. The beds, and the bath were just great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dacazano
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 21 May 2016

this is a budget hotel, but it's very centrally located, and you get exactly what you're expecting. The rooms are clean, as are the (shared) bathrooms. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and there was usually free coffee in the morning. each of the rooms and hallways are painted, making for a really interesting and quirky environment. this is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rebecca R
New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Coolest Hotel in Manhattan, but a walkup, and some shared baths. Totally worth a look at even if you're not staying or even from NYC. You have to ask to see some rooms, they are all different, done by artists from around the world. There is even a stairway done by Banksy, but you have to find it as he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewYorkCityer
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Yes, hotel is a walk up and there is no elevator. If requested we can always arrange a room on the lowest floor. Good time to get a little tour is early afternoon after check-out time. Thank you.

Goulburn, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

So I only gave The Carlton 3 out of 5 because at the end of the day it is not a luxurious hotel with all the mod cons. BUT For price this place was good in that it was all we expected and more. The good: Warm Clean Location to public transport Central Quiet (apart from sirens from emergency vehicles)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwiroo71
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Carlton Arms is a budget hotel so we do not offer many services but we're happy to help when we can. Please do not hesitate next time to ask for help with your luggage. We have 20 rooms with private bathroom and those are usually booked well ahead of time, if you prefer one make sure to book in advance....

Paris, France
Reviewed 31 March 2016

I spent one week in this hotel and the only positive thing was the location very close to main attractions and nearby subway stations the rest is just a nightmare the room was dirty as hell and super small the staff was unfriendly don't expect a smile or a little help while struggling to bring your luggage up the 4th...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ni0uma
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. We're doing our best to make sure every guest have a pleasant stay at the Carlton Arms. All problems you're referring to could off been easily fixed or explained (there is a valve which turns off the heat etc). You should of simply report your problems at the front desk and we...

394 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (243)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (151)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Full Forest Room, Ensuite (19)
Viewed
Double Full Mountain Room, Ensuite (22)
Viewed
European Style Double Room, Pink Bed (12)
Viewed
European Style Double Room, Zebra Bed (15)
Viewed
European Style Single Room (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#363 of 467 in New York City
233 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#167 of 467 in New York City
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
809 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#19 of 74 in New York City
546 reviews
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#24 of 74 in New York City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Carlton Arms Hotel

Address: 160 E 25th St, New York City, NY 10010-2312
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Price Range: $120 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Arms Hotel New York City
Carlton Arms New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlton Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Carlton Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't stay here there are better places in NYC that are cheaper. Get a good nights rest save the art for the museums in town.”
 of 5 bubbles C9555RYcrystalm, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“see the review”
 of 5 bubbles benin0, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“quieter on higher floors, but walk p, no handicap access,”
 of 5 bubbles NewYorkCityer, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Accessibility to the hotel is a walk up from the street with fire escapes and little noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles scottp372, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“depending on your budget, probably try and get a room with a bathroom attached”
  • View from bed
 of 5 bubbles James_and_Guy, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5