We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Jane

09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Jane
The Jane
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,094: English reviews
Start your review of The Jane
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cool Ambiente, clean room, nice reception. BUT no parking available. You must find a spot on the street, which in NYC is usually very scarce. Thus not recommended for travellers with a car. I got lucky after circling the block a few times. On the positive side, if you like to party on weekends the ballroom downstairs is loads of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liviu-Mihai S
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Hi Liviu-Mihai, It is such a pleasure to hear what a good time you had here at the Jane Hotel. It's true that at this time we are unable to offer parking services. However, there is an independent lot at 99 Jane Street that charges approximately $70/day for cars and a $15 surcharge for oversized vehicles and SUV’s. We are...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location. Short walk to public transport. Helpfull and friendly staff. Clean bathrooms. Free bike rental. Overall a perfect hotel when you stay in NYC. Value for money. Overall highly recomended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stineto2015
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear how well the staff took care of you, and that you really appreciate the details and value of the Jane Hotel. Cheers, Jamie

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my favourite hotel in NYC - great location, great rooms, great staff. Close proximity to all the best bars (corner bistro!) and cafes (they Grey Dog!) in the West Village and close to the subway. Great for a morning run along the Hudson.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoannaB1980
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

So glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay and our location! Until Next Time, Jamie

Flushing, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I use to live down the block from this hotel and always wanted to stay here. had my chance and i took it. Was very surprised at the room I had. I only spent the night here and did not mind the small room. Was worried about sharing bathroom but when i used it I was always alone in it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, We are so pleased to have impressed! Thank you; we look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Jamie

Duns, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was recommended The Jane by a good friend who stays there on a regular basis, and I wasn't disappointed. From the bell-hops, to the amazing room we were given, from the decor to the stunning ballroom/bar - all something to remember. The heating in the room was the only issue, but that was dealt with immediately, so I am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blellum
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

We are so delighted to hear what a good time you had staying at the Jane Hotel and the the team took such good, immediate care of all your concerns. We look forward to your next visit. Wishing Safe Travels, Jamie

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was so incredibly beautiful and true to its style. From the rooftop bar, to the ballroom to the Captains Suite, it was truly like being aboard the Titanic. The staff and concierge are next level. They looked after us every step of the way and nothing ever felt like it was too much. As a frequent traveller, it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank StampingthePassport
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

We also feel there is a lot to enjoy here at the Jane hotel. It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed the ambiance, details, history and location our location. Whenever you have any discomfort please do not hesitate to reach out the the Front Desk so we can address the situation immediately. We have someone on staff...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was backpacking across the USA with my brother and New York was our first stop. We chose the Jane because it was reasonably priced, a good location and was more private than a hostel for our first accommodation of what was a 3 month round-the-world trip. The hotel itself is really intriguing, with an amazing theme and style, with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maisie A
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Hi Maisie, It is such a delight to hear what a good time you had staying at the Jane Hotel, and how much you appreciate the concept and amenities. We too were sorry for the hiccup and grateful when you brought it to our attention and for your patience while we resolved the matter. Please do not hesitate to reach...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in standard cabin on the fourth floor. Tiny but great for a solo traveler who only needs a place to crash. The shared bathroom was no problem especially if you shower at night. Tip: I noted most people were showering in the morning, might want to alter your routine if you want to maximize your time. Great little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diana M
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Hi Diana, It's such a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed the history and your experience here at the Jane Hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Wishing Safe Travels, Jamie

South San Francisco, California
Reviewed 13 February 2017

To be frank, my husband and I had a completely terrible experience at the Jane, and I would NEVER come back to stay, nor would I recommend it to any of my friends/colleagues. We planned to stay for two nights, but we ended up moving after the 1st night. We even tried to move to another hotel at 2am on...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank kentwisl
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear about your experience and greatly appreciated your emailing us directly so we could address all of your concerns. We look forward to your next visit. Wishing Safe Travels, Jamie

Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 February 2017

stayed 1 night 2/11/17 we had a second floor front room facing jane st and the front main hotel entrance. The room was very nice and well decorated. The problems started with the heat which we had no control of. The room became super heated and we had to open our window. A large very noisy,highly intoxicated crowd was gathered...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SusanDinan
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Hi Susan, It was a pleasure to chat with you both during your stay. We take guest concerns seriously. Rest assured we are addressing each of your concerns as discussed. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Jamie

643 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (463)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (169)
Viewed
Bunk Bed Cabin (10)
Viewed
Captain's Cabin (45)
Viewed
Captain's Cabin Queen Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Cabin (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
1,336 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4,650 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
809 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West Village

Neighbourhood Profile
West Village
Stretching from Sixth Avenue to the Hudson River, the West Village is one of the city’s most coveted addresses. Full of trendy shops, historic taverns, and cozy restaurants set amid 19th century architecture, this neighbourhood has a unique old-world feel. You won’t find a more picturesque location in Manhattan. Without the traditional city grid layout, it’s easy to get lost here, but that’s part of the fun as you stroll down elegant narrow streets with beautiful brownstones. When you need a break, you can always stop in at one of the many quaint eateries or cafes to soak in the atmosphere, or head to the western edge of the neighborhood to enjoy magnificent waterfront views while taking a leisurely walk in Hudson River Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Jane

Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY 10014-1700
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Price Range: $146 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Jetsetter, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Jane staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from The Jane staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great view of the Hudson River and park”
 of 5 bubbles KevinO991, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Captains Suite is the best option. Other rooms too small”
 of 5 bubbles StampingthePassport, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request a rear room for quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SusanDinan, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing Jane Street instead of the back of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles Markwax21, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would probably suggest getting a "captain's cabin". Don't be afraid to ask them to move your room to a different one.”
 of 5 bubbles awmlasasso, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hostelworld.comUS$250
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates