We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 308: English reviews
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The feel and operation of the Townhouse Inn is very pleasant; a little urban and a little cozy at the same time. Location is ideally situated to subway stations and a number of attractions in the area. Staff was very friendly and resolved any concerns as soon as they became aware of them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chumpowie
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Adorable accommodation which was a complete surprise. In the middle of New York City, we found this place warm and welcoming, charming, quaint and so relaxed, completely the opposite of the outside hustle and bustle. Both Eric's on the front desk were polite and welcoming. Our room was quaint, had a working air conditioner, a space heater to warm up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh S
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is what almost $350 will get you at the Townhouse Inn of Chelsea: 1. Torn (old) blankets 2. Filthy, stained carpets 3. Broken room furniture 4. Disgusting dust buildup on ceiling fan and bathroom vent 5. A non-functioning heater left in room (burnt electrical plug and socket) 6. Dirty walls 7. Only a dribble of hot water in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Richard H
TownhouseInnChelsea, Manager at The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea, responded to this review

We appreciate guest feedback Richard Henne-Ochoa, but this is really because I would not let you bring additional guests into the room that were not on the reservation and unfortunately we had no space for You checked in and were happy until you asked for extra beds, which we did not have, that you then asked for a refund. Your...

Centerville, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Great location - subway is around the corner, as is an amazing pastry shop, donut shop, and Eataly. DELICIOUS continental breakfast in the morning with fresh pastries from across the street, served in a BEAUTIFUL and spacious sunlit sitting room. I spent hours here preparing for a meeting. I spoke to the owner and he said if I wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britt B
singapore
Reviewed 7 December 2016

The hotel has a character to it, like a place where a tom waits or leonard cohen character would fit right in with the decor. The rooms are large and the decor is really old school. The TV is from the 90s (including VHS players!!) and the radiator was powered by steam or something. The radiator in our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lasbian
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 December 2016

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels over the past 20 years for business and holiday and this, by far, was the worst experience I've ever had. The hotel website does not represent what your experience will look like. I paid extra for a room that was to have a queen bed and a pullout so that my friend could sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gstat04
TownhouseInnChelsea, General Manager at The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea, responded to this review

I feel so sorry that this was your response after behaving so psychotically at the hotel, then sneaking a dog into the room and then demanding a 2nd bedroom suite (we don't have one) and then once I ask you to remove the dog, demanding a refund or you will go to the internet. We try our best to give...

Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We absolutely LOVED staying at the Inn. Everything was wonderful. The manager, Eric~ also adorable, gave us excellent restaurant and shopping recommendations. The room and bathroom were incredibly spacious, very comfortable- we even had a skylight! The breakfast room was extremely convenient- many more amenities than we had time to enjoy. The breakfast was very good- you thought of everything!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Many other reviewers talk about The Townhouse Inn being charming. I disagree. My room overlooked a very noisy 23rd street, and I barely got any sleep. Had to use the air conditioner to drown out some of the noise, but that only helped a little bit. It didn't help that the bed wasn't very comfortable. The next morning I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank srfsde
TownhouseInnChelsea, Owner at The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, we always appreciate guest input. I'm sorry you felt it was noisy. We are on 23rd St in the middle of Manhattan, a location people love as we are in the middle of everything. But yes that equals street noise at the front and bustle on the sidewalk. I did notice that most of your other...

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here briefly during a business trip on the third floor. There are only two rooms on the floor which gave us a sense of privacy for me and my colleague which was great. This is by far the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in in this city - ask for the room with two queens. This place isn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candace J
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

A great location for exploring all of NY. Totally different from your average hotel, large spacious rooms that are quirky and homely. A fabulous breakfast with plenty of choice. If you like modern this is not the place for you, but if you want a really personal service and something different I would really recommend giving it a try.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa1966902

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#25 of 463 in New York City
2,048 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#160 of 463 in New York City
1,735 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#54 of 463 in New York City
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#59 of 463 in New York City
1,139 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 463 in New York City
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chelsea

Neighbourhood Profile
Chelsea
Home to hundreds of art galleries, beautiful brownstones, and one of New York’s newest and most popular attractions, Chelsea is one of the city’s jewels when it comes to neighbourhood life. The contemporary art scene is an integral part of the neighbourhood’s identity, with gallery openings almost every night of the week and countless exhibits to explore. As a longtime hub of gay culture in New York City, it’s also a diverse district with a vibrant nightlife scene. The opening of the High Line, an abandoned elevated train track transformed into a world-class pedestrian park, gave this neighbourhood new life as a tourist destination. The High Line provides visitors with a tranquil, elevated space with incomparable views, providing an unparalleled way to experience the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea is a unique bed and breakfast in one of the most dynamic and convenience neighborhoods in New York City. Walk to restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and sightseeing such as the Flatiron Building, the Empire State Building and The High Line. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Address: 131 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Price Range: $181 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 months ago
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 months ago
Boston
3 months ago
Louisville, KY

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book a room at this hotel.”
  • Broken furniture (or maybe dumpster dive
  • We're not FANS of dust build-up (enjoy the snow machine)
  • Welcome to your suite (don't bother covering this one up with the faux sheep skin)
  • SHOKINGLY horrendous (Don't like the clanking radiator? But still want heat?)
  • Just gross (carpet everywhere looked like this)
  • Torn blankets (or, another dumpster dive score?)
  • Carpeted lights? Carpeted with dust, that is.
  • Thought we would be looking at a painting, not a carving
 of 5 bubbles richardhJ2698LF, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request a room that is away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles srfsde, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Email the owners, they are more than willing to help.”
 of 5 bubbles 357carll, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had 2 3 people rooms, 2nd and 3rd floor. Excellent location for both. Quiet and Comfortable”
  • View of the new World Trade Center from the end of the block
  • This little guy kept us safe at night from pigeons
  • Comfy chair, brick walls, 2 large windows, spacious room for 3
 of 5 bubbles marrasan, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a front room.”
 of 5 bubbles kaygee38, 9 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay