AC Hotel New York Times Square

AC Hotel New York Times Square

Traveller (371)
Room & Suite (180)
AC Hotel New York Times Square
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#113 of 502 hotels in New York City
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

260 West 40TH Street, New York City, NY 10018
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
LaGuardia Airport
10.1 km
See all flights
Teterboro Airport
12.1 km
See all flights
42nd St – Port Authority Bus Terminal
3 minNew York City Subway
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles781 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The AC Hotel New York Times Square receives accolades for its exceptional cleanliness and prime location, which guests find perfect for exploring the city's attractions. Many travelers enjoy the comfort and modernity of the rooms, though some report noise disturbances and a lack of space. The staff at this hotel are often commended for their friendliness and helpfulness, contributing to a welcoming atmosphere. While opinions on value and amenities are mixed, the rooftop bar is a highlight for numerous guests. Despite some concerns, the overall experience for many is positive.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Chic
Rooms
Clean
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
781Reviews49Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 496
  • 153
  • 64
  • 34
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Heidi R wrote a review Feb 2020
Boston, Massachusetts67 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is only two years old, and still feels very fresh and updated - cool floor to ceiling windows with both light filtering and room darkening electric shades . Room was very clean - no carpets in room . No room service but drinks, snacks and wine available for purchase in Lobby. Spanish tapas restaurant on lobby level has outstanding food which you can do take away back to your room. Rooftop lounge also. Great central location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from alyssahachotel, Front Office Supervisor at AC Hotel New York Times Square
Responded Feb 8, 2020
Hello @heidir552, Thank you for this great review. Anytime you are in NYC always remember you have a home away from home here at AC Hotel Times Square. We hope to see you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elisabeth P wrote a review May 2020
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom21 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the pleasure of staying at this AC hotel from 10th to 18th March. The hotel is very modern, and the staff welcoming and ready to help. Our room was on the 14th floor, with street view. The room had large glass windows, very comfortable beds, and pillows, and a very modern bathroom with a great powerful shower. Everything was spotless and we found the hotel to be quiet. We also visited the roof terrace for a drink. The hotel is close to many sites, some were within walking distance. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again on our next visit. I highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jeffersonpachotel, Reception Supervisor at AC Hotel New York Times Square
Responded May 4, 2020
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the AC Times Square we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Cpmorgan1994 wrote a review Feb 2020
Dallas, Texas19 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved my stay here. The location is extremely hard to beat, you are walking distance from a lot. The bar on the roof has great martinis and a nice view of the city. The rooms are comfortable, however make sure you stay on a high floor to avoid road noise (my mistake). Will stay every time I'm in NYC.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AriG2690, Manager at AC Hotel New York Times Square
Responded Feb 6, 2020
It is so great to hear your wonderful feedback @Cpmorgan1994! It is truly great to find out that you enjoyed your stay at the AC Hotel New York Times Square and it's even better to hear that you had a chance to make it to our beautiful lounge! Come back and visit us as soon as your travels bring you back to NYC!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justin W wrote a review Dec 2020
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey5,134 contributions3,336 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I will tell you that for a Marriott Hotel even during the COVID pandemic this hotel was really lacking a lot of the basic services like enough towels for two people, they would not clean the room or even refresh it. I ended up cleaning it and throwing the garbage out because I did not want to come back to a dirty room. The staff said it is because they did not want much contact because of the virus.

I thought the front desk staff was a little abrasive. I had to check in before a friend who had gotten us the room and I practically got the third degree. I understand that there is a global pandemic going on but there is also basic customer service as well. I stayed at two other hotels recently upstate and they could not have been nicer.

The problem with the room was that everything was so low. For a tall person, this place is a nightmare. The sink, toilet and beds are perfect if you are five feel tall. I had to lean down to do everything.

The upside is that the location by Port Authority was excellent and the views are amazing from the room. The beds are so comfortable that you will sleep like a log. I got two great night's sleep here and that what it was all about.

Overall I would not go back until the pandemic was over.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jefferson Proano, Guest Services / Front Office at AC Hotel New York Times Square
Responded Dec 27, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to complete a reply in regard to your recent stay at the AC Hotel Times Square. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to New York. Thank you,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harry S wrote a review Mar 2021
Warrenton, Virginia3 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel staff is friendly and show concern and interest in how your stay is going but that’s about it. The best way I can describe this place is that it’s a rooftop bar/lounge/cafe that happens to have a hotel underneath it. There’s people coming and going in and out of the lobby all day that aren’t even hotel guests, they’re just going to the rooftop and take up the elevators for the people actually staying in the hotel. We waited on our floor for over 20 minutes on a Friday night for 6+ elevators to go because they were FULL of partiers (elevator says max 2 people for Covid but on average the rooftop patrons were filling up the elevator like it was nothing. At one point I counted 12 people). One of the three elevators was down which contributed to the delays but that was only announced to us via a memo that was left in the hotel room. That should have definitely been an email to hotel guests prior to arrival or a disclaimer on their website prior to booking.

We stayed in a top floor room with balcony. The room is small but I’m learning that’s normal for New York. I literally opened the door and the nightstand and bed is right next to it. First thing we noticed when we got off the elevator was that the hallways were dirty. This was typical of many floors that we saw as the elevator was going down and stopping. There was a cloth dinner napkin and trash on the balcony when we got there and the toiletries that are locked in a shower caddy were half used. I asked the front desk if they reuse the same bottles between guests and just refill them and the girl said no- and she did genuinely seem concerned and upset that it had happened and said she would send some new ones up immediately. 20 minutes later someone brought three bottles (shampoo, conditioner, body wash) and replaced the ones in the caddy. The “new” bottles were clearly old used bottles they had just refilled to the top so I opted not even to use them. My partner seemed unmoved by that fact, but to me especially during Covid, the thought of reusing toiletry bottles after strangers in the shower is just ridiculous.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JuanTrippe wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel sits in a prime location, and the building and rooms are very nice. Unfortunately this is where Marriott gave up.

Check in was a nightmare. I arrived in the morning after a red eye flight. The front desk informed me that they had no rooms available due to the hour. Fair enough, it was a bit early, I forgave this even though they knew we would be early. They said it would be roughly 45 minutes and that breakfast was available in "the restraunt" (more on this later). I asked if it was complimentary due to the delay, the answer was no.

After roughly 45 minutes of trying not to pass out in the lobby a large group of 20 people walks in looking to check in. Surprise! They have no delay and keys are handed out to the whole group! I walk up, and ask for my room key, and am told it isn't available yet. I get angry. They say the previous group "booked yesterday". My reservation was 3 days old. I ended up waiting almost 2 hours falling asleep in the lobby before a room was provided. Not a good start.

The hotel restraunt, that is literally in the lobby, with signs in the elevators and appears on the hotel website, "isn't part of the hotel". If you are a Marriott rewards member you will receive no discounts, benefits, and collect no points for eating there. Of course they don't point this out until you pay.

The rooms a very nice looking, and quiet, (as quiet as Times Square can be). The beds seem to be aimed at Asian clientele as they are much like beds found at hotels in Japan. They are basically futons, very firm. If that's your thing great. Its not mine.

The next morning I got into the shower and found that there was no soap or shampoo. This hotel has gone with the "three seashells" motifs where they have 3 large pumps in the shower to save money. Thats fine, I actually like this. No need to create more waste. The problem here is that for both the shampoo and soap pumps to be empty it means the cleaning staff haven't checked them in WEEKS. This gives me pause about the cleanliness of the rest of the room. If they aren't checking the soap for weeks how often is the bedding being changed?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Check in later if possible. Buy food in one of the many other food options around.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glenda Gomez, General Manager at AC Hotel New York Times Square
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Hello JuanTrippe, We apologize for any inconvenience in the room and especially about your early check in experience. We always recommend guests with very early arrivals to reserve a room from the night before to ensure early check in as the city is very busy and we cannot guarantee an early room as all of our guests are enjoying their time in NYC. If we have a room for early check in, we are more than happy to check our guests in and/or store your luggage so that you may begin enjoying your NYC experience. I am happy that the team was able to prepare a room for you before noon to accommodate your request. We truly value your loyalty as a Marriott Bonvoy Member, and as you continue to unlock different tiers you will receive enhanced benefits. The amazing benefit of booking with Marriott is that we offer all types of hotels for our diversified travelers. We recommend reviewing pictures and amenity descriptions of all properties online to assist with the booking process. Please do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit and we will ensure a seamless experience upon your return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin J wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel from 12/04-12/06/2021 for my husband's 50th Birthday. We stayed on the 19th floor with a city view and a Balcony. I must say the staff was very nice and accommodating. JOSH is the best! He brought our luggage to our room and even upon check out he kept our bags secure while we went out to get food before leaving. SHAMAR also would periodically text me to see if i needed anything. I must say the website hasn't been updated and I thought they had valet parking and due to Covid, that option isn't available but their is a parking structure very close by and the hotel will stamp it for you and you get a discounted fee for parking there. They have a nice restaurant attached and rooftop lounge if you don't want to leave the hotel for food. I would definitely stay here again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marlene C, Other at AC Hotel New York Times Square
Responded Dec 17, 2021
Thank you, RobinJ1975, for the amazing review! We are truly honored to have Josh and Shamar on our team and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed their service and attention during your stay. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer0410 wrote a review Mar 2020
Denver, Colorado26 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great hotel in a perfect location, close enough to Times Square but away from the noise and crowds. The hotel staff was exceptional in accommodating every single request and giving great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. The bed was very comfy and the room was impeccably spotless. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jeffersonpachotel, Reception Supervisor at AC Hotel New York Times Square
Responded Mar 16, 2020
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the AC Times Square we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andriagoeswest wrote a review Aug 2023
Auckland, New Zealand31 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 2 nights when I was in NYC for pride and loved staying here so much. I would have definitely extended my stay for another week if rooms were available!

Location: This is one of the best locations to stay if you’re a tourist - it’s roughly halfway between the Flatiron building and Central Park so all the main tourist attractions are less than a 20 min walk away. It’s about a few mins away from times square so there’s no noise and crowds. There were so many great places to eat nearby and it felt like a safe area.

Room : The rooms are extremely clean and nice and seemed fairly new. This hotel was far nicer than some of the more expensive hotels I’ve stayed in NYC.

Customer service: All staff are so friendly and helpful - definitely one of the best I’ve ever experienced when it comes to customer service at hotels and what made this hotel stand out.

Value: I feel very fortunate that I was able to stay here. I was lucky to get a good deal because it was a last minute booking but when I tried to book another stay here for my next trip in September the price was more than double 😱 otherwise I 100% would stay here again. There’s also complimentary water and no destination fee like other hotels which is great.

I was especially impressed that I booked my room at 1pm and by the time I walked over, within about ten minutes, they had a room ready for me and allowed me to check in straight away.

The hotel is LGBTQ friendly and I felt very safe staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Book with the Marriott Bonvoy app/website using “flexible dates” as rates vary from $204 to $727.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tatiana Rivera, Guest Services / Front Office at AC Hotel New York Times Square
Responded Aug 16, 2023
Dear Andriagoeswest, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback about your recent stay at our hotel We're delighted that you found our location to be convenient for exploring the city's main attractions and that the area felt safe to you. It's fantastic to know that you appreciated the cleanliness and quality of our rooms, and we're humbled by your comparison to more expensive hotels in the city. We're especially pleased that our staff's friendliness and helpfulness stood out to you. Providing excellent customer service is a priority for us, and we're glad it made your stay memorable. Your recognition of the value we offer and the complimentary amenities like water are greatly appreciated. We're sorry to hear that the price for your next stay in September was higher; pricing can vary based on demand and availability, but we hope to welcome you back in the future if circumstances align. We're also proud to be an LGBTQ-friendly establishment, and it brings us joy to hear that you felt safe and comfortable during your stay. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Should your travels bring you back to NYC, we would be absolutely delighted to host you again and provide you with another memorable experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FlyerLawyer wrote a review Sep 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia42 contributions112 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a terrific hotel. Rooms are good size for Manhattan. They are simply but sensibly appointed, with a very modern almost Scandinavian style including wood floors. Wall to ceiling windows with some nice views if you are facing 40th Street. But the real strength of this hotel is the staff — consistently kind, helpful, and seem genuinely pleased to work there. Everyone was great, from the security to the desk team go housekeeping. What a pleasant addition to the midtown hotel scene and the Marriott family. Thank you AC New York Times Square.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Walking to the hotel via 7th Avenue is more pleasant than 8th Avenue.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marlene C, Other at AC Hotel New York Times Square
Responded Sep 18, 2021
Thank you for the stellar review, FlyerLawyer. We really appreciate you sharing your experience in such amazing details with the community. Our staff will be elated to hear that they were able to provide you with the serve we strive for on a daily basis! Guests like you continue to motivate us to be great everyday! We can't wait to welcome you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeremy S wrote a tip Jun 11
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the back side of building are very quiet, high floors have skyline view,"
Read full review
Scott L wrote a tip Jun 5
Jacksonville, Florida3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Attached tapas restaurant is really good as well!"
Read full review
Pete0379 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Michigan1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to everything but far enough to not be in the middle of the noise and bustle of Times Square"
Read full review
Peter L wrote a tip Apr 2024
Corralejo, Spain6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bother with the car. Bryant Park is a few minutes away and a gorgeous place to eat and watch the world go by."
Read full review
ianshamshey wrote a tip Feb 2024
New York City, New York1,053 contribution257 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid a room by the elevator"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
C$366 - C$608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityHudson Yards / Times Square / Midtown West / Garment District / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
290
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AC Hotel New York Times Square - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about AC Hotel New York Times Square
Which popular attractions are close to AC Hotel New York Times Square?
Nearby attractions include Broadway (0.5 km), Style Room NYC Shopping Tour Experiences (0.3 km), and Mission Escape Games (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at AC Hotel New York Times Square?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at AC Hotel New York Times Square?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at AC Hotel New York Times Square?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at AC Hotel New York Times Square?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to AC Hotel New York Times Square?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zeppola Bakery, Los Tacos No. 1, and Liberty Bagels Midtown.
Are there opportunities to exercise at AC Hotel New York Times Square?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does AC Hotel New York Times Square offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at AC Hotel New York Times Square?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to AC Hotel New York Times Square?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (5.3 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (5.2 km), and Governors Island National Monument (7.8 km).
Is AC Hotel New York Times Square accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All New York City HotelsNew York City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New York CityHotels near AC Hotel New York Times Square
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars