We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,080 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Kimpton Muse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,815: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We had a fantastic 5 night stay at the Muse Hotel. The fact that we were both celebrating special birthdays was noted and our stay was made very special. We had a really warm welcome from Barbara at Reception and she continued to help in every possible way throughout our stay. Wilmor and David the concierges were also informative and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christina W, Thank you for your five star rating! We are so happy to see you had a fantastic five night stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your birthday celebration as well! We hope to celebrate more special moments with you. Thank you for your support and we look forward to seeing you back!

Reviewed 25 April 2013

The Muse is my 1st choice, I stay here for business and pleasure and always have a great experience. You can't beat the location and price. The rooms are clean and well maintained and the staff are all great, especially Lauren and Barbara at the front desk. My family enjoy the hotel as well, the adjoining rooms works great for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dadelv
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dadelv, Thank you for your amazing review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are glad our concierge was so helpful! We home to welcome your family and you back soon.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Boutique-style hotel which looks quite trendy on first impressions but room service terrible. Couldn't order anything after 11pm or before 6.30am and then when ordered breakfast, still hadn't arrived by 7.20am. Was then presented with a bill for $44 against a breakfast menu charge of $18. Probably fine if you are staying for leisure but not good enough for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Slim_Oxfordshire
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Slim_Oxfordshire, Thank you for your comments. We apologize you were dissatisfied with the room service hours. Although we do not have 24 hour inhouse room service, we do have an extensive packet of venues open 24 hours in our area for you order from. We would be happy to provide these options if you choose to visit us again....

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed at the Muse for one night with my teenage daughter. It was an excellent experience for both of us. Service was very friendly and helpful. The room was great, fairly spacious, nice decor. We even had a view (11th floor). The beds were particularly comfortable. I would definitely go back. The only negative was breakfast. It wasn't very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niki500
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Niki500, Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Golden, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The windows are cheap and thin and you can hear everything.... like the trash collection that starts at 6:30 am. Room service stops after 11pm. The hotel isn't terrible but in NYC you have much better options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heather O, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize you did not find our hotel to meet your expectations. I welcome you to reach out to the Hotel directly the next time you plan to visit NYC and we can assist with a room we feel you would be more comfortable in. We hope to hear from you.

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here with my wife and another couple for my 40th birthday weekend April 19-21, 2013. The hotel is fantastic - very boutique vibe yet only 1/2 block from the hustle and bustle of Times Square and a short walk to great shopping, Rockefeller Centre, etc. The rooms were nicely appointed and what you would expect for NYC from a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Goinnn
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Goinnn, Thank you for your warm comments! We are so happy to have shared such a special occasion with you...so glad you enjoyed the bubbly. We are thrilled to see you will return to the Muse on your next trip to NYC. We hope to see you back soon.

Narragansett, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I want to start out by saying I have never taken the time to write a review for any hotel in the past. The Muse has changed that by making our stay so EXCEPTIONAL that everyone needs to know! Upon our late arrival we were greeted and welcomed like we were arriving at a friends house! Everyone was so kind...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tara L
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tara L, We are so proud you took the time to write about your stay with us!! Wow, the amazing comments you have written, we can't thank you enough! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the chance to see you back soon!

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We found the Muse hotel randomly on TripAdvisor and we were extremely happy with it. Everything seemed easy at the Muse. the staff was very nice. our room (executive suite) was quite large, very clean, with great TV service and most importantly the location is just amazing. close enough to times square, yet the half block distance puts you out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael g
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear michael g, Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you found our hotel centrally located and the staff was personable. We thank you for being a Kimpton InTouch member as well! We appreciate all the support! We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Our stay at The Muse was perfect in every way. Upon arriving at The Muse, the reception was exceptional and attentive. Thoughtful as well, it was our anniversary and shortly after getting to our room, we were surprised with a cold bottle in a ice bucket to celebrate the occasion along with the nicest note from the staff. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisamad6
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisamad6, Thank you for your five star rating! It is great to see our staff was exceptional and attentive! We love to celebrate special occasions with our special guests! Happy Anniversary! We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Glasgow
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We received an upgrade but this did not prompt the review. From the time we booked the hotel through Lulu at reservations, who dealt with our changes with patience, Kimpton delivered. When we asked for assistance from the staff the response we received was marvellous. They arranged transportation (again when the original vehicle could not be supplied a free upgrade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABoag
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ABoag, Thank you for your five star rating! We are so glad you had a fantastic experience from the reservation booking to check out! We look forward to seeing you back soon!

991 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (737)
Viewed
Room/Suite (230)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (301)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (174)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Premier Double Room (40)
Viewed
Premier King Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Spa Suite (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#59 of 467 in New York City
3,861 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
3,264 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 467 in New York City
2,283 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#36 of 467 in New York City
3,233 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit—spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's heaven where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit the Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Price Range: $380 - $817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kimpton Muse Hotel staff and other travellers.
45 questions
Ask a question
Bellevue, Washington
11 months ago
Horwich, United Kingdom

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from The Kimpton Muse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room on the upper floors. Maybe they are not so loud”
  • King Deluxe room
 of 5 bubbles MarkusL341, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It's NYC. So higher floors tend to be better, but inside rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles josefv259, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“no tip, it was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles andakama, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that end in "04" are on the front of the hotel and may have more street noise than others.”
 of 5 bubbles hknudsen_24, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“14th floor - first stop on the express lift & still good views.”
  • Bedroom, with wardrobe, minibar & on-suite of shot
 of 5 bubbles coling645, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5