TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea

TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Traveller (65)
La cuisine équipée
Room & Suite (37)
Dining
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
C$240
Breakfast included
C$240
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#363 of 499 hotels in New York City
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
TownePlace Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea is an extended-stay hotel within walking distance of Madison Square Garden and the Fashion & Floral Districts. Located in the heart of Manhattan, the hotel is pet-friendly. Elevated to meet your extended-stay needs, all suites at our hotel feature half fridges and electric cooktops, making it easy for your to cook or fuel up at our complimentary breakfast, offering hearty and healthy options in the morning. Staying at our hotel makes it easy to go where you want by walking The High Line or using NYC's public transportation nearby.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Car park
Public wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

140 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6101
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
LaGuardia Airport
10.5 km
See all flights
Teterboro Airport
12.9 km
See all flights
28th St
2 minNew York City Subway
155Reviews18Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 35
  • 13
  • 10
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tina M wrote a review Jun 2022
Ewing, New Jersey14 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me begin my review with addressing the elephant in the room. Hotel rooms in NYC are typically smaller than rooms found in other cities. Though the rooms in this hotel are small they do not disappoint. I was happy we looked past the other reviews. I stayed at this hotel for a birthday weekend with friends and we had several rooms on varying floors. I’ll list my thoughts of the hotel below:

Location, location, location: The hotels location is perfect, it was walking distance to nice restaurants and eateries. There is literally a restaurant around that corner that offers $28 skirt steaks and unlimited sides. We were able to walk down to 34th and stop at multiple shops and catch a few drinks.

Service: The staff in this hotel was by far the best. They were helpful and knowledgeable about some of the things to do for the weekend. Each interaction with them was pleasant for all our guest. They even offer assisted without being prompted. Check-in was fast and efficient, and checkout was online.

Breakfast: Where else can you go in the city and get a free breakfast in the morning. Also, there is free coffee in the lobby and it’s actually pretty good.

Room: As I stated before the room was small but that was expected. We were fortunate enough to book rooms on the second floor which has small terraces and that made a huge difference. Despite its size the room they designers made sure to use every bit of available space perfectly. There is a small kitchenette with a dishwasher, they also give you all kitchenware (utensils, pots, plates etc.) and there is a small seating area. The bathroom is a typical glass enclosure with a small sink. Everything is pretty much new in the hotel.

Parking: This was really the only con. Parking is typical of NYC (pricey) and it was easier to just use Uber and Lyft to get around when we couldn’t walk to our festivities. Also, there is a wait for elevators but nothing to unbearable.

Overall, everyone in our group enjoyed the stay and are planning to stay again when we are in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I suggest getting a room on the second floor. Some have a terrace and that makes the room feel...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Lamour, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Thank you for the amazing feedback. We will surely share with our team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gmt o wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Smart/cost-efficient lodging, that still manages to keep a GREAT SERVICE 24/7 in every sense. Reception is open and available at all times, they cleaned the room and changed towels and bed sheets every couple/three days but also very quicky upon specific request. Coffee and tea is always available for free in the reception. Location is awesome, just a few meters away from the subway. We also had the following experience: we forgot cash in the safe. Only realized when we got home a couple of days after check out. We called them on the phone, talked to the manager (I believe his namewas Justin Jefferson) and a few minutes after they had found and returned the funds.... really incredible.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Lamour, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Responded Apr 15, 2022
Thank you for your amazing feed back. I will be sure to share with the team, especially Jeff. We hope to see on your travels to the Big Apple!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carla wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very comfy and pretty, with modern decoration and all new. The workers are very nice and friendly!
We expected more about the cleaning (they don’t clean everyday the rooms) for this price we expected more room service.
The breakfast included is very simple, but good.
It was a nice stay, specially because of the location!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Lamour, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Thank you for the comment.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarouselGal wrote a review Nov 2021
Huntington Beach, California1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hard to believe the hotel didn't know it wouldn't open in time until 3 days before our arrival. They offered us a tiny room at another hotel that isn't really open yet either ( the manager said they don't even have computers and another associate said she had no idea what the rooms looked like) and did not have the kitchen or city view we had paid extra for - and outside of that all Marriott would do for us was search other hotels for current rates - no discount, no honoring the low rate we had for booking MONTHS in advance. We're now paying $500 more for a lower category hotel in a less desirable location. Very disappointed in Marriott's customer service even for loyalty members.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Lamour, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Responded Nov 26, 2021
Dear Lcasam, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Unfortunately our hotel opening got delayed due to the challenges with new DOB NOW system that was recently introduced by Department of Buildings for the City of New York . We are waiting for a TCO (temporary certificate of occupancy) to come any day now. We are certainly disappointed that we felt short of your expectations and were not able to find similar accommodation within Marriott Brand, however while we cannot change your past experience, we hope you'll give us another chance to restore your trust in future. We are looking forward to meeting and greeting you whenever travel brings you back to The Big Apple!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paola wrote a review Feb 2022
Virginia Beach, Virginia3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the perfect hotel for my stay in NYC. I had in-person and virtual meetings, and the central location and fast internet were terrific. I opened up my window shades to a magnificent view of NYC! I didn’t want to go out to dinner (in crowds), and the hotel staff was so helpful with directions to a local grocery store - even offered to pick the groceries up for me! The “efficiency kitchen” – even included a dishwasher: great location, staff, and room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Lamour, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Responded Mar 19, 2022
Thank you for the great comment !!!! Have a safe Journey Steven
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Boynton14 wrote a review Dec 2021
Boynton Beach, Florida34 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All I can say is WOW! We just stayed here for a long weekend and it was probably the nicest hotel we have ever stayed at. One night we stayed in the TownePlace and the next night at the SpringHill as it is a dual brand. I am reviewing both hotels as they were both awesome! This hotel is brand spanking new and it is gorgeous. It has full kitchens complete with plates, glasses, silverware and even a dishwasher. Being in Chelsea, the location is centrally located to everything in NYC. We arrived from Florida looking to see the sights and we got to see everything in a few days. I can go on and on about this hotel but the one thing that sets it apart from every other hotel in the city is the staff. They are so friendly and accommodating. They know the area and told us about all the cool restaurants around the hotel and where we should go. Everyone we encountered was so nice. I truly feel like we made new friends. My advice is to see for yourself. We have a new home in NYC when we visit!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Lamour, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Responded Dec 15, 2021
Thank you for the amazing feed back!!! We call Chelsea the heart of New York. I will surely share your note with the team. Hope to see you before the end of the year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francesca wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom20 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We’re currently staying at this property and sadly it has been a real let down. We had read some really great reviews and were excited for our visit. Upon arrival there was a lot of work going on in the lobby, it was so loud I could barely hear the check in staff. However this was due to a burst pipe so we completely accept this is out of their control. However the knock on effect did really impact our enjoyment.

The breakfast which people had really raved about was a takeaway service in a paper bag. There were multiple staff shouting ‘ONE ITEM ONLY’ - it was nothing like I’ve experienced before. You couldn’t toast a bagel/bread and being 3 months pregnant I was resigned to just cereal eaten in my room. This was a shame as we had read reviews about the breakfast being tasty and plentiful.

The lifts were awful, we had to wait at least 10 minutes during peak hours to get the lift - walking the stairs was not an option as I have a joint condition.

The plus side was the room was lovely - the door to the bathroom was difficult to open and close but the location was great.

Feel the situation was out of the hotels control but was not managed well and no compensation offered which it should have been.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Request a room on a lower ground floor based on slow lifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Lamour, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Responded Aug 1, 2022
Thank you for making us your first choice. We truly apologize for the challenge you experienced. The building pipe burst while disabling 2 of our elevators and effecting the breakfast area. Please feel free to reach out to me directly as we would love to recover from this matter.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beatrice E wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon entry, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms are clean with a fully stocked kitchen. Everything you would need in a functional home is available. Showers are the best time of the day for me, and often times the water temperature has to be adjusted after entering the shower. At this hotel, the shower knob is behind you, great idea. The hotel staff offered suggestions on dining options and tourist attractions. A full hot breakfast is served daily. We had the typical NYC inconveniences of finding parking, we were directed to a safe parking deck not too far from the hotel. Overall, this was a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Lamour, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Thank you for your positive feedback. We will surely share with the team during our morning discussions. Thank you and hope to see you again Steven
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George D wrote a review Feb 2023
London6 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re looking for a modern, affordable base in central Manhattan then this is a good option. The location means you can get to pretty much anywhere in Manhattan quickly. Unfortunately there a few things this hotel could have done better during our stay.

The room itself was fine. Pretty much as pictured. There is VERY little storage space though, so if you’re a couple travelling for the week in winter (as we were) expect to have to get very creative with where you store everything.

Do not expect to actually be able to cook anything in the kitchenette. There’s a microwave and a toaster, but no hob, oven or kettle (sorry brits!)

One issue we had with the room was the shower: scorching hot in the morning, but freezing cold (and unable to heat up) in the late evening.

Outside our room was a stain in the carpet which was giving off a strong smell - our best guess was that a rubbish/trash bag had leaked. We informed management on day one, the didn’t really do anything. We reminded them, and they sprayed some air freshener and the smell came back the next day. Obviously this is VERY specific to our stay, but including as a way of showing how staff dealt with issues.

Then there’s the lifts/elevators: 4 small lifts are entirely inadequate for a 40+ story building - and the management know this, and confirmed it to me. At peak times like breakfast you can be waiting around 5-10 min to get from your room to the ground floor. Apparently if you’ve been waiting over 5min you can call reception and they’ll force a lift to come to you, but we only found this out as we checked out.

Breakfast itself is great, if not a little hectic. There’s a good range of cooked options and coffee, which about 100 people will be scrambling to get to at the same moment. In a city as expensive as NY, it’s nice to have breakfast for free.

There was a fire alarm while we were there which involved us having to evacuate our rooms for an hour or so. I’d say this was specific to our trip but have seen other reviewers describe a similar experience.

The staff in the lobby and canteen were all wonderful friendly people.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the lifts at peak times.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geetika Ghai, Owner at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Responded Mar 9, 2023
Thank you for contacting us regarding your stay. We appreciate your feedback good or bad. This helps us to improve our services. We will make sure the Management leadership department is aware of your feedback. We hope one day you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
distantmemory wrote a review May 2023
a long way off87 contributions89 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
By UK standards this is an expensive hote , but by New York standards it still represents value for money. It's location makes exploring this great city an easy task. My second floor room was furnished well beyond normal UK standards, with a well appointed mini-kitchen that allows some self catering. The bed was huge and comfortable. An all you can eat, buffet breakfast would satisfy the biggest of appetites, setting you up for a busy day. Staff are friendly, courteous and helpful, providing all you would expect or need. The flower market was a surprise, providing a glimpse of another side of New York. Perhaps not for the low budget traveller, but certainly worth the additional expense, if it's within your budget.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Nieto, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Responded May 19, 2023
Hello distantmemory! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are thrilled to hear you found our hotel convenient and comfortable. We hope that you can join us again sometime in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
396george1967 asked a question Aug 2023
Los Angeles, California11 contributions21 helpful votes
are key cards required to use the elevator?
Answer from Maria M
Mendoza, Argentina8 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from rchu
Palm Springs, California96 contributions102 helpful votes
They did not charge my cc until i actually was checking in at the front desk. This is the only number i have 929-990-2800 for direct dial line to the actual property. Hope it helps.
Jenn A asked a question Mar 2023
Kingston, Canada43 contributions14 helpful votes
How much is parking for an SUV?
Godoy Cruz, Argentina111 contributions54 helpful votes
I’m sorry. Didn’t go with my car.
Rubycuts asked a question Dec 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom51 contributions34 helpful votes
Does this hotel have a laundry room where you can wash your clothes? Or are there any laundrettes nearby?
Answer from Maria M
Mendoza, Argentina8 contributions4 helpful votes
I think they don’t
Roy S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Leicester, United Kingdom35 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We used Ubers every day they were great Also buy a city pass before you go so you have all your attractions bought and paid for it was spot"
Read full review
Mr G wrote a tip Mar 2024
The Hague, The Netherlands22 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Subway 28th street, line 1"
Read full review
RedLichtieArbroath wrote a tip Dec 2023
Arbroath55 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"From JFK take a Taxi there - subway and Long Island Railway back to JFK"
Read full review
William M wrote a tip Dec 2023
10 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Allow plenty of time to get the lift!"
Read full review
tforce0606 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Tampa, Florida54 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast gets crowded early, send someone down to reserve a spot if needed. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
C$316 - C$549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTenderloin / Chelsea / Midtown / Flower District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
247
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Which popular attractions are close to TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea?
Nearby attractions include Escape the Room NYC (0.4 km), Escape Room Madness (5th Floor) (0.5 km), and Madison Square Garden (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea?
Conveniently located restaurants include NY Pizza Suprema, Johny's Luncheonette, and Brooklyn Bagel & Coffee Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (4.3 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (4.2 km), and Hamilton Park (3.3 km).
All New York City HotelsNew York City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New York CityHotels near TownePlace Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars