We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chelsea Inn - 17th Street

Expedia.comUS$164*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$173*
US$164*
US$173*
US$173*
US$164*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my girlfriend booked 3 days in the heart of New York at the Chelsea Inn. We where welcomed by a serviceminded guy that offered to take our bags uppstairs to the third floor. When we got to our room we found hair in the bed(black), so the housekeeper should maybe have a net? When the weekend came it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

In the first night I had a mouse in the room. It was awful! No one helped me and I moved out of the hotel the next day... They still charged me for the one night I've stayed there, without sleeping because the mouse ran about... No way to treat a guest! Worst inn ever!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarit B
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We had a good stay in a room shared by three with private bathroom at a very good price for NYC, considering it also includes a light breakfast. The room and bathroom were clean on arrival, and recently remodeled. The wifi was fine. Problem: if you don't get a ground floor room as we did (thre are only five rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank omaraigualdu
920collinsprincess, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear Omaraigualdu, Thank you so much for being our guest. We are happy to hear that you had an overall great experience and that you found the our services and locations to be great. We do apologies for the minor inconvenience with the furnace. Our number 1 priority is for guest satisfaction and we are glad that we were able...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We've been in this hotel for 6 days. The location is perfect, the room was clean and everyhing was ok. Until we went to sleep. The window didn't close perfectly and it was a bit noisy and cold at night. It was difficult to sleep because of the noise but at least we had air conditioned to heat the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maca j
Daniela L, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear Maca J, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review, We appreciate your feedback as this helps identify were we can make improvements. We apologies that you had this minor inconvenience but are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be nice and clean and situated in a good location. We...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I stayed at chelsea inn on Fed 11-13th, the deposit still not return. I sent many emails to them, the staff Delenia always asks me to wait ........It's takes more than one month. I HAVE NEVER MET SUCH A BAD HOTEL.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank adicewater
920collinsprincess, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear traveler, My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you are experiencing in regards to having your deposit return to you. Can you please email your reservations details and i will more than happy to look into your incident. My email address is paula@cshospitalitygroup.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards, Paula

Reviewed 4 March 2017

Positive : The location of the hotel is great, it is in the middle of Manhattan and provides great access to the main subway lines. It is recently refurbished, the room had a huge TV. The guy who works in the reception and the woman who serves breakfast are both very helpful and cheerful! Negative : Human hair - all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Greta P
920collinsprincess, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear Greta, Thank you sincerely for sharing your feedback with us. Comments such as yours enable us to constantly improve our product and service. We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. That certainly is not representative of our property, and for that we apologize. Your comments are being reviewed by our entire management team...

Deutschland
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The Chelsea Inn is located in the heart of Chelsea and is an easy walk to the orange (14th Str.), red (18th Str.), yellow and green (Union Station) lines. It is clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We had the basement room between the boiler and the laundry, which was a little cramped for more than two,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda C
920collinsprincess, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review. We are happy to hear that you found our location and staff superb. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm regards, Chelsea Inn Management team.

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel's location is fantastic, the price in the months of January and February is ridiculously low. But the rooms are cold, when we were there the heater in our room was not working and the only thing they offered was an extra blanket not a different room... there is an electric heater in all the rooms and now we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank behnazassadi
920collinsprincess, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to hear that you found our location and cleanliness to be fantastic. We do apologies for the water heater not working properly. We appreciate your feedback as this enables us to make improvements to our services and to make sure we take an alternative approach when...

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

This lovely hotel is just few minutes walk from the Fifth avenue, Time sq and all the other NYC landmarks. The only minus here is when they switched the heating on it made such an unpleasant noise. But apart of that very enjoyable stay 👍

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mirek V
920collinsprincess, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear Mirek, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you found our location to be very centralized. We are about the slight problem with the heater. We take your comments very seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve. We look forward to hosting your stay with us once again...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I had a problem with a booking issue and a non refundable room. Paula contacted me promptly and resolved it to my satisfaction. I will be very happy to return to the city and look forward to staying at the Chelsea Inn once again. Thank you for the prompt response and fix.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robert p
920collinsprincess, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Hi Robert, It was my pleasure to assist you. I am glad to hear that everything now is up to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to our recently renovated hotel. I am sure that you and your party will have an amazing time. Warm regards, Paula

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (4)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (PRE-RENOVATION) (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#439 of 467 in New York City
213 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
1,276 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
625 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 467 in New York City
1,520 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Flatiron District

Neighbourhood Profile
Flatiron District
Offering many of city’s best restaurants and shops set amid classic New York architecture, the Flatiron District is no longer under the tourist radar. At 23rd Street is the famous triangular Flatiron Building, which makes a good picture no matter what angle you photograph it from. Be sure to look up at the elegant architecture as you stroll the streets- much of this neighborhood is part of a historic district that was home to many of the city’s most famous department stores at the turn of the century. At the northern end of the neighbourhood, Madison Square Park is best known for being the home of a famous burger shack, but it can also be a quiet refuge to spend an afternoon, and it frequently hosts interesting public art exhibits. In the lower part of the Flatiron District you'll find Union Square, a bustling crossroads at all times of day and night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chelsea Inn is a small boutique style hotel located in one of the most trendy parts of New York City - Chelsea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelsea Inn - 17th Street

Address: 46 W 17th St, New York City, NY 10011-5705
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan , Union Square
Price Range: $206 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Inn - 17th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chelsea Inn - 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hotel 17th Street
Chelsea Hotel New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chelsea Inn - 17th Street staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Nantucket
Argentina
over a year ago
Cincinnati Ohio
over a year ago
Tampa, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Chelsea Inn - 17th Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“better get a ground floor room if you don't like climbing stairs...”
omaraigualdu, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“request a room at a lower level, as they have 5 floors and no elevator”
760gretap, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“make sure it´s on the bottom floors beacause there are no elevators, and they have rooms on the 5th floor!”
922mikm, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No elevators so request to stay low.”
481alejandrae, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“no elevator, so stairs can be steep”
O7742JUrobertp, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$164* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$173
TripAdvisorUS$164
PricelineUS$173
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates