We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Gardner Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gardner Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Gardner Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Stafford, Texas
Reviewed 20 May 2016

This hotel is in nice part of town and is in an old building that looks like it was made in the early 20th century. My mom and I stayed on a Sunday night. We needed a place to sleep and recharge and seemed like a good pit stop for our road trip. We were not able to accomplish either...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank redtreesoflove
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Zamora, Thank you for your review here and on Google Business. We're sorry you had a negative experience at The Gardner Hostel. Regarding the issues you expressed here and to our management at the time - please see our response below. As discussed with the management during your stay, we will always try to fix any issues at...

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

The elevator in this building is a centerpiece! It's character on the inside and outside is nothing but a beauty! I am not sure what year it was installed but it is an excellent historic elevator! I like how you can see the outside when you look in the shaft

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toronto E
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Toronto E. We pride ourselves on our historical character and that includes a lot of the original fittings - such as the elevator. The hotel was built in 1922 and because of fears of fire, almost everything was 'modern' and made of steel. So the elevator is pretty old but we're glad you enjoyed it...

Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 February 2016

The hostel was awesome. Very nicely decorated. They had these things called transoms, which are a thing of the past - basically a small window above the door for have more air movement. You can tell it's a 1940's hotel, even if you weren't around in the 1940's. I'm really glad I stayed there. They had a kitchen in the...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Dave M
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Gardner Hotel - and we're really happy you had a great time! The hotel has lots of history, as you know, so it's great that you enjoyed the historical features and decor. We're also fortunate to be located in Downtown El Paso so there's plenty to do in the neighborhood. Thanks for taking...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 30 December 2015

At first this had more of a Hostel vibe (stayed more hostels than I can remember from youth). No working elevator, had to scale 3 floors through darkened hallways, with camera gear and baggage to reach my room, no easy task. Room was dirty, smelly and frankly felt that leaving anything of value, i.e. my photo gear or laptop while...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt H
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for your review. We're disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, and pride ourselves as a historical hotel but also being clean and safe. I'm sorry to hear the elevator didn't work on your visit and that you were unable to sleep. We do notify people on our website that we don't...

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed 25 December 2015 via mobile

The Gardner Hotel & Hostel is the oldest continuously operating hotel in El Paso. It may be a bit threadbare, but it's very clean and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It's still owned and operated by the same family that has held the property for most of its' existence. The place is obviously still loved by its' owners. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank srsjones825
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed the historic experience at Gardner Hotel. We pride ourselves on our great location and history and we're pleased to hear that it was up to your expectations. Many Thanks The Gardner Hotel Team

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

We found it impossible to sleep due to an extremely loud disco on the block. Management refused to move us to a room on the side of the hotel facing away from the music because they said there were no rooms there in the same price category. However, there clearly were other rooms available, and at midnight on a Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CAguiar
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear your experience at our hotel didn't live up to our expectations and regret that your stay was not up to our standards. Unfortunately we can't control noise levels in the neighborhood but we do our best to cater for guest needs. If we were not able to change your room then it would be down to...

El Paso, Texas
Reviewed 3 July 2015

This is the second time I've stayed here at Gardner and again, I really enjoyed my stay! I'd stay again and highly recommend this hotel. Very clean and service was wonderful! I've already recommended to many!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ryan F
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Ryan and we look forward to seeing you again! Gardner Hotel

Reviewed 29 March 2015

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in the hotel (not hostel) on a El Paso visit. The whole experience started with an online attempt to book a room. After giving my credit card and dates no confirmation was ever given. I phoned the hotel and a friendly staff person ( all the staff was friendly) told me that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paul M
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Apologies for the delay in response, The Gardner Hotel is now under new management and we are taking into account all feedback and reviews from our guests past and present. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we will be working hard to take on board your comments to make it a better stay for future...

Reviewed 16 January 2015 via mobile

I think we can find a hotel for the same price as for a dorm here, the price should be 10-16 dollar. But it is a nice place. You get a pritty good value for the money. Breakfast is not included though. It's weard that the bathrooms in the dorm is looked from outside. So you can't look the door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennie B
El Paso, Texas
Reviewed 29 September 2014

When I realized that I had an opportunity to come home to El Paso after 17 years, I had an idea of where I wanted to look for an accommodation: downtown being my only priority. I knew of three locations that were thriving when I moved away, and I decided to choose a place from among them when I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Herbert S

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
0.5 km away
Camino Real El Paso
Camino Real El Paso
#70 of 82 in El Paso
416 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
6.7 km away
The Soluna Hotel
The Soluna Hotel
#37 of 82 in El Paso
45 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel HillVue
Hotel HillVue
#68 of 82 in El Paso
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
** Under New Management ** The historic Gardner Hotel is under new management but has maintained its history and is still a family business. The Gardner Hotel is the oldest continually operating hotel and hostel in the city of El Paso, located near Downtown and all the pubs, cafes and clubs that encircle the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). The rooms still have their original antique furniture, with the exception of a few necessary upgrades, to give you a small taste of the history we have to offer. Check out the famous people that have stayed in our hotel and the the El Paso history. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gardner Hotel

Address: 311 E Franklin Ave, El Paso, TX 79901
Region: United States > Texas > El Paso
Price Range: $46 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gardner Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gardner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gardner Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Gardner Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I am not sure which rooms are quieter, but you may want to ask.”
 of 5 bubbles florycanta, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The who girl cleaned my room, Carie, knows a lot about the hotel and the rooms; ask her any questions. She's a real good egg.”
 of 5 bubbles bob2line, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the newly renovated rooms and not the hostel and loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles michellepA2015JH, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the hostel section and actually got the whole four room hostel to myself. I lucked out.”
 of 5 bubbles davemL3053DQ, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a street view, away from the bar downstairs, quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles matthC5995TK, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5