We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Dayton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Dayton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 366: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Dayton
 Click to rate
Gahanna, Ohio
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed the Crown Plaza Dayton. The room was clean and comfortable. Club level was nice. The rooftop restaurant was amazing with walls of windows to see the downtown skyline. Valet parking reasonable. Easy walk to convention center through covered walking bridge or by street. Enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
CPDaytonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Hello Tina, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The Dayton skyline is amazing and we agree the view from our rooftop restaurant and lounge is breathtaking! Serving you is our passion so we look forward to the next time you travel...

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the Crowne as part of a conference and the hotel just had problem after problem. I have to say that the luggage staff were amazing and honest as they returned an item that dropped off my cart and were super helpful with unloading and reloading my car. I appreciate them so much! My room was on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelChou
CPDaytonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Hello TravelChou, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Our team is very passionate about providing you with the highest level of hospitality possible so we are happy to hear that you enjoyed their service. We apologize for the troubles that you encountered during your stay. I have taken note of your complaints...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Little to no internet service. You need to use a hot spot if you're working. Loud running a/c unit which is approximately 4 feet from your bed. Rooms are nice and quaint. This part of downtown is fairly quiet, not much driving traffic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the internet. We will get that taken care of. We are currently in the process of upgrading the internet in the entire hotel which should be completed shortly. We look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can be...

Streetsboro, Ohio
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Still here - terrible location. I travel a lot and have been in all ranges of hotels, but this ranks as one of the worse. Room - needs some major updating. Internet - unreliable. Trying to do work and it keeps going out. I am now using my phone and eating up my minutes of data usage so I can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stark64
Management response:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Dayton. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and appreciate you bringing these items to my attention. I wanted to let you now that we are in the process of upgrading our current Wi-Fi system and apologize for the sporadic service during your recent stay. We have...

Columbus
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Crowne Plaza could be a Crowne Jewel of downtown Dayton if only it got some TLC. It needs an updating, more staffing, and re-training of existing staff. Here's what's good: location attached to the convention center. That can't be beat. Also good: Beds feel very new, bed linens are crisp, a very comfortable stay in that regard. Here's what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ohi0Ann
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your most recent stay. All of our staff strive to provide excellent service. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy some of the guest amenities and facilities we have to offer. Thank you so much for the few suggestions to help in improving quality!

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The best part about this hotel was the Executive Lounge. Breakfast there was actually pretty tasty (although the French Toast was cold) and by far the best part was Sandy, who was the caretaker of the lounge. She was friendly, polite, and helpful. To be honest, it reminded me of eating breakfast with my grandmother...it made me smile and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bituc29
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your time here at the Crowne Plaza. We all work very hard to provide the services and amenities necessary for an exceptional guest stay and it is unfortunate to hear that we have missed our mark during your most recent stay. Please be assured your remarks will be used...

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Very old hotel past it's prime. Could be great but not maintained well. Questionable area of town? Didn't feel safe walking alone. VERY dated and worn furnishings & decor. Carpet in some common areas very worn & very dirty. Room mediocre, bathroom dirty. Positive note: good food, nice restaurant view, ALL staff was awesome!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review. I am sorry that we fell short in a few areas of product, it appears we could have done better. I will be reviewing your comments with my team in order to improve our feeling of security and product. Thank you for staying and I hope you will...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Rooftop Restaurant and Bar put the Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel way above the rest. Magnificent views of downtown Dayton, Ohio. Spent 27 days here and they made me feel like a queen every day. I'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 69Trish
Hotel M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza Dayton Downtown and we look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can be of service in the future.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Very dated facility with small bathrooms and well worn furnishings. The elevator was dirty and the baseboards in our room were covered in dust. The location downtown Dayton was close to the hospital we needed to visit and the price was very competitive. Parking is actually off site and be careful walking the streets at night. We actually moved to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edgemore
Charlestown, Indiana
Reviewed 26 January 2017

The room was average. I did like that our room had a fridge. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Bri was my waitress for breakfast and she took the time to talk to me about things I could do in the area while my husband was in training. I really can't brag on the staff enough. My only disappointment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trinity S
CPDaytonGM, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear Trinity S, Thank you for your review on the Crowne Plaza Dayton. There is no better compliment than one on our staff! We love our team and we are happy to serve you. We are, however, disappointed that you had a billing issue and that is quickly being taken care of. Thanks again! Sincerely, Jeff Baumgardner General Manager |...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dayton hotels
9.6 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
2.2 km away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
3.0 km away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
12.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
10.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
View 162
View 162
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Address: 33 E. 5th Street, Dayton, OH 45402
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Price Range: $164 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Dayton Ohio
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dayton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Dayton staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Ontario, Canada
over a year ago
Reading, Pennsylvania
7 days ago
over a year ago
over a year ago
New York City, New York

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Dayton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms need to have the HVAC systems updated and until then, no room is going to be a good pick.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelChou, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring a hot spot for internet service”
 of 5 bubbles margaretf611, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The back of the hotel has a much better view. Great architecture on the buildings on the next block plus a park.”
 of 5 bubbles 958trinitys, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a corner room...has more windows and furthest from the elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidB19922014, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“South side overlooks the convention center”
 of 5 bubbles christophercT4030ID, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5