Empeiria High Sierra Hotel

Empeiria High Sierra Hotel

Traveller (181)
Zimmer
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#7 of 29 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Empeiria High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub and exercise room. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds to our suites, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Mammoth Lakes Airport
10.6 km
See all flights
1,147Review6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 480
  • 426
  • 123
  • 53
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Caren R wrote a review Feb 2020
Glendora, California
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Storytellers band were performing at the T-Bar Social Club. As a band member we needed a place to stay. Many places were booked or didnt have a king bed. I picked this hotel since it had a king bed and I've had confidence in Best Western. This one was especially nice. The bathroom was exceptionally clean. It has a Keurig type coffee maker and the k-cups make a very good cup of coffee. The full breakfast was one of the better ones served at a hotel. There is a chef on duty to make one an omelette or pancakes. The bed was comfortable. We forgot our pillows and the ones on the bed were great for reading in bed, but too big for sleeping. There were updated barn type sliding doors on the windows and bathroom. It was a quiet stay. There was ample parking, even under a covered space which was great considering it was snowing in the morning. The connecting restaurant had an odd menu so we skipped meals there, but the hotel gives a 10% discount coupon to hotel guests.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 00gc, Manager at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Caren, thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Premier High Sierra Hotel while you were in town to perform at T-Bar Social Club. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed the delicious breakfast we offer and that our accommodations exceeded your expectations, especially the comfortable beds. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you, Emily Cooley Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MitulOC wrote a review Apr 2021
Tustin, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with my family for spring break. There were 6 of us in 2 rooms (grandparents in one room, me, wife and 2 kids in the other). The rooms were clean, the hotel took COVID precautions seriously so they didn’t clean the room during our stay. But the front desk had individually packaged towel bundles, and we dropped off our breakfast order the night before and were called the next morning when it was ready. The restaurant was definitely overwhelmed because the hotel was full for Spring Break but the food was very good and filling and was included in the reasonable room price. Free parking was helpful and we were only a few minutes walk from the Red line free bus to the Village/Tube Park/Main Lodge on Mammoth Mountain. The location was great, there were many restaurants and shops within walking distance or a short drive from the hotel as well. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Importantly for the kids the free WiFi was pretty good so they could stream Netflix without difficulty.

I would definitely stay here again for my next trip to Mammoth.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Responded Apr 7, 2021
Thank you for your recent stay at the Empeiria High Sierra Hotel and for posting such a generous review of our hotel and staff. We appreciate you recognizing our efforts and are glad you loved our accommodations. Your kind words regarding the breakfast we serve are also appreciated. It is a pleasure to know we met all of your expectations! We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to our area. Thank you, Emily Cooley Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
s_traveler050 wrote a review Sep 2020
Los Angeles, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Kudos to BW in Mammoth Lakes, CA. We booked this hotel at the last minute and were very happy with the service, Covid compliance and the room.

Location: Perfect. You can walk to most places in town.

Parking: Easy and free

Front desk was very nice and helpful.

Cleanliness: Our room was spotless and you can tell that someone took great care to make sure we felt safe that the room was cleaned properly. The lobby was also spotless. Every time we came down to the lobby someone was cleaning furniture and surfaces.

Room: We stayed in the Deluxe King. It was spacious and we loved the two separate areas and TVs. Very comfortable room.

Breakfast: We did not expect a full breakfast, but that was what was served! The ordering process was quick and easy. Due to Covid, it is pick up only so you have to eat in your room. The restaurant did an outstanding job serving up a full "to go" breakfast with everything we needed.

Overall, our brief one night stay was perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Responded Sep 23, 2020
Thank you for choosing Best Western Premier High Sierra Hotel for your overnight stay. We are delighted to know you not only loved our wonderful location and your well-maintained room but also enjoyed the breakfast we offer. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Thank you, Emily Cooley Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Firehousecat wrote a review Nov 2020
Sierra Vista, Arizona
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When checking in, I felt a significant attitude of disinterest towards me with the understandable questions a traveler would ask. When ordering the limited and tiny breakfast, the same was experienced. The person answering the phone for breakfast just said "Hello" and became upset when I asked if this was the proper number for breakfast. Perhaps my expectation was a more professional and personable response such as, "Good morning, breakfast service, may I help you?"

The room was clean and spacious with a great view of the forest. Covered parking was available. In spite of the recent fires, a great job was done keeping the interior smoke free. The pool was not available; personally I do not understand why some hotels let limited people use it on a reservation basis and other just close it citing COVID-19 restrictions.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The back side view was great and quiet!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Responded Nov 17, 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy you liked our refreshing and spacious accommodations with beautiful views. However, we hope you will accept our apologies regarding the service you received from our team. We value your feedback as we are always striving to improve our guest experience. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Emily Cooley Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray C wrote a review Oct 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a gem! We took a a chance when we couldn’t find reasonable rates in the Village area of Mammoth and I’m really really glad we did. This place is surprisingly modern, cozy, and has everything you could need. Everything seems like it is newly updated, with a feeling of a swankier modern boutique hotel. The rooms are quiet and roomy. The breakfast offerings are really outstanding as well, made to order, and very affordable, especially if you pay ahead of time ($7 for anything on the menu - see pics for the menu).

The location is ideal for launching day trips to all the many attractions, right on Main St, and walking distance to the shuttle stops that take you down to the Village area. Numerous restaurant choices right across the street, and the parking is free.

Don’t spend the ridiculous prices for those places that are only a mile or so away. For less than half the price, you can have it all here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I always ask for a top floor - the hotel is 3 floors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Responded Oct 9, 2021
Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your stay at the Empeiria High Sierra Hotel. We appreciate you letting fellow travelers know how much you enjoyed your time here. Thanks for mentioning our delicious breakfast and newly remodeled rooms; it is great to know our guests love our new look! It was a pleasure having you, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Thank you, Emily Cooley Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janice B wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I took my 2 large dogs and was given a beautifully decorated modern room. Staff was friendly and helpful. This trip was during Covid and the room and lobby looked clean and required masks and use of hand sanitizer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2020
Thank you for the excellent review of the Best Western Premier High Sierra Hotel. We are delighted to know you were impressed with your well-appointed room and that you loved the superb service you received from our associates. It was our pleasure accommodating you and your furry friends, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you, Emily Cooley Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel B wrote a review Sep 2022
Redditch, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights as part of a California road trip. The hotel is ideally located close to restaurants, coffee shops, bars and Schat's Bakery is just across the road for some awesome pastries. This was handy as the hotel restaurant didn't seem to be open the whole time we were there.

The rooms have all been renovated and are crisp and clean. One tip I would give is always put your room key card on top of the (black) ice bucket. The room cards are white, and so are the marble countertops in the rooms, so when you put it down somewhere it's almost impossible to find!

Beds were comfortable and the air con in the rooms was both efficient and quiet. Although when we were there, the outside temperature was cool enough to sleep with the windows open.

Attractions such as June Lake and Lake Mary are nearby and accessible by car. There is a good sized car park outside the hotel, which guests can use for free as part of their stay.

The indoor pool is basic, but clean, with plenty of seating and loungers available. Related to this, and the fact that this is a hotel very much centered in an area popular for outdoor and lake activities, the rooms really lack somewhere to hang up wet swimsuits from the pool or days out. Just a simple retractable clothes line over the bath would have been a huge help to drop items dry. Instead they have to be hung on chairs and the towel rails in the bathroom.

Overall a good stay, would definitely return if I was in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Responded Sep 2, 2022
Dear Daniel B, Thank you for your recent stay at the Empeiria High Sierra Hotel and for posting such a generous review of our hotel and staff. It is a pleasure to know we met all of your expectations with our location, well-appointed rooms, and parking area! We value your suggestions and have taken note of it. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we cannot wait to see you again on your next trip to our area. Thank you, Emily Cooley Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tber L wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Their manager does not do good business with customers. Make sure you triple check with different agents here when booking because they will not correct their mistake.

We stayed here 2 nights recently. Different Best Westerns charge different fees for pet, so we had specifically called this hotel to ask. The representative informed us it's $30 flat fee for the whole stay, not per night. No problem, so we went ahead with the booking. After checking out, we received an invoice for $35 per night = $70. So we called the manager to inform her that this is not what the representative informed us when booking.

To be clear, we are fine with whatever hotels charge for pets as long as it's clear up front. But when a representative wrongly informs the customer, the hotel should take the mistake, not the customer.

The manager said she will not do partial refund regardless of it being their mistake. Despite me being reasonable and calm the entire discussion, she hung up abruptly.

That is not how you treat customers or do business.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Responded Aug 10, 2020
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication regarding the pet fee and for the poor service you received from our associates throughout the process. Though we are confident this was an isolated incident, we are reviewing this with our staff to make sure such scenarios are prevented from happening again. Please consider giving us another opportunity the next time your travels bring you this way. Thank you, Emily Cooley Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DN K wrote a review Jun 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The front desk staff were friendly and very nice. Rooms include air conditioning and the beds are very comfortable. All in all, my family and I enjoyed our stay. The showers in the family room are very nice and well stocked with plenty of shampoo and soap. and Housekeeping is also very nice too and gave us plenty of extra towels when we requested it and unlike other hotels, they deliver your towels quickly.
They have a laundry on-site which is very convenient and the ice machines were working and plentiful.

Just a word of caution: the lady that works in the restaurant where they serve breakfast is very rude and extremely impatient. The gentlemen who work there are very helpful and nice but the lady who takes your orders had a very bad attitude everyday we were there. I recommend you figure out exactly what you want to order and explain it quickly. Otherwise she throws up her hands and rolls her eyes. Otherwise, the breakfast itself is very good and plentiful. The price is also hard to beat if you pre-pay for it. It was nice having a hot and good breakfast every morning.

Also, the hotel is understaffed (not their fault due to Covid) but just be aware and be kind. I can’t say enough about how awesome their front desk staff are! I’d definitely here stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking can be very tight on Saturdays.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Responded Jun 30, 2021
Thank you for your recent stay at the Empeiria High Sierra Hotel and for posting such a generous review of our hotel and staff. It is a pleasure to know we met all of your expectations for a great stay. However, we are sorry you did not experience one of our staff members at her best. We have followed up with her to make sure we do not disappoint you in the future. We enjoyed having you and your family as our guest, and we look forward to your next visit soon. Thank you, Emily Cooley Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2017JB wrote a review Jun 2021
San Diego, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a two queen bed room which also had a microwave and mini refrigerator. The second floor in the back of the hotel was good because we could see trees above the storage business while the first floor would have looked directly into the side of that business. Mini luggage carts available to bring stuff in from our car into elevator and down the hallway right into our room. Plus covered parking for shade or snow protection. Front desk personnel very nice. Breakfast coupons provided for 50% off but not totally free breakfast. Pool and jacuzzi indoors were being renovated so it will be nice for future travelers. I would definitely stay here again. Only a word of caution, the corners of bed frames are sharp and people can bump their shins against them as we did, So the hotel should pad those bed frame corners.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Responded Jun 7, 2021
Thank you for being our guest at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel. We are glad to know you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed our accommodations as well as our service and facilities. We will be sure to share your kind compliments with our front desk staff for doing a great job. We appreciate your additional feedback regarding the bed frames, and we will make sure this is addressed appropriately. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, Emily Cooley Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from 866CindyS
Laguna Hills, California23 contributions20 helpful votes
You can take a shuttle on the main street up to either the gondola to get to one of The Lodges or another shuttle transfer to get to the main Lodge. You don't have to drive up to ski from the hotel. It depends on the time of season but in February you should be able to get to either Canyon Lodge or main Lodge. You can drive if you want. But then you have to get parking. Depends on the time of the morning you actually get to the slope to find Convenient parking. Also, it depends on where in the west coast you are located. Southern California is a drive up 395 and it depends on the weather whether you will need chains or not in a sedan period in a four-wheel drive car of course you would not need chains.
707clayg asked a question May 2017
Lomita, California589 contributions286 helpful votes
Do they have a fish cleaning station on site?
Answer from EmilyEC
Mammoth Lakes, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello...we do not have a fish cleaning station at the property. We do not want to attract the bears to the property which would encourage them to check out the vehicles in our parking lot and potentially break into them causing major damage. Once the bears find a source of food, they will frequently return to that area and we are very diligent informing guests to remove food sources from their vehicles in order to reduce the possibility of our guests vehicles sustaining damage from the bears. I believe that most lakes have an area for this task. Hope to see you soon.
Answer from Hayzeebloke
Strood, United Kingdom434 contributions77 helpful votes
HI stayed in an accessible room on reception level.
Answer from EmilyEC
Mammoth Lakes, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello...Yes, both these reviewers are correct. We have 4 pet friendly rooms in the hotel and while the cost is slightly higher than our standard rooms, there is no additional pet fee. Please make sure that you are booking one of these pet specific rooms. If you are not sure, just give us a call and we'll make sure you have what you need. The indoor heated pool is open from 7am-10pm and I am sorry to say that we do not have a BBQ.
ericucho n wrote a tip Dec 2023
Riverside, California1,631 contribution220 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"This place is pet friendly and there are not too many pet friendly in here area. Good for the value. Much better than other options"
Read full review
michele wrote a tip May 2023
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the breakfast! Take some time to see Convict Lake."
Read full review
CiscoD wrote a tip Jan 2022
Los Angeles, California2 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book some place else."
Read full review
Ray C wrote a tip Oct 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada209 contributions96 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I always ask for a top floor - the hotel is 3 floors."
Read full review
DN K wrote a tip Jun 2021
5 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking can be very tight on Saturdays."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mammoth Lakes area.
PRICE RANGE
C$253 - C$344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Premier High Sierra Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMammoth Lakes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Empeiria High Sierra Hotel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Empeiria High Sierra Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Mammoth Lakes HotelsMammoth Lakes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Mammoth LakesHotels near Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars