Edelweiss Lodge

Edelweiss Lodge

1872 Old Mammoth Road Corner of Old Mammoth and Waterford, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Traveller (90)
comfy beds
Room & Suite (62)
Kitchen and kitchen table
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#9 of 29 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Mammoth’s top choice for a personal lodging experience . The Edelweiss has been a Mammoth tradition since 1957. We pride ourselves with maintaining the charm of a 1950’s knotty pine lodge while still enjoying the modern conveniences of today. Fully equipped kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, cable TV and free WIFI give you the comforts of home with the charm of a time gone by. Located in a quiet area of town known as “Old Mammoth”. We have six buildings that comprise the lodge sitting among the beautiful Jeffery Pines. We are happy to provide you with a selection of 10 cabins and suites, each unit is slightly different and special in its own way. We are flexible and can accommodate a one night stay to an extended vacation. We are happy to book all or part of our lodge for family reunions, and group getaways. Guests are greeted with homemade cookies and a personal experience by local onsite owners. We are the perfect location to get away and enjoy all the outdoor activities Mammoth has to offer as well as the gateway to the beautiful Yosemite National Park.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
191Reviews1Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 133
  • 44
  • 8
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KP7227 wrote a review Jul 2021
Arlington, Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
An older but well-maintained room. We stayed in the small room for two people. Although facing the road it was quiet thanks to newer windows that kept road noise out. But we did get noise from people walking around upstairs. There was no A/C but the provided fan was helpful. The floor was mostly an easily cleanable hard surface. There was room for two suitcase racks, but none were provided. And there was no ice machine (!) or vending machines on the property. In summary we’d go back there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian R wrote a review May 2022
Bakersfield, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We needed a room with three beds so the Edelweiss sufficed!. The room was sparsely furnished with minimal equipment, for instance no chairs to sit on, and no racks for your suitcases. I think this place was built many years ago, and though clean, it sure hasn't been updated. And it isn't cheap. The cable tv service is terrible and the beds are old ticking mattresses on open coil springs which make a racket everytime you turn over. I wouldn't stay here again for the money, but it would be okay if you like rustic.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
C41019 wrote a review May 2021
Ramona, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for four nights in cabin #9. We arrived after check in time so our envelope with information to enter the cabin was on a clipboard in front of an office. No cookies bummer........ i'll assume its because we were late or because of Covid. I love cookies.....anyway we checked into the cabin it was clean, cozy and stocked with dishes, firewood, and all amenities. After day one I drank the coffee that was in our cabin. I called the office and spoke with a lady who dropped off several packs of coffee for the remainder of our stay. We will recommend this Lodge to our friends and hope to be back in the near future!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark C wrote a review Aug 2021
Nasugbu, Philippines
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I decided to take the long way home from a trip to Las Vegas, and decided to get out of the heat in Mammoth Lakes. The Edelweiss looked like a quaint, rustic place, which we like, so we decided to stay there. Our room was pretty much what we expected, cozy, rustic, and very livable. It was nice to have a fully equipped kitchen and available gas BBQ.

The down side was the overall condition of the room and fixtures. Stained bathtub and caulking, frayed lamp shades, stained and loose carpeting, you name it. We didn't really feel that anything was particularly unclean, just unsightly. It wouldn't take much to fix things up; it's a shame that it's not being done.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
salhershowitz wrote a review Mar 2021
Los Angeles, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is a giant pile of trash. Honestly, neglected for like 45+ years and it’s filthy dirty and disgusting. Definitely got COVID here. It’s so gross. Yuck. Like, everything is super old, super outdated, super crappy quality, stained, nasty.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mario O wrote a review Jul 2023
Corona, California
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Master Suite. The place had plenty of room. It had two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a kitchen/dining table. It was very clean. I am very satisfied with my stay here. The only issue I had was figuring out how to check in since there is no front desk. They should include instructions online.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are envelopes with your name on it, use those to check-in.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcus O wrote a review May 2017
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi guys,
I really do not understand why here are so many positive feedbacks on TripAdvisor.

Maybe faked ones?

We had a dirty room.....for example the heater fan was very dusty and dirty....The last time it had been cleaned.....had been far away...in the past.
For people with allergy.........stay away...

The coffee mugs in the kitchen were still dirty from the guys which stayed there before. Unbelievable.....

The beds were so old and the mattress were completely done.

Our suite was far away from a quiet room.
You could here everything from your neighbours.....even if the TV was nearly muted....you could here what your neighbours were watching...
The next morning we met our neighbours at the parking lot.....they had the same impression like us....

The only positive were the lady at the reception and the cookies had been really good...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EdelweissLodge, Owner at Edelweiss Lodge
Responded May 10, 2017
Marcus, We are so sorry you did not have the best experience at our lodge. You stated the room was dusty and dirty, we pride ourselves on being clean and our guests rave on how clean our lodge is. We are sorry you felt the heaters were dusty, and will be having all of the heaters cleaned this week to ensure we keep our high standard. If there was a dirty cup hung back up I am unsure how it was missed, and I am sorry for that. Over the past two years we have replaced all of our beds on property and the bed in your suite is less than two years old. We wished you would have come and spoke to us for the issues you had so that we could have made your vacation experience the best possible. We would have gladly moved you to a different suite, or would have addressed any concerns you had. We are glad you enjoyed your fireplace and your fresh baked cookies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy-and-Andrea wrote a review Sep 2018
Los Angeles, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Edelweiss Lodge is still convenient, dog friendly, and reasonably comfortable, but it is NOT what it used to be. The major difference is no on-site resident manager or owner, which was always what "set the tone". The "little things" don't get done. No one greets you even if you arrive at "prime time". Not a big deal for us, we know which cabin is which, but we had several instances of people arriving and being quite lost. The main thing is that there is only staff there a few hours a day. Ann, who we talked to on the phone several times, was very nice, but "couldn't do anything", when we called her as we arrived early Saturday afternoon, and "there was no one on site until Sunday about noon". We were missing the dog basket and the cookies (and we were paying extra for having the dog there). No big deal. Several days later, we tried to use the spa. There were NO towels, no soap in the shower, and the shower was muddy. The instructions left in each cabin still say "towels are available in spa room". Called Ann, again she is very nice, but said "with only 3 hours a day paid staff, there just isn't time to do spa towels, I'll try to do 6 tomorrow". Given that about 16 people were signed up for the spa that night, 6 wouldn't do. The other big difference is that we always go for a week, there used to be many people there for 4-10 days, now it is mostly one-nighters, most just passing through, rather than hiker/biker/fishing crowd. Different vibe.
A number of basics just weren't there. In the past kitchen basics were available such as salt, pepper, plastic wrap and foil. Also, the gas barbecues were filthy, the barbecue area covered with pine needles and spider webs on the grills, and only one of the grills actually had gas. Fairly clearly, no one checks on this stuff regularly. Lastly, there used to be a price cut for full week stays. After all, they don't clean the cabins daily, so a one-nighter should pay more than a full week guest.
This is not to say we wouldn't go back, but it really is NOT the same 5 star place as it used to be.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
El_Mundo1954 wrote a review May 2010
Spokane, Washington
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed here several times and my recurring complaint is that the quaintness of this place is negated by the lack of maintenance on basic hotel/lodge amenities such as a working jacuzzi and constantly breaking equipment (DVD players, electrical wiring that requires one to unscrew lightbulbs because the switches don't work, etc.).
overall a frustrating experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn S, Owner at Edelweiss Lodge
Responded Mar 20, 2016
We are very sorry you had a frustrating experience. As new onsite owners (Oct 2015) we have made many improvements/updates and continue to do so. Our Jacuzzi is in perfect working order and maintained on a daily basis. Our cabins and suites are all supplied with everything you can need for a vacation getaway. From our doggie welcome baskets to our fresh baked cookies on arrival we strive to be the best little lodge in Mammoth.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Singapore_tourist wrote a review Oct 2006
Singapore, Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed three nights at the Edelweiss Lodge, Mammoth Lakes. it was a cozy one bedroom lodge, with full cable TV and complimentary wifi access, hot tub and laundry facilities. We appreciated the complimentary tea, coffee and chocolate chip cookies and the various information leaflets on hiking trails in the surrounding areas as that was one of the acitivities we were planning on doing. It had a fully equipped kitchen as well, and very efficient central heating (which we appreciated given the brisk temperatures!)
We had forgotten a shirt when we checked out and they were nice enough to notify us and send it along to us at a forwarding address - great service!
The rates were great too - we paid $115 a night. Definitely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary Djoanne W asked a question Jul 2017
4 contributions
Does Edelweiss Lodge have A/C in their cabins?
Answer from EdelweissLodge
Mammoth Lakes, California3 contributions
Hello, So sorry we did not see your question sooner. We do not have A/C in our lodge. We usually do not need it as the breeze keeps the cabins and suites cool. If you need any further assistance please feel free to call us 760-934-2445. Dawn & Terry - owners
Sightseer47225725468 wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't expect a friendly welcome here."
Read full review
Mario O wrote a tip Jul 2023
Corona, California14 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are envelopes with your name on it, use those to check-in."
Read full review
CTTraveler42 wrote a tip Jun 2019
Ct73 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were in cabin 9, up a flight of outside steps. Fresh snow made them a little slick."
Read full review
NobRotterdam wrote a tip Nov 2018
Rotterdam, The Netherlands320 contributions358 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"make sure you book a room with fire place"
Read full review
Philip M wrote a tip Jul 2018
Flagstaff43 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cabin nine is sweet!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mammoth Lakes area.
PRICE RANGE
C$216 - C$301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMammoth Lakes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including any mandatory fees. Taxes not included. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Edelweiss Lodge - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Edelweiss Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Edelweiss Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lake Mary (3.7 km), Minaret Vista (7.5 km), and Crystal Lake trail (3.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Edelweiss Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Edelweiss Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Edelweiss Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Edelweiss Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Edelweiss Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mogul Restaurant, Shea Schat's Bakery, and Skadi.
Are pets allowed at Edelweiss Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Edelweiss Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Great Wall of Cape Girardeau (4.6 km).
All Mammoth Lakes HotelsMammoth Lakes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Mammoth LakesHotels near Edelweiss Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars