We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,934: English reviews
Start your review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
 Click to rate
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had really high expectations for our stay at the Sofitel, and not only were they met, they were exceeded. Staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming upon arrival. The men at the door made us feel instantly welcome and made us feel happy to be staying there; the girl at the front desk was very informative and provided us with lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
Apex, North Carolina, United States
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Today wow--- room service came to room early i wasn't ready to have room refreshed I asked if they could come back in 1 hr. I left the hotel thinking they'd come back but upon return 2 hrs later, not room service, (bad unmade, trash, dishes left in hallway). So I went to front desk to ask for service it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pastor R
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Angela B, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pastor R, Thank you for sharing your review as your comments greatly assist us with continually making improvements to our service. I was very disappointed to hear of your experience as this is not our standard. I have shared your review with our team to ensure we are always providing the consistently efficient service we are known for at...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilipNrd
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our house was under renovation so we escaped to the Sofitel for thanksgiving. Despite being in center city the hotel feels calm and private and the rooms are a great size and incredibly comfortable. Service was consistent and excellent. The downstairs bar is good value and a great space - quiet but with enough atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck A
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visit Philadelphia regularly and have stayed in several of the nicer hotels. I booked the Sofitel as we had enjoyed an excellent experience at the Sofitel Paris le Faubourg just last year. I booked the same Junior Suite that we had in Paris. Check in, valet parking and any interaction with staff was very good, but the condition of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fitchik
Angela B, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Fitchik, Thank you for your helpful comments as they greatly assist us in continually making enhancements to our hotel. I have shared your review with our team for us to do all we can to make any changes possible. I would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back again for the true perfect stay we have been...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Last week I spent a night at the Sofitel. My stay went well enough, but it's what happened there a couple of days later that is the problem. I had spent the night at the hotel across the street, and as it was a cold winter morning, I decided to cut through the Sofitel lobby to use their side door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreMDWriter
Angela B, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BaltimoreMDWriter, Thank you for sharing your review with us as your comments greatly assist us with continually making improvements to our service. I was disappointed to hear of your experience as this is not our standard. I have shared with our team to ensure everyone is aware and for our ambassadors to provide consistent service to all guests, even...

Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at this hotel a few times. Its a convenient location in downtown Philly. Its close to many of the restaurants, bars, shopping, and some historic sites. You can easily drive to the hotel from the interstate highway. The hotel staff is always pleasant and accommodating. Our room was clean, updated, and comfortable. I would gather that many of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishNyBoy
Angela B, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour IrishNyBoy, Thank you for being a loyal guest of Sofitel Philadelphia. I am delighted that you continually enjoy our great downtown location and have been able to take advantage of the great nearby offerings the city has. We eagerly await your next stay with us and would be more than happy to do our best to offer a room...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This poor hotel needs a face lift. The decor at one time was avant-garde, now looks dated. The art is just out of style- particularly in the room. The brown tones of the lobby and rooms feels dark and oppressive. They have candle lanterns lit in the lobby at night which would be lovely except that the glass really needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
Angela B, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kristen B, Thank you for sharing your review with us as your comments greatly assist us with continually making improvements to our hotel. I have shared your comments with our team to ensure all changes possible are taken care of. I was happy to hear that our ambassadors did provide you with memorable service. We would very much like...

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed there this past weekend with a group of girlfriends. Overall the hotel is nothing special. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It's in a good location and the beds were comfortable. It seems a run down and not a lot of attention to detail. We never got turndown or the requests we had at turndown...which was super disappointing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristen k
Angela B, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kristen K, Thank you for your helpful feedback as it assist us with continually making enhancements to our hotel and service. I have shared your review with our team to ensure all is done to make all possible updates as well as improving our service as turn down service should always be provided. I would very much like the...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The customer service was above and beyond anything I've experienced while travelling for business. Everything went smoothly and could not have asked for a more wonderful experience. Thank you, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jradie
Angela B, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review

Cher jradie, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a great business trip with us and that our ambassadors were able to provide you with such a memorable experience. We would love to welcome you back again the next time you have the opportunity to stay over in Philadelphia. Warm Regards, Angela

843 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (690)
Viewed
Bathroom (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (237)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:33
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (199)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (123)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
762 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Price Range: $246 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors tend to have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles IrishNyBoy, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was 1201 only two at the front of the hotel at that level”
 of 5 bubbles leonNewJersey, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the elevators to ensure a quiet stay”
 of 5 bubbles TreslynJ, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Suite was great and very spacious for 2 adults and 1 child.”
 of 5 bubbles E6778FAlisam, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel altogether.”
 of 5 bubbles bcfamily2011, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5