We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,029: English reviews
SYRACUSE
Reviewed 2 December 2015

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of November for a conference. The weather was ridiculously warm for that time of year, so we walked around the city a lot whenever I wasn't in a meeting or panel. Location is key -- it's right on Market Street and near many restaurants and other places to shop and browse. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soule14
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Soule14, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are happy you had such a great time during your trip and that the hotel location, room, staff and amenities were to your liking. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon! - Jordan C.

binghamton new york
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Stayed here with my wife for two nights. All of the employees from the parking attendants to the front desk staff to the room service staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and modern, we had no issues with anything except the sirens at night, not the fault of the hotel though. I would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear dolphan13, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are delighted you enjoyed your guestroom as we take great pride in our completed $30 million property upgrade. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon. - Jordan C.

Reviewed 2 December 2015

Just a quick shout-out to Suzette, the fabulous Director of Guest Experience, for a lovely and memorable visit over Thanksgiving weekend. She went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that we (and our daughter in particular) had a wonderful stay. We frequently stay at Sonesta properties, and thanks to Suzette, the Philadelphia hotel is fast becoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jake, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are pleased Suzette made such an impression and made your visit more enjoyable. I will make sure she is recognized for her outstanding service. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon. - Jordan C.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 December 2015

I stayed with my family recently and was surprised at how so many basic service points were overlooked. I booked through a 3rd party agent for four nights, but after the fact, we decided to come in a night early. The 3rd party agent said the easiest thing to do was to just book a 2nd reservation for the additional...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandy L
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Sandy, Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. I certainly apologize for the inconvenience that our missteps caused you while staying with us recently. Frankly, you took all the right steps, reaching out to our team in advance to specifically avoid any confusion, and despite the steps you book, we still dropped the ball by not properly taking...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

Stay here was pretty brief on 11/29/15 being that we was more outside the room versus in due to the festivities plan for the night.i can only say that I like the cleaniness of the room.other than that...nothing to write Home to Mom about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingDLC74
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are delighted you enjoyed the level of cleanliness as we take great pride in our completed $30 million property upgrade. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon. - Jordan C.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 30 November 2015

David was extremely unporfessional and perturbed because I complained about the noise and water not draining from the tub. His manager instructed him to deduce the room rate by $40. She clearly articulated it to him; hence, he still needed further clarification. We were by the ice machine, so we could hear everything squeak coupled with conversation. I loathe noise....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaki D
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jaki, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are sorry about your room placement issue, but it seems our team did a good job at a "wow" to make up for it. We appreciate your 4 star review and hope you will give us a second chance to make sure it's a 5 star experience!...

Reviewed 29 November 2015

We arrived in town early and stopped by to see if they could hold our bags. They had the room ready early and let us check in before noon. The front desk staff was friendly and professional each time we dealt with them. The room was clean, with comfortable beds and nice decor. The lobby and attached restaurant had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve S
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are pleased you liked our refreshed hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed yourself during your stay and that our staff took extra special care to make your experience memorable. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon! - Jordan...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 November 2015

we stay at from Thursday November 26-28 at the Philadelphia ,PA Sonesta hotel in room 2308 .First let me say that the front desk person Joy was very friendly ,although we arrived a little early our rooms were ready . 1st impression of the room is that it was beautiful and very clean. We were in a King club room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FelishaP3
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Felisha, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are pleased you liked our refreshed hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed yourself during your stay and that our staff took extra special care to make your experience memorable. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon! - Jordan...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 28 November 2015

I checked into Sonesta Hotel Philly on Thanksgiving Day and immediately I was greeted with friendly smiling faces. Everyone who was behind the front desk seemed genuinely happy to assist us. The room we reserved was not ready and rather than have us wait Mattie immediately upgraded us to a room on the 24th floor that was ready. My husband...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erica W
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Erica, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are happy you shared your anniversary with us, (Congratulations!) and that the room, staff and amenities were to your liking. I'll gladly share your compliments with Mattie, Weldon and Kyron. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon! - Jordan C.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Very often when you book a room through Priceline you get a good price but the crappiest, not updated, furthest away room. Not this time!! The Sonesta was fabulous. Everybody was so friendly, the room was wonderful, the Front Desk staff was knowledgeable. It was wonderful. I didn't want to leave!!

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shoefro
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. We are pleased you enjoyed our re-designed hotel! We strive to provide excellent service and a memorable experience unique to Philadelphia. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will return and stay with us again soon! - Jordan C.

608 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Club Junior King Suite (31)
Viewed
Club King City View Room (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Queen City View Room (24)
Viewed
Deluxe King City View Room (23)
Viewed
Junior King Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,535 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
3,157 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, nightlife, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Sing-a-long to your favorite band at the nearby Wells Fargo Center and the Susquehanna Bank Center. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 1800 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-3725
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Price Range: $226 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
5 months ago
Washington, Pennsylvania
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The city view rooms are nice for a view, but are rather small. Most other rooms are going to be fine.”
 of 5 bubbles J3899ZJchrism, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Incl full closet w/ door, safe&big fridge. Bathroom incl in-shower dispensers; no plastic recycling necessary! Nice recycling bin in room:)”
  • Gorgeous 20th floor room with king bed. Photo is dark because sunlight closed down camera aperat
  • Immaculate bathroom!! In shower dispensers included shampoo, conditioner and bath gel.
  • Great bar and desk area. Photo is dark because sunlight closed down camera aperature.
  • 20th floor! :)
 of 5 bubbles SpiritBear11, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Joy is available in the mornings and Kim is available at night. Call and talk to them!”
 of 5 bubbles toinetteg4, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here. You will pay a luxury price for a budget motel.”
 of 5 bubbles hmvacation, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful rooms match the great lobby area!!!”
 of 5 bubbles DcBlessed, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5