We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gettysburg Hotel

Expedia.comUS$137*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Gettysburg Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

980 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gettysburg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 974: English reviews
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with my parents for a night for our first trip to Gettysburg as a family, we enjoyed our stay in this modern, comfortable hotel. Located within a few miles, at most of the battlefields and most museums. Didn't experience any haunting during our stay, darn! LOL but seriously would recommend to anyone. Enjoyed a night out at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank raachmyers
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great feedback on your recent stay. We neither confirm nor deny any paranormal activity, but we're glad to welcome our guests and hope that the outcome they receive is the one they wanted (maybe next time). It's warming to hear our accommodations and service met and exceeded your expectations, and we hope that your journey...

Yarmouth, Maine
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is as close to the center of Gettysburg as you can get, and has a parking garage located diagonally across the alley behind it ($10 per day from the garage if you don't need to use your car, or $12 from hotel with in & out privileges). Hotel staff was friendly and efficient, and the front lobby was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wfym
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the informative and positive feedback on your recent stay. We're glad to hear the services met and exceeded your expectations, and you were treated to a lovely time in town. We have many different room types, in different locations throughout the property, and I can understand how it could be odd to have to trek...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for 3 nights and both days (Friday and Saturday), my room was not cleaned. On Friday morning, I had the "do not disturb" sign up until I left the room at 9:30am. When I returned around 1:30pm, it was not cleaned. I figured there was still time for the room to be cleaned. I left again at 2pm...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S6673YHamandab
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay, and bringing these issues to our attention. In regards to your concerns, our housekeeping staff services our guests every day unless requested otherwise, and the oversight to your room is concerning to us as well, and will be shared with our housekeeping team. While a "do not disturb" sign informs our...

Richfield, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was rude and not very helpful. The room was not at all what I expected to get for the amount you pay. The a/c is loud and won't go below 68°. The only good thing it had going for it was its location on the square. I have been going to Gettysburg for years and have always wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Varscott
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the candid feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share, and we apologize for the unfortunate way you felt towards our level of service. All of our guests should feel welcomed not only to our town, but most importantly our property, and I thank you for alerting us of your experience. I...

Ortonville, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gettysburg National Park was our destination, but we wanted to stay in a hotel that had a connection to the history there. The Gettysburg Hotel definitely fulfills that. The hotel itself has such an interesting history. It is clean, and modern, but still has its historical feel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind feedback on your recent visit to our property. We're grateful for your patronage, and hope to welcome you back to the Gettysburg area in the future! Warm Regards, Andrew Stevenson Rooms Division Manager

Tulsa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Convenient location. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel adds to the historical experience and keeps the trip from being too commercialized. The best location to stay in Gettysburg. We love that it is across the street from the house President Lincoln stayed in before giving the Gettysburg Address.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripUS2017
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We're ecstatic the accommodations and service met your needs and exceeded your expectations, and we look forward to being able to host future travels to the Gettysburg area. Warm Regards, Andrew Stevenson Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over night while passing through Gettysburg. It was a bad experience from the start. The room was over-priced and not what was pictured. The bathroom tub clogged up while taking a shower. It took maintenance an hour to come up and fix it. This was at 10pm. So no one got to shower that night. I requested a crib....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heatherdunlap30
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the candid feedback on your recent stay. The state of accommodations and the issues that happened during your stay are certainly not indicative of the quality of service we strive to offer to each and every one of our guests. We are alarmed by the problems you experienced, and we apologize for the lackluster trip to our...

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked into the hotel as my wife had business in the area. The hotel is on the town square so is handy for everywhere except the visitors centre! - it's a mile and a half away with very little public transport. The hotel has been around for many years and is part of this historic town. It has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave b
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the informative and positive feedback on your recent stay. We're glad that you were able to take in all the sights this beautiful area had to offer, and we were able to host you two while visiting for business. We will be sure to share your review with our team, in hopes of being able...

College Park MD
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed here many times, I must compliment the location, decor, and staff of the Hotel Gettysburg. Being right on the historic square and blocks from the Gettysburg College campus are huge pluses. But, even more than the hotel's unreliable WIFI, my biggest complaint is that some rooms are spectacular and others are not. Twice I have been in rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wrestlerUMCP
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback on your recent stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again, so we can make sure that out of our 119 different rooms, and 17 different types of accommodations, we get the one that is just right for you. We hope when you book with us in the future, you relay...

Stoneham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great stay at the Gettysburg Hotel. This was our first stay at the Gettysburg hotel and we plan to stay there again In the near future. We were welcomed at the front desk with a big smile. From there, the stay just got better and better. Clean rooms and very comfortable beds. We really enjoyed the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T0mg5

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.5 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,412 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
369 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
838 reviews
0.1 km away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
359 reviews
1.5 km away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Price Range: $205 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gettysburg Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gettysburg Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front Room 3rd Floor”
CalifWineAssc, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Great beds but no fridge. Very quiet!”
bubeh67, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to ask the front desk staff for the type of room you want - a room with a view of the square is going to be more noisy, a quieter room will not have as nice a view. Let them know what you want so they can at least try to meet your request from what rooms are available.”
JSJr953, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel offer a wonderful view of the town--especially those on the higher floors.”
665karim, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“I do not have a room tip to offer. If you are referring to whether or not we tipped the staff, we did.”
PamLH2017, 12 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$137* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$189
TravelocityUS$137
Official WebsiteUS$169
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates