We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (352)
360
Panoramas (6)
Videos (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#27 of 124 hotels in Savannah
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, and set in the heart of Savannah's Historic District, this Savannah hotel is positioned next to Savannah City Market and just one walking block from the iconic River Street. Feel valued and cared for at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District, and enjoy a variety of special comforts and thoughtful amenities, including a freshly baked, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Explore Savannah's nearby attractions and shopping as you step out the front door and immerse yourself in the historic city. Unwind in a spacious guestroom or choose a suite and relax with a separate living space, a microwave and refrigerator. Indulge with delicious, innovative cuisine at Savannah restaurant, John Ryan's Bistro or sip on evening drinks at John Ryan's Pub. Bathe in the summer sun on this Savannah hotel's pool deck or plunge into the hotel's outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
City View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,483 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District generally offers a comfortable stay, with its prime location near River Street and the Historic District being a highlight for many guests. The rooms, acclaimed for their spaciousness and modern amenities, contribute to the hotel's inviting atmosphere. However, some guests have experienced noise disruptions and occasional cleanliness issues. While the staff is often praised for their attentiveness, there are mixed feelings about the management and the value, especially concerning the valet parking's cost and slow service.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Uncomfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2483Reviews55Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,687
  • 501
  • 161
  • 69
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jillian P wrote a review Feb 2024
7 contributions
This hotel is nicely updated and well maintained. The location is really great, close to River walk and City market, walkable to really anywhere in the historic district. From other reviews I was so concerned about noise. I called before our arrival and requested the quieter side and we had no issue with noise at night. The only disappointment was that I wasn’t informed about their onsite food or breakfast. We would’ve had breakfast at the hotel but I wasn’t aware of that option, no big deal as we were so close to many food options. Another issue was that we were given the name of a pedicab by the front desk, we had one amazing ride with them and one nightmare unsafe ride with them, so potentially beware of that!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jillian P, We are delighted you chose to stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District for your visit to the city. We are happy you enjoyed most of your stay and appreciate your wonderful comments about our excellent location. Our staff works hard to exceed our guests' expectations and ensure everyone has a relaxing experience in comfortable, clean accommodations; we are glad we achieved that. However, we regret your disappointment with the breakfast information and pedicab booking. We will share your remarks with the team and appreciate your input. Thank you for being our guest, and we hope you will revisit us the next time you are in the area. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
2013CTB wrote a review May 2023
Atlanta, Georgia224 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I have stayed at several other Hilton Properties in this area within the last year, and while all were very good, this was the best of the lot—definitely a 4.5 experience. I'll touch on the minor issues first. It is going to be difficult to find a street noise-free room. Three major streets in the area make it difficult. Grits at the breakfast buffet, no Southerner would ever serve half-cooked grits, not all the staff speaks English, and walking areas for dogs is limited. It was a bit chilly for other pool so I didn't try it out. Occasional Wi-Fi issues, not sure if the problem was the hotel or me or something else. Good things, The staff, especially the restaurant's, is friendly, helpful and obviously cares about your stay. The breakfast buffet is very well done, the fruit is incredibly fresh, the chef's take on Eggs Benedict is well done and the eggs are poached perfectly. The sausage and bacon were well-cooked but not burned. Nice selection of breads and pastries. The scrambled eggs were a bit dry, but maybe that is me. The rooms, bathrooms, bar & restaurant and other public areas were immaculate. Having great staff really shows. The squares in Savannah are a nice and colourful walking area. They provide great entertainment value. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Street noise might be a problem, higher floors might help.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded May 12, 2023
Dear 2013CTB, Thank you so much for the generous review and for your loyalty to our brand! We love reading such wonderful praise for our welcoming service, breakfast buffet, convenient location, and comfortable accommodations. However, we regret not meeting all of your expectations and appreciate your patience. All of us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District look forward to welcoming you back for another outstanding experience. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
TammyLou55 wrote a review Feb 2024
Port Charlotte, Florida25 contributions
This property is lovely and our room was great but the customer service was poor. We were traveling due to a death in our immediate family, so we were already frazzled and were hoping for a place to stay for the night where we could just relax. We booked a room on the Hilton Honor app which said it included breakfast for "all registered adults in the room." My husband and I were both listed on the reservation. The next morning we went down to breakfast and the people in the kitchen said, "Where is your voucher." I didn't have one so they sent me to the front desk. The guy at the front desk said "You don't have breakfast." I showed him the rate I booked that said breakfast was included. He said, "Well, you will have to call Hilton Honors, I can't help you." So I called Hilton Honors, sat on hold for 20 minutes and finally got an agent. She verified that yes, I did have breakfast. She asked me to hold, called the guy at the front desk who I was standing in front of, and told him I had booked a rate that included breakfast. She came back on the line and said she had resolved it. He gave me a voucher for one breakfast and said it was only for one person. I went back to the line to ask her to confirm it was for two and she had hung up. Now we were over 35 minutes in, and we had to get on the road and I didn't have another half hour to fight about free eggs. So, I got a breakfast burrito to go and my husband got nothing, I paid an extra $30 to include breakfast and didn't get it. My husband said the worst part is that no one said, "Sorry for the mix up", or showed any concern at all. Just everyone blaming the other person for why it was screwed up.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 1 week ago
Dear TammyLou55, We regret the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay. While we appreciate your acknowledgment of our lovely property and great room, we apologize for the service lapse you encountered. Your feedback is valuable, and we will address the communication issues to prevent similar occurrences. Please accept our sincere apologies for any frustration caused. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a more seamless experience. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul A wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Hotel was extremely clean, staff is amazing special shout out to Asia (front desk) Kelsie and Z at the bar. Bed were comfortable and overall great experience and location. Plenty of food and bars walking distance. Thank you to all the staff!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear M3458NFpaula, We're delighted to hear you had a great experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District! Thank you for acknowledging our clean facilities, amazing staff, and comfortable beds. We'll pass on your compliments to Asia, Kelsie, Z, and the entire team. It's fantastic that you enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roberts T wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
These people saved us ! We booked at best western across the street. It was terrible. We walked across and Asia, Lavon, Georgina and Crystal took the best care of us. This is the place to stay in downtown Savannah. So worth the price. Thank you !!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay anywhere else in the historic district. The value for the location is unbeatable and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear robertst2024, We're thrilled to hear that DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District was a lifesaver for you! It's lovely that our team, including Asia, Lavon, Georgina, and Crystal, provided exceptional care during your stay. We appreciate your kind words and are delighted that we could exceed your expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
K. Marshall wrote a review Jan 2024
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania1 contribution
To the General Manager, Paul Komanecky, your lack of leadership and some of the worst customer service, resulted in a two star rating. To the people who plan on staying here, please find another place to stay. Once you enter into the building, you’ll be greeted by, no one. You’ll incur people at the front desk staring at you and not greet you at all. Please, wear a gas mask because the fragrance they use for the lobby is so pungent, you’ll be able to taste it. You may also see is a homeless person washing their armpits with paper towels, cleaning their garments in the sink when you venture into the lobby restroom. Good thing is, they are nicer than the two ladies at the front desk because at least the homeless person says hello. Be careful when opening the room fridge, it may smell like rotten fish. Your television may be broken and, when you flush your toilet, your sink drain may bubble up crud from the previous tenant. Speaking of the previous tenant, I know they had brown hair because it was stuck to the shower walls and shampoo bottle. In closing, if you do have an issue and receive a survey once you check out, do not advise Hilton of a negative experience. The GM (Paul Komanecky) will write you a scathing email about how perfect his property is AND in so many words, call you a liar. BUYER BEWARE. This place will ruin your trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 3 weeks ago
Kyle, We appreciate your detailed feedback. We understand that it can be frustrating when things don't go as planned and we want you to know your concerns will be thoroughly investigated. In fact we have sent copies of your text and emails to Hilton Corporation for their consideration regarding these issues. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nemolovers wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
Great location. Staff was great. Breakfast was okay. Only thing we didn’t like was that the Traffic was loud in the morning. Warm cookies were fantastic. Free coffee all day was a nice touch. Pool was good and hot tub. Would stay at this hotel again, but, it could be a little quieter.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear nemolovers, Thank you for your positive review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District! We're pleased you enjoyed our great location, friendly staff, and fantastic warm cookies. It's wonderful to hear you appreciated the complimentary coffee and the amenities like the pool and hot tub. We value your feedback about the traffic noise and look forward to hosting you again for a quieter stay. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kelleyyoung033 wrote a review Jan 2024
Emmaus, Pennsylvania27 contributions
The hotel is very nice. Location is excellent for any activities you wish to do. Many restaurants in walking distance as well as bars, coffee shops, etc. I gave it a 4 because it is on a very busy and noisy street. We did not get much sleep last night because the traffic was very loud, even from the 4th floor. The staff welcome you with huge smiles and suggested the BEST restaurant we could have asked for (Sorry Charlie’s).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask to be on other side of hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded Jan 11, 2024
Dear kelleyyoung033, Thank you for sharing your generous comments, especially about our hotel's location. With easy access to plenty of restaurants, bars, and shops within minutes, our hotel is a very comfortable and affordable choice when in the area. We are also thrilled that our staff helped to make your stay memorable. We believe we have the best team in town, and we work hard every day to deliver outstanding service. However, we are sorry the street noise disturbed your time with us. Because our hotel is located on a busy street, we provide earplugs and white noise machines, and you can also request a room on a higher floor. We have various room options and are always happy to accommodate special requests when possible. It was a pleasure hosting your visit, and we hope you will choose us again. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amanda B wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
The staff was beyond amazing. The valets were friendly and helpful, the front desk staff was not only attentive, but fun and helpful. Shout out to Asia and Justin for all the suggestions for food in the area and for just being friendly and super sweet. This place is in the perfect location and that paired with the staff, you are getting the best value for your money. Rooms were clean, housekeeping kept out room tidy daily.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded Dec 9, 2023
Dear L9293GUamandab, Thank you for your glowing review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District! We're thrilled to hear that our amazing staff, including Asia and Justin, contributed to your positive experience. It's wonderful to know that you found value in our prime location, clean rooms, and attentive service. We look forward to hosting you again for another delightful stay! Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Excursion14201912526 wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
Nice hotel comfortable room, beds, and nice bathroom. Little loud being right on Bay Street. $45 dollars a night extra for the convenience of onsite valet parking so budget for that. We really enjoyed our stay but next time will stay off a main road for a little quieter experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded Nov 19, 2023
Dear Excursion14201912526, Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District. We're pleased to hear that you found our hotel nice and enjoyed the comfortable room, beds, and bathroom. Your feedback about the valet parking cost is noted. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Savannah area.
PRICE RANGE
C$246 - C$419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree savannah, savannah doubletree
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahHistoric District - North / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (GA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Nearby attractions include 18loves Art (0.2 km), Pounce Cat Cafe (0.2 km), and Savannah Supernatural Tours (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chive Sea Bar & Lounge, Jazz'd Tapas Bar, and Savannah Candy Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Savannah.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.