We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (351)
Room & Suite (176)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#23 of 124 hotels in Savannah
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in the heart of Savannah's vibrant night life, eclectic eateries, trendy shopping district and just steps from famed River Street, bustling City Market and Historic Broughton Street. Come alive in our contemporary hotel that is comfortable for any Couple, Family or Group. The hotel features were designed with you in mind. Complimentary wireless Internet throughout entire hotel, Great American Grill (breakfast buffet), Evening room service (lunch and dinner), Concierge desk (8am - 6pm), 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart, Pavilion Lounge, Complimentary 24-hour business center, Outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, Complimentary workout facility and Stay Fit Kits, Four state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups of five to 130, Complimentary remote printing provided by PrinterOn, USA Today each weekday morning. Our new hotel is where events and meetings are your place to shine. Leave the details to us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Snack bar
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
City View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,934 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in the heart of the historic district, the Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District is lauded for its prime location just a stone's throw from the bustling River Street attractions. Guests have called out the hotel's overall cleanliness and the warm, inviting atmosphere fostered by the attentive staff. While some reviewers have had varied room experiences and pointed out maintenance and noise issues, many appreciate the white noise machines to ensure a good night's sleep. Despite some criticism over the value, citing high parking fees and occasional service hiccups, the hotel remains a popular choice for its central location and commendable service.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2934Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,591
  • 765
  • 319
  • 163
  • 96
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Stanley B wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
I was here 2 weeks for business. My room went 5 days without being cleaned. I would not recommend this hotel for extended stays. The lobby sells laundry detergent, and they provide washer and dryers on each floor. However, the machines take $3 for one load and only accept quarters. However the lobby does not carry quarters or change.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't pay valet. Park in the street (free from 8pm to 8am) or park behind the hotel in the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear stanleyb915, We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We understand your frustration regarding the coin-operated machines and will look into providing solutions. Your feedback is valuable, and we appreciate your business. We hope you had an otherwise pleasant stay and consider staying with us again in the future. Jake Warner General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JaniceUFan wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
The Hilton Garden Inn is my go-to spot for business trips to Savannah. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. Carlos and the valet team were great on my check out this morning. Highly recommend Hilton Garden Inn in this great location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Responded Aug 2, 2023
We couldn't be happier to hear that we are your first choice when visiting Savannah, Janice! We appreciate you taking the time to share the highlights of your stay and for praising the exceptional service you received from Carlos and our valet team. We look forward to welcoming you again with our genuine Southern hospitality and outstanding service. Jake Warner General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Ann D wrote a review Feb 2024
20 contributions
We booked this hotel because we are partial to Hilton properties. When I checked in with my service dog the woman at the desk asked why I needed the dog. I told her she was not allowed to ask this and she insisted she did. Being from Canada I wasn’t sure. I provided her with my dogs certification and documents stating he was a service dog. She seemed annoyed and resentful towards me. My dog is extremely well trained and was such a superstar all over Savannah. The only issues we had were here and the Dot service. When we wanted to catch the Dot we asked a different reception lady who was not helpful at all and sent us somewhere that wasn’t a stop. She really didn’t help. Cleaning staff were very sweet and friendly. Rooms are nice and comfortable. However it’s very noisy. I had never been to Savannah. We love it but we’re disappointed with this hotel staff. Lorenzo at the concierge desk was amazing!! Loved him. But only saw him once.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Noisy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear R3323YXannd, We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton properties and understand the importance of a welcoming environment. We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Your feedback on the front desk staff is duly noted, and we will address this to ensure a more positive experience for our guests. We're delighted to hear that Lorenzo at the concierge desk provided exceptional service. Thank you for recognizing our cleaning staff and enjoying the comfort of our rooms. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved stay. Jake Warner General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeffrey R wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Over priced room with beaten up furnishings. Telephone was broken, desk chair was dangerous and would only recline all the way back and top over, We asked for the room to be cleaned , and when it wasn't upon complaining were responded too in a rude and unprofessional manner. Love the city of Savannah but we will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are many better choices to be made
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Responded Dec 28, 2023
Dear jeffreyrG131PU, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your time with us. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional stay; therefore, we are truly sorry this was not your experience. We were disappointed to read that our accommodations did not provide the value you were hoping for. Please accept our sincere apologies for the behavior of our associate, and thank you for informing us of this incident. We understand your disappointment, and your feedback is being reviewed with the team members to see what went wrong. We appreciate your business and would welcome the opportunity to restore a favorable impression of our hotel in the future. Jake Warner General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robin D wrote a review Nov 2023
Moncks Corner, South Carolina25 contributions
I really liked this hotel! It had a great location, within walking distance of shops, restaurants, art galleries, historical sightseeing, all the fun things. This hotel had a very friendly staff, clean room, with above and beyond valet service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Responded Nov 15, 2023
Dear Robin D, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District! We are glad our central location, friendly staff, and valet service contributed to your positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back for another great visit! Jake Warner General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hanslietta wrote a review Nov 2023
Seattle, Washington10 contributions
Serious mold & mildew problem. The first room, #321, stank of mold, and you could see it around the vent. (See photo). Complained and they simply sent someone up to clean the wall. Was moved to another room after not sleeping well that night due to bad air quality, and new room wasn’t much better. Plumbing backed up, bathroom wasn’t very clean. The maintenance and cleaning at this hotel could use improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you are sensitive to mold and mildew, this hotel is not a good choice.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Responded Nov 11, 2023
Dear hanslietta, We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your feedback regarding the mold and mildew issue is deeply concerning and not reflective of our standards. We are actively addressing these concerns with our maintenance and housekeeping teams to ensure a thorough resolution. Your input is invaluable, and we appreciate your understanding. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more positive and improved experience in the future. Jake Warner General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SavvyTravelerReviews wrote a review Nov 2023
Celebration, Florida262 contributions
The proximity to the waterfront, shops and restaurants of Hilton Garden Inn in Savannah's historic district is possibly its best advantage but the location is not without drawbacks. This is an otherwise good hotel let down by the idea of a Valet parking service that simply does not work. Guests arriving by car must stop at the valet station to unload before proceeding, but the physical layout is such that in doing so, a backup is created that extends to the outside street and beyond. Already a tight turn for larger vehicles, this placement of the valet desk is perhaps the worst feature of the hotel - and sadly, the most memorable. If the hotel management insists on the need for the additional $45 per day valet parking charge, then move the valet stand to the top floor, near the elevator, and allow guests to unload there and proceed downstairs to the front desk. This will ensure smooth movement from the street. Otherwise, the hotel is in an attractive older building that is right in the middle of the historic centre, just where you want to be. The room was fine, and the restaurant downstairs serves breakfast with a reasonable selection, in line with other Hilton Garden Inns in the chain.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Watch out for the $45 valet parking charge. Breakfast is available for an extra charge.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Responded Nov 9, 2023
Dear SavvyTravelerReviews, Thank you for staying with us and for your generous comments about our location. We apologize for the concerns you experienced with our valet. While we know this does not change what you experienced, we are incredibly sorry for the inconvenience and frustration this caused. We appreciate your comments and hope you will consider returning to our hotel to give you the hospitality you deserve. Jake Warner General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
54tomas wrote a review Oct 2023
Coral Springs, Florida431 contributions
+1
We were on our way south from Pinehurst NC to Florida. We love Savannah and stopped for the evening and to hit our favorite sites in town. This place is a mess, the bedroom carpeting is disgusting, the shower is full of mold, the door leading to the balcony is full of mold. I’ve been using this brand for years but this hotel is making me rethink staying at this brand ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Responded Oct 22, 2023
Dear 54tomas, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We truly value your loyalty to our brand and appreciate your feedback. We're disappointed to hear about the condition of your room and the issues you encountered during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured, we take your comments seriously, and we will work to address the concerns you've raised to ensure a more pleasant experience for future guests. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future and allowing us the opportunity to provide you with the high-quality service you've come to expect. Safe travels and enjoyable stays at your favorite destinations. Jake Warner General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erin K wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Celebrating my birthday in Savannah was enhanced by our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in historic Savannah. The hotel was very clean and the staff were amazingly accommodating. The valet were always friendly and fast, especially Henry. He always had a smile on his face and made us feel like we were his most important customers. We really appreciated our experience with Hilton Garden Inn and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Responded Oct 16, 2023
Dear 592erink, We're delighted to have been part of your birthday celebration in historic Savannah! It's great to hear you found our hotel clean and our staff accommodating. We'll be sure to share your kind words, especially with Henry. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Garden Inn for another memorable stay. Jake Warner General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christina M wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
We were supposed to have a suite, and they didn't have one,so we were given another king bed room. And though the valet fees were waived and money was taken off it still would have been nice to have what we originally had.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Responded Oct 10, 2023
Dear christinamY616QE, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District and appreciated our central location. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding your room type but are pleased we could accommodate you and make amends. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope to provide you with the suite experience you expected on your next visit. Jake Warner General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Savannah area.
PRICE RANGE
C$269 - C$446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton garden inn savannah historic district hotel savannah, savannah hilton garden inn, hilton savannah
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
133
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (GA) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District?
Nearby attractions include 18loves Art (0.2 km), Pounce Cat Cafe (0.2 km), and Savannah Supernatural Tours (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chive Sea Bar & Lounge, River Street Sweets, and Jazz'd Tapas Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Savannah.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Savannah Historic District (0.7 km), Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home Museum (1.1 km), and The Old Sorrel Weed House Museum & Tours (0.9 km).