We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Thunderbird Inn

Show Prices
#39 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Thunderbird Inn
The Thunderbird Inn
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,304: English reviews
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We payed almost triple the going rate for the weekend we were in town, not realizing that the hotel is normally so cheap. We assumed the hotel quality would match the price. However the value for that price we paid was horrendous. Our particular room was very dirty and smelled pretty gross. I could forgive much this at the far...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah K
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us via TripAdvisor. I understand that you weren't happy with the price you paid, but to my knowledge there was never an issue with the quality of the room. The weekends are higher than the weekdays in Savannah as a whole because that is when the demand is the greatest....

Venice, Italy
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place has character. You will love it too if you like fancy old-style places. The bed was great, so comfortable. Room was clean and had everything. Staff was super friendly. Definitely worth a stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seremariposa
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so pleased you had a great time with us! I hope you will swing by again!

Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years when visiting Savannah, GA for the obvious reasons of a great price and good location. However, I was never completely satisfied with the level of customer service offered, and after my visit a little under a year ago, the service was so unprofessional, I vowed to never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alyssa B
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I hate that you have had less than fantastic experiences here in the past. I very much push customer service with all of my staff. I am thrilled Spencer took great care of you. He is a fantastic person. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Grabs, Switzerland
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Found this quirky looking place on T.A and decided to include it on a motorcycle tour. I like places that are different and especial old style motels where I can pull my bike up outside my room. The Good - Not too far from the sea front where we wanted to be. Rooms comfortable but not more. The Bad -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Buellrider
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I hate that you felt ripped off. That is never our goal. Even when our rate increases we are always the best price in the historic district. I also hate that you didn't enjoy the Krispy Kreme doughnuts.

Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We loved the idea of an 'old-fashioned' motel with retro 60's styling and modern comforts and it seems that was the intention for this place but unfortunately the reality does not quite live up to the image. We arrived around 2pm but were unable to check in until 4pm, this wasn't too big a deal as we were happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 141CathB
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our inn. I hate that you didn't love it. I am sorry the parking charge wans't clear to you. We instituted that back in May 2013. I am glad you loved the beds and the Krispy Kremes and coffee. I agree, it isn't for the weight watching, but neither...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A hotel with a wink. Me and my girlfriend visited in October 2013 and stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel itself isn't anything too special. The rooms are clean, spacey and have the necessary amenities, but it's nothing fancy (not that we were expecting that). It's located in a good place close to the highway and within walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B-Lehcim
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am so pleased you loved your experience at the Thunderbird! It is all about having a staff who cares about what they do and love giving a great experience! I hope you will return again in the future!

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Two years ago we stayed at the Thunderbird and we were very happy there. Times have changed ! We had a reservation for Dec. 30 / 13 and were staying only one night. We paid in my estimation, 'big bucks', but it was almost New Year...so okay. Check in time was supposed to be 2 pm , but our room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary S
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Mary, Please reach out to me via tripadvisor or my personal email marK@thethunderbirdinn.com. I hate that we have not held up for you. I can't move the window from the ice machine, but your other concerns are all fixable and shouldn't have been broken! regards, Mark

Akron, Ohio
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Fellow travelers, bear in mind that this is the last of the group of "motels" that festooned this part of Savannah in the 1960s, when the only real way in from the north and South Carolina was via Route 17, not I-95. The rest of that bevy of beauties has since been converted by the Savannah College of Art and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank C E
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in January. I hope you can come back and check us out again! I really enjoyed reading your review. It made me smile while understanding where we are seen in guests eyes who still love us! Thank you!!! regards, Mark Thomas

Pearson, Georgia
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is an old run down place that says it is retro chic....the rooms were all supposed to be non smoking but the room we had seemed to have been smoked in for years...the carpet was filthy. ...noise was wakeful from bus stop across street.....check in took 45 minutes.....and key didn't work so I had to go back and wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmandaRonnie
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

This just went horribly wrong :( Please reach out to me mark@thethunderbirdinn.com

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I travelled to Savannah from Australia as part of a road trip on the East coast of the USA. I noticed a few negative reviews of this place, but the price was good and my boyfriend and myself are easy to please. After a long drive from further North, we arrived in Savannah tired and ready for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sannahadda

561 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (304)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Double Full Room (56)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (54)
Viewed
King Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Price Range: $98 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Savannah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thunderbird Inn staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Thunderbird Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can't go wrong with a deluxe king room”
 of 5 bubbles 899suzieh, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the main level.”
 of 5 bubbles ina-can, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a second floor room”
 of 5 bubbles 645dalew, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the ground floor which was close to our parking spot.”
 of 5 bubbles 618beverlyi, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“top floor rooms due to parking”
 of 5 bubbles robinnest1, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay