We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Confederate House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
The Confederate House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Confederate House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Met at door by very friendly owner. Cookies,cake ,coffee and candy waiting for new arrivals. Room very clean, large and comfortable . Excellent southern breakfast with beautiful table setup. Recommend highly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Billgailj
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind words. You are always welcome to come back. More 

Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We recently returned from a 6 night stay in the President Davis Room at the Confederate House in Savannah. This room is the largest and has a beautiful view of Forsyth Park BUT we could not see the park because the window shades were broken and we were instructed at check in not to touch them. Lady Colleen said they... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank TraceyLeeG
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

There is hot coffee on the dining table each morning you chose not to drink it but to drink the coffee on the upstairs table from day before As for your other complaints all I can say is writing a review after you left instead of telling me about them when you were here so we could address your complaints... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in this beautiful mansion like home. Huge room and bathroom, all in excellent condition. Made me feel like being Ret Burglar. The landlady was very friendly and helpful. Located at Savannahs biggest park, walking distance to downtown Savannah 20 minutes.

Helpful?
3 Thank TomCat2013
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Some ideas on the confederate house 1. The outside desperately needs a coat of paint. The poor curb appeal sets guests up for disappointment before they ever get in the door. 2. The room while beautifully decorated, lacks basic amentities. Like pen/paper, drinking glasses or bottles of water(there is cake and cookies out which is lovely, but nothing to drink),... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Allison F
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

This is a no smoking building it is posted nobody until this couple has not respected that it has been 2 days and we are still trying to get the smell of cigarettes out of the room this couple occupied. The toilet paper holder was broken off the wall and has to be replaced and they never told us. We... More 

Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2015

From the first step of many steep steps up the mildewed front, neglect hits you -a rotting bannister, cracked and crumbling plaster and a dirty front door. The faded sign on the peeling door instructing you to call for entry should send you running. When the owner finally opens the door after a considerable wait, she checks you in with... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank MicheleB55
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

This is an untruthful review we get 100% on our health inspections. I have learned being in business there will always be one or two people no matter what you do you can not please them. If this was so bad she did not have to stay here she could have said I do not want to stay here and... More 

North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2015

we checked in with miss Collene in the dining hall. She is a soft spoken woman full of southern hospitality. The dining hall is as big as a ball room with a large table and fine china set for breakfast at one end and a beautiful sitting area at the other end,and a grand piano on one side. Collene serves... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kris N
Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2015

My friend and I stayed in the General Lee room. Beautiful huge room and bathroom. Had absolutely no problems at all during our four day stay. Breakfasts every morning, the food was excellent. We meet wonderful people each morning we sat down for breakfast. Mrs. Williams went out of her way to be very helpful and made sure our stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank jishda3
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The Confederate House is right on Drayton about halfway up Forsyth Square. Pro's: Stayed in Davis Room. Great bed. Bathroom en Suite. Closets. Roomy. House and great room was beautiful, but really spent very little time there. Big porch; good for people watching. Ms. Williams has some interesting ideas on government, but I found her pleasant and welcoming. Free parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank DiverBrad
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

It would be nice to have you stay again.. that is a good idea to post in the rooms the password for the Wi-Fi I will take care of that tomorrow, as for the cable it's Comcast what can I say, as for the blinds were working on it. Thank-you for taking the time to post. More 

Indiantown, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2015

I booked a room at the Confederate House and received a confirmation number and instructions that "... you should receive an email as to the status of your reservation" I also followed up my booking with an email directly to the Concierge asking for a confirmation. Armed with this confirmation number I assumed I had a room. After all, I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

What this person had was a pending reservation not a confirmed reservation. pending does not mean confirmed. We do send out e-mails informing people if they are confirmed or not confirmed and we also leave messages on their phone. We only have 3 rooms and I feel badly when we can not confirm a reservation which is why we are... More 

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Ms Williams is an awesome host, Her breakfast was excellent. Coffee, juice, fruit etc. Stayed many places in Savannah, This B&B is gorgeous! Great history about this house. We got to meet with other guests and enjoy great company. I would highly suggest this property to anyone. This is a place more for couples or pairs of :)

Helpful?
Thank bspeedy1975

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Roussell's Garden
#19 of 34 in Savannah
189 reviews
Downtown
Dresser Palmer House
Dresser Palmer House
#15 of 34 in Savannah
456 reviews
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#9 of 34 in Savannah
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Stephen Williams House
The Stephen Williams House
#17 of 34 in Savannah
46 reviews
Downtown
The Olde Savannah Inn
The Olde Savannah Inn
#5 of 34 in Savannah
1,423 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#3 of 34 in Savannah
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Confederate House

Address: 808 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5903
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: $181 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Confederate House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Confederate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Confederate House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Confederate House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just three rooms, mine faced the park with huge windows and huge views, I did not see the other two rooms, but this one was spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles MykMc, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are located on second floor of this lovely home.”
 of 5 bubbles Pdougl99, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If available take the General Lee, as it's the largest and has a spacious shower.”
 of 5 bubbles H4244XSjasonk, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable, clean, friendly environment. Quiet, you don't hear anything!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 129lorrainep, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were probably similar. We only saw ours and it was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles jbradford7, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay